LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

War & combat fiction

See below for a selection of the latest books from War & combat fiction category. Presented with a red border are the War & combat fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great War & combat fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Operation Certain Death

Operation Certain Death

Author: Kim Hughes Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

'A powerful tale from an author who knows his stuff. Addictively compelling, you'll be reading into the small hours' Alan McDermott, author of Fight to Survive HE THOUGHT HE LEFT THE WAY BEHIND. BUT IT'S COME HOME WITH HIM. A bomb explodes in a newly designed shopping complex, ripping through the lives of everyone in its wake. Confirmed as a targeted terrorist attack, special units are quickly brought in to lock down the area. For bomb-disposal expert, Staff Sergeant Dominic Riley, Afghanistan never feels far away and that's especially true on the morning of the bombing. And it's only just beginning. The bomb-maker has bigger plans in place, designed for maximum destruction. Plans that are personal to Riley - and his family. To save them, and countless others, Dom must work out who they are and what they want. Because he is our only hope. And he might just be our last Perfect for fans of Ollie Ollerton, Andy McNab and Mark 'Billy' Billingham, this is the first breathless, edge-of-your-seat thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author and bomb disposal expert, Kim Hughes GC. Praise for Kim's memoir Painting the Sand: 'Breathtaking. Kim Hughes is the man who stands between us and oblivion' Andy McNab (author of Bravo Two Zero) 'An uplifting and enlightening account of the personal courage and dedication required to do a very lonely job in the most extreme of conditions' John Nichol (The Mail On Sunday)

Task Force Baum

Task Force Baum

Author: James D. Shipman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2020

And the Whole Mountain Burned

And the Whole Mountain Burned

Author: Ray McPadden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2020

Four-tour combat veteran Ray McPadden offers a vivid portrayal of American soldiers facing an unseen enemy and death in the Mountains of Afghanistan. Sergeant Nick Burch has returned to the crags of tribal Afghanistan seeking vengeance. Burch's platoon has one goal: to capture or kill an elusive insurgent, known as the Egyptian, a leader who is as much myth as he is man, highly revered and guarded by ferocious guerrillas. The soldiers of Burch's platoon look to him for leadership but as the Egyptian slips farther out of reach, so too does Burch's battle-worn grasp on reality. Private Danny Shane, the youngest soldier in the platoon, is learning how to survive. For Shane, hunting the Egyptian is secondary. First he must adapt to the savage conditions of the battlefield: crippling heat, ravenous sand fleas, winds thick with moondust and a vast mountain range that holds many secrets. Shane is soon chiselled by combat, shackled by loyalty and unflinchingly marching toward a battle from which there is no return. A new enemy has emerged, one who has studied the American soldiers and adapted to their tactics. Known as Habibullah, a teenage son of the people, he stands in brazen defiance of the Ameriki who have come to destroy what his ancestors have built. The American soldiers may be tracking the Egyptian, but Habibullah is tracking them and he knows these lands far better than they do. With guns on full-auto, Shane and Burch trek into the deepest solitudes of the Himalayas. Under soaring peaks, dark instinct is laid bare. To survive, Shane and Burch must defeat not just Habibullah's militia but the beast inside themselves. And the Whole Mountain Burned reveals, in stunning, ruthless detail, the horrors of war, the courage of soldiers and the fact that no matter how many enemies we vanquish, there is always another just over the next ridge.

Zero 22

Zero 22

Author: Chris Ryan Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/11/2020

The SAS is operating covertly in the wartorn badlands of northern Syria. They know it will be gritty, bloody and dangerous. But when Regiment legend Danny Black's unit, codenamed Zero 22, is tasked with a more routine operation, they don't expect it to end the way it does: in compromise and massacre, orchestrated by the shadowy Wagner Group, a paramilitary organisation in thrall to the Russian president. Back in the UK, Danny learns that his unit was betrayed by a mole feeding high-level military intelligence to the Russians. Like any SAS man worthy of the name, his first thought is to avenge the men who lost their lives on the Zero 22 op. He has no hesitation in accepting the mission to assassinate the man responsible for the death of his mates. But the headshed have more complicated plans and Danny finds himself operating with a face from his past whom he never thought he would see again. Together they embark on a high-risk, deniable mission that will require all Danny's Regiment skills if they are to have any hope of success. As the mission unfolds, however, Danny learns that darker forces are at play. And when everything he thinks he knows gets turned on its head, he realises that what started out as an act of revenge is just a single play in a conspiracy that will take him across the continents and pit him not only against the highly trained militants of the Wagner Group, but against the Kremlin, the White House and the insidious machinations of the most powerful men in the world.

