LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical adventure

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Sword Saint Empire of Salt Book III

The Sword Saint Empire of Salt Book III

Author: C. F. Iggulden Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/08/2019

Conn Iggulden is back with the spellbinding third instalment in the EMPIRE OF SALT trilogy.

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Author: Pitchaya Sudbanthad Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/08/2019

Places remember us. . . A missionary begs to be moved from disease-ridden Bangkok. A musician plays a private show for ghosts. A student abandoned by his lover bleeds to death in the street. A plastic surgeon designs a girl a new face. A woman decides whether to cook a final meal for a dying murderer. Lurching through decades, from Bangkok's rich past to its imagined, uploaded future, witness the city as it changes from a booming capitalist hub to a city engulfed by water, through human tales seeping into one another, held together by delicate threads. For fans of A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD and CLOUD ATLAS, this is a startling and intimate novel by a lyrical new writer.

Emperor of Rome

Emperor of Rome

Author: Robert (Author) Fabbri Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2019

The final, thrilling instalment in the epic Vespasian series from the bestselling author, Robert Fabbri. Rome, AD 68. Vespasian is tasked with the impossible. Should he quell the revolt in Judaea, as Nero the emperor has instructed, or resort to the unthinkable and sabotage his own campaign? If his conquest succeeds, he risks facing the mad emperor's jealousy. If he fails, his punishment will be severe. But then Nero commits suicide, catapulting Rome into turmoil. With a contested throne and an army at his disposal, now may finally be Vespasian's time - to ascend, to conquer, to achieve what countless prophecies have foretold and take control of Rome itself. Will Vespasian, at long last, be the one to wear the purple?

Ice Hunter A Woods Cop Mystery

Ice Hunter A Woods Cop Mystery

Author: Joseph Heywood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2019

Meet Grady Service: former Marine, now conservation officer, and the greatest fear of any errant hunter. In Ice Hunter-the first in the Woods Cop Mystery series set in Michigan's Upper Peninsula and celebrated for its intricate plots and unforgettable characters-Service must call upon his every reserve to track, stalk, and capture the ice hunter.

Monarch Manor

Monarch Manor

Author: Maureen Leurck Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/07/2019

Frontier America

Frontier America

Author: William W. Johnstone, J.A. Johnstone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/07/2019

The Cost of Dying

The Cost of Dying

Author: Peter Brandvold Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/07/2019

The Irish Heiress

The Irish Heiress

Author: Kaitlin O'Riley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/07/2019

Triumph in Dust

Triumph in Dust

Author: Ian Ross Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/07/2019

Ferocity, heroism, and savage bloodshed: the next gripping instalment in the Twilight of Empire series. For fans of Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden. When the simmering conflict between Rome and Persia threatens once again to ignite into open war, there is only one man the Emperor Constantine can trust to hold the eastern frontier. Aurelius Castus, retired general of the empire, has fought long and hard for Rome. When the summons comes to command an army once more, he obeys with a heavy heart. Is he still the fearsome fighting machine of old? Will his young, ambitious officers respect and follow a great soldier of former days? But when tragedy strikes the imperial household, Castus must race to defend the last bulwark standing against the might of Persia. In the pitiless heat of the Syrian desert, engulfed by whirling sandstorms and facing a fearless, treacherous foe, Castus knows that the fight ahead will be the fiercest he has ever known, and will very probably be his last. 'I was immersed from the very first page. Wonderful writing. Rich and evocative, astute and assured. Great stuff!' Giles Kristian, bestselling author of Lancelot.

After the Lost Franklin Expedition Lady Franklin and John Rae

After the Lost Franklin Expedition Lady Franklin and John Rae

Author: Peter Baxter Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/06/2019

The fate of the lost Franklin Expedition of 1847 is an enigma that has tantalised generations of historians, archaeologists and adventurers. The expedition was lost without a trace and all 129 men died in what is arguably the worst disaster in Britain's history of polar exploration. In the aftermath of the crew's disappearance, Lady Jane Franklin, Sir John's widow, maintained a crusade to secure her husband's reputation, imperiled alongside him and his crew in the frozen wastes of the Artic. Lady Franklin was an uncommon woman for her age, a socially and politically astute figure who ravaged anyone who she viewed as a threat to her husband's legacy. Meanwhile John Rae, an explorer and employee of the Hudson Bay Company, recovered deeply disturbing information from the Expedition. His shocking conclusions embroiled him in a bitter dispute with Lady Franklin which led to the ruin of his reputation and career. Against the background of Victorian society and the rise of the explorer celebrity, we learn of Lady Franklin's formidable grit to honour her husband's legacy; of John Rae being discredited and his eventual ruin, despite later being proven right. It is a fascinating assessment of the aftermath of the Franklin Expedition and its legacy.

Swords in the East

Swords in the East

Author: P. F. Chisholm Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

A new omnibus in the highly acclaimed Sir Robert Carey Mysteries. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and S.J. Parris. 1592. Sir Robert Carey abandoned the ambition and treachery of Queen Elizabeth I's court to take up the post of Deputy Warden of the West March, aided by his surly, larcenous, and loyal henchman Henry Dodd, Land Sergeant of Gilsland. As Carey struggles to solve the murder of a local minister, he battles with his deep adoration of Lady Elizabeth Widdrington, while despising her elderly, abusive husband - will the man never die? During his investigation, Carey encounters King James IV, his amoral favourite Lord Spynie, the fey Lady Hume, Mr Anricks - a surprisingly skilled tooth drawer - and, finally, a plot to topple the Scottish Court. Plunging readers straight into the raucous world of late-sixteenth century border reivers and unfettered Elizabethan intrigue, Swords in the East, the third chronicle of Sir Robert Carey's adventures, collects the novels A Chorus of Innocents and A Clash of Spheres under one volume. A Chorus of Innocents (c) 2015. A Clash of Spheres (c) 2017.

Obsidian Book II of The Book of Bera trilogy

Obsidian Book II of The Book of Bera trilogy

Author: Suzie Wilde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

A gripping Viking tale of one woman's courage, fighting old and new gods amid the savage beauty of Ice Island: the second instalment of The Book of