LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical adventure

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

A Bewitching Dilemma

A Bewitching Dilemma

Author: Celia Martin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/07/2019

A Seabold Fights

A Seabold Fights

Author: Frederick Faust, Andrew Salmon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/07/2019

Triumph in Dust

Triumph in Dust

Author: Ian Ross Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/07/2019

Ferocity, heroism, and savage bloodshed: the next gripping instalment in the Twilight of Empire series. For fans of Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden. When the simmering conflict between Rome and Persia threatens to reignite into open war, there is only one man the Emperor Constantine can trust to hold the eastern frontier. Aurelius Castus, retired general of the empire, has fought long and hard for Rome. When the summons comes to command an army once more, he obeys with a heavy heart. But is he still the fearsome fighting machine of old? As tragedy strikes the imperial household, Castus must race to defend the last bulwark standing against the might of Persia. Castus knows that the fight ahead will be the fiercest he has ever known, and will very probably be his last. 'I was immersed from the very first page. Wonderful writing. Rich and evocative, astute and assured. Great stuff!' Giles Kristian, bestselling author of Lancelot.

Blood in Eden (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 30) An unputdownable mystery of bloodshed and betrayal

Blood in Eden (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 30) An unputdownable mystery of bloodshed and betrayal

Author: Peter Tremayne Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/07/2019

Sister Fidelma returns in BLOOD IN EDEN, the thirtieth Celtic mystery by Peter Tremayne, acclaimed author of BLOODMOON, PENANCE OF THE DAMNED and NIGHT OF THE LIGHTBRINGER. If you love Ellis Peters, you'll be gripped by BLOOD IN EDEN and the Sister Fidelma series. Ireland. AD 672. The hamlet of Cloichin is said to be a veritable Eden, with its prosperous farms and close-knit, friendly community. But when Sister Fidelma and Eadulf arrive, a new priest has ordered the villagers to lynch a man accused of murdering a local farmer, his wife and two sons. The only evidence they hold against him is the fact that he is a stranger to their land. Saving the man's life, Fidelma is determined that the villagers must give the newcomer a fair trial. But there is to be more blood in Eden and more lives will be lost as long-standing friends become new-found enemies, and no one knows who to trust . . . What readers are saying about the Sister Fidelma series: 'Tremayne is one of those very few historical mystery writers who can perplex and bewilder. He weaves the twisty plots into a complex historical narrative' 'A must-read for anyone looking for a good mystery' 'The characters are original, the settings are imaginative and true-to-life and the intricate plots form enough threads to keep you guessing at every turn'

Last Train to Margate

Last Train to Margate

Author: Sally Forrester Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/07/2019

Under the Southern Cross

Under the Southern Cross

Author: Aurion Du Preez, Anna Faktorovich Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2019

Under the Southern Cross

Under the Southern Cross

Author: Aurion Du Preez, Anna Faktorovich Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/07/2019

Mountjoy The Reluctant Recruit

Mountjoy The Reluctant Recruit

Author: Graham Lowe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2019

The Southerly Curse (Before the Poet's Trap)

The Southerly Curse (Before the Poet's Trap)

Author: Sylvie Gallimore Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2019

The Haunted Hanging Tree

The Haunted Hanging Tree

Author: David & Michael Krumboltz Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2019

The Secrets of a Cornish Coastal Village

The Secrets of a Cornish Coastal Village

Author: Madeleine Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2019

Obsidian Book II of The Book of Bera trilogy

Obsidian Book II of The Book of Bera trilogy

Author: Suzie Wilde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

A gripping Viking tale of one woman's courage, fighting old and new gods amid the savage beauty of Ice Island: the second instalment of The Book of Bera fantasy adventure series Bera, the Viking seer, has been having visions. During the hard birthing of her daughter, she feels the earth convulse, an upheaval that somehow links the black bead of her necklace to the precious stone: Obsidian. As her destructive visions start to become reality, she has no choice but to set out for the Far North, to steal Obsidian and put it to use. But Bera is not the only one who wants the stone - to what lengths will she go to win it? Steeped in the life and beliefs of the Norse peoples, this standalone second instalment in The Book of Bera trilogy is a gripping, atmospheric adventure.