LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical adventure

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Death of a Confederate Colonel Civil War Stories and a Novella

The Death of a Confederate Colonel Civil War Stories and a Novella

Author: Pat Carr Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/03/2007

Dramatically compelling and historically informed, the stories in acclaimed author Pat Carr's latest collection, The Death of a Confederate Colonel , take us into the lives of those left behind during the Civil War. These stories, all with Arkansas settings, are filled with the trauma of the killing, the dying, and the horrendous wounds of the war. They tell of a Confederate woman's care of and growing affection for a wounded Union soldier, a plantation mistress' singular love for a sick slave child, and an eight-year-old girl's fight for survival against frigid cold, injury, starvation, heartbreak, and lawlessness. Here are women showing what they're made of as they hold down the home front with heroism and loyalty, or, sometimes, with weakness and duplicity. Will a young woman remain loyal to her betrothed when he returns from the war maimed? How long can a caring nurse hold her finger on a severed artery and keep a soldier alive? And how does anyone comprehend the legacy of slavery and the brutality of war? The Death of a Confederate Colonel triumphs in its portrayal of desperate circumstances coated in the patina of the Civil War era, the complexity of ordinary people confronting situations that change them forever.

Company Of Spears (Matthew Hervey 8)

Company Of Spears (Matthew Hervey 8)

Author: Allan Mallinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/02/2007

1827, and Matthew Hervey is on the look out for a new posting. He soon finds one in the Cape Colonies, where there is need of a man to re-organise the local forces, and in particular to form a new company of horse. Accompanied by a mixed-race captain from the disbanded Royal African Corps, Hervey heads out into the great South African plains and towards the territory of the Zulu and their legendary leader, King Shaka. But it is not till he nears the Umtata River that his fiercest battle really begins. For the Zulus fight like no army he has encountered before. As Hervey and his greenhorn troops are plunged into battle, death is only a heartbeat away... 'Matthew Hervey has now joined Sharpe and Jack Aubrey as a creation of superlative skills and character.' Birmingham Post

Young Bloods (Wellington and Napoleon 1)

Young Bloods (Wellington and Napoleon 1)

Author: Simon Scarrow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/01/2007

YOUNG BLOODS is the first gripping novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. Arthur Wesley (the future Duke of Wellington) was born and bred to be a leader. With a firm belief that the nation must be led by a king, the red-coated British officer heads for battle against the French Republic, to restore the fallen monarchy. Napoleon Bonaparte joins the French military on the eve of the Revolution. He believes leadership is won by merit, not by noble birth. When anarchy explodes in Paris he's thrust into the revolutionary army poised to march against Britain. As two mighty Empires embark on a bloody duel, Wesley and Bonaparte prepare to face a sworn enemy, unaware that the fate of Europe will one day lie in their hands...

Sword Of Honour (Richard Bolitho: Book 25)

Sword Of Honour (Richard Bolitho: Book 25)

Author: Alexander Kent Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/01/2007

March 1814 Admiral Sir Richard Bolitho returns to England from several months' rigorous patrolling off the North American coast. War with the United States has not yet ended, but news of Napoleon's defeat and abdication has stunned a navy and a nation bled by years of European conflict. Victory has been the impossible dream and now, for Bolitho, a vision of the future and a personal peace seems attainable. However an unsympathetic Admiralty dispatches him to Malta. In this appointment a compliment or a malicious ploy to keep Bolitho from the woman he loves and the freedom he craves? He cannot know, but the voice of duty speaks more insistently even than the voice of the heart, and in this familiar sea where both glory and tragedy have touched his life, Bolitho must confront the future, the renaissance of a hated tyrant, and the fulfilment of destiny.

Second To None

Second To None

Author: Alexander Kent Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/01/2007

June 1815 On the eve of Waterloo, a sense of finality and cautious hope pervade a nation wearied by decades of war. But peace will present its own challenge to Adam Bolitho, captain of His Majesty's Ship Unrivalled, as many of his contemporaries face the prospect of discharge. The life of a frigate captain is always lonely, but for Adam, mourning the death of his uncle Admiral Sir Richard Bolitho, that solitude acquires a deeper poignancy. He is, more than ever, alone, at the dawning of a new age for the Royal Navy, where the only constants are the sea and those enemies, often masked in the guise of friendship, who conspire to destroy him.

The Overseer

The Overseer

Author: Jonathan Rabb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/07/2006

It has long been rumoured that a sixteenth-century monk called Eisenreich out-Machiavellied Machiavelli, writing a masterplan for the Church to achieve world domination. So dangerous was the text that the Pope had to kill Eisenreich to suppress it. But when the bullet-riddled body of a young girl is found in the mid-West and Eisenreich is her dying word, it becomes terrifyingly clear that not only is the document real, but someone is planning to use it. Sarah Trent, a US agent, and Xander Jaspers, a Columbia University professor, race to find this manuscript, but neither fully understand the danger they're confronting as it has fallen into the hands of a cabal who intend to use it to rip society apart, and create a new world order. Trent and Jaspers make a quirky, entertaining team and the brilliant story line turns The Overseer into one of the best political thrillers of the decade. 'Dazzling plot twists, highly sophisticated and diverting thriller, superior entertainment.' Washington Post Book World

Zorro

Zorro

Author: Isabel Allende Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2006

Bestselling author Isabel Allende's first adult novel since `Portrait in Sepia' - beautiful, disturbing and atmospheric. Beneath the mask, there is a man. And in his heart burns the fire of injustice ... Duels at dawn, fierce battles with pirates and impossible rescues - these are the deeds that forged the legend of Zorro. But where did the man begin? Southern California, late 18th century: Diego de la Vega is a child of two worlds, his father an aristocratic Spaniard, his mother a Shoshone warrior. Growing up he witnesses the brutual injustices dealt to Native Americans. Later, following the example of his fencing master, the young Diego joins a secret movement devoted to helping the powerless. His first steps on the road to heroism have been taken. But a great rival will emerge from the ranks of the cruel oppressors. How will Zorro defeat him? And will his childhood sweetheart Isabel claim the prize she so longs for - his true love?

An Act Of Courage (Matthew Hervey 7)

An Act Of Courage (Matthew Hervey 7)

Author: Allan Mallinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2006

Badajoz: Christmas 1826 Matthew Hervey of the 6th Light Dragoons is a prisoner of the Spanish, incarcerated in the infamous fortress of Badajoz. As he plans his escape, his thoughts return to the year 1812 when he was a cornet in Wellington's Peninsular Army. He and the Sixth had survived Corunna to endure three more years of brutal fighting that would culminate in one of the most vital and vicious confrontations of the campaign - the siege of Badajoz. While Hervey paces his prison cell, and re-lives the bloodshed of battles past, friends from expected quarters rush to his aid ... 'As good on the details of the workings of a cavalry regiment in 1820 as ever Patrick O'Brian was on the workings of an 1820 warship.' Spectator

Knights Of The Cross

Knights Of The Cross

Author: Tom Harper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/02/2006

1098. The armies of the First Crusade race across Asia minor, routing the Turks and reclaiming the land for Christendom. But on the Syrian border, their advance is halted before the impregnable walls of Antioch. As winter draws on, they are forced to suffer a fruitless, interminable siege, gnawed by famine and tormented by the Turkish defenders. The entire crusade is on the verge of collapse. His lord, the ruthlessly ambitious Bohemond charges Demetrios Askiates to find the killer. But as Demetrios investigates, the trail seems to lead ever deeper into the vipers' nest of jealousy, betrayal and fanaticism which lies at the heart of the crusade.

To Glory We Steer (Richard Bolitho: Book 7)

To Glory We Steer (Richard Bolitho: Book 7)

Author: Alexander Kent Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/01/2006

The time is January 1782, and British Captain Richard Bolitho is ordered to take the frigate Phalarope to the Caribbean, where the hard-pressed royal squadrons are fighting for their lives against the combined fleets of France and Spain and the upstart American privateers. It should have been a proud moment for so young and junior a captain - but the Phalarope has already been driven to near mutiny and she is regarded with shame and suspicion. But Bolitho is no ordinary man. His determination is blended with humanity, and his efforts to give the ship back her pride mark him apart from his contemporaries. As the little frigate sails under the blazing sun and fights her inner battles as well as faces the bloody broadsides of the enemy, Bolitho spares neither himself nor his men - and in the final great battle of the Saintes the chance comes to prove what both he and the Phalarope can achieve.