Zero 22

Zero 22

Author: Chris Ryan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2020

The SAS is operating covertly in the wartorn badlands of northern Syria. They know it will be gritty, bloody and dangerous. But when Regiment legend Danny Black's unit, codenamed Zero 22, is tasked with a more routine operation, they don't expect it to end the way it does: in compromise and massacre, orchestrated by the shadowy Wagner Group, a paramilitary organisation in thrall to the Russian president. Back in the UK, Danny learns that his unit was betrayed by a mole feeding high-level military intelligence to the Russians. Like any SAS man worthy of the name, his first thought is to avenge the men who lost their lives on the Zero 22 op. He has no hesitation in accepting the mission to assassinate the man responsible for the death of his mates. But the headshed have more complicated plans and Danny finds himself operating with a face from his past whom he never thought he would see again. Together they embark on a high-risk, deniable mission that will require all Danny's Regiment skills if they are to have any hope of success. As the mission unfolds, however, Danny learns that darker forces are at play. And when everything he thinks he knows gets turned on its head, he realises that what started out as an act of revenge is just a single play in a conspiracy that will take him across the continents and pit him not only against the highly trained militants of the Wagner Group, but against the Kremlin, the White House and the insidious machinations of the most powerful men in the world.

Irena's War

Irena's War

Author: James D. Shipman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/11/2020

Hellfire

Hellfire

Author: Chris Ryan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/11/2020

The third book in the hugely popular Danny Black series by the creator of the hit TV show Strikeback. On the Syria/Iraq border a British hostage is beheaded by IS terrorists. The executioner is a young British extremist. A masked figure watches him. This mysterious person is treated with a mixture of respect and terror. They call him the Caliph. In Nigeria the British High Commisioner and his young aide are kidnapped. A four-person SAS team, including Regiment hero Danny Black, is deployed to find him. The team find devastation in Nigeria, and when they discover prisoners infected with the plague they realise they have uncovered a combined Boko Haram/IS plot to unleash a bio-terror attack upon the world. The team must stop the terrorists and identify the Caliph before the deadly disease threatens those much closer to home.

Wolf by the Ears

Wolf by the Ears

Author: Alan Armstrong Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/11/2020

Badger's Burrow

Badger's Burrow

Author: Ken Sayler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/11/2020

Treachery

Treachery

Author: Julian Stockwin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2020

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian Thomas Kydd has dragged himself up in the navy from press-ganged seaman to captain of his own ship. Now he faces disgrace. After losing favour with his superiors, and suffering terrible personal tragedy, Kydd and his ship are sent to guard the Channel Islands from Napoleon's forces. When he is brutally betrayed off the Normandy Coast and removed from command, only his old friend Renzi is willing to stick by him. Kydd is determined to clear his name, but soon finds himself fighting yet another battle he seems to have no chance of winning. Can he defeat his enemies on both sides, and win back the glory taken from him? ************* What readers are saying about TREACHERY 'Another enthralling story of our hero' - 5 stars 'I'm a fan for life' - 5 stars 'Stockwin does it once again! A spell is cast over the reader to haul them into the world of Thomas Kydd' - 5 stars 'Excellent in all respects' - 5 stars 'A thrilling read, as usual' - 5 stars

Word of Honor

Word of Honor

Author: Robert N. Macomber Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/10/2020

As part of the award-winning Honor Series of historical naval novels, Word of Honor is the personal memoir of protagonist Peter Wake, a veteran of espionage operations for the Office of Naval Intelligence who also has considerable sea and combat experience. At the beginning of this third book of the Spanish-American War Trilogy, it is three years after the war and Wake is called in to explain his decisions and actions in the Caribbean during the wartime summer of 1898. As he briefs his interrogators, Wake recalls surviving two major land battles and a climatic sea battle near Cuba, then taking command of auxiliary cruiser Dixon, which is manned with regular and reservist officers and men. Wake soon tackles enemy blockade-runners, participates in the invasion of Puerto Rico, encounters future president and war hero Theodore Roosevelt, and pursues an elusive Spanish ocean raider on the loose somewhere in the Caribbean.

A Sense of Honor

A Sense of Honor

Author: James H. Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/10/2020

Former Secretary of the Navy, Navy Cross recipientand Marine officer , Webb lit the fires of controversy with this startling inside look at life at the U.S. Naval Academy when A Sense of Honor was first published in 1981. Some of his fellow Academy graduates attacked it as exaggerated and extreme, but Webb's portrayal of a gung-ho first classman's campaign to shepherd an unprepared plebe through the academy's complex and unforgiving ethos was hailed as a `considerable achievement' by the New York Times and `a remarkable moral statement' by the Boston Globe. Show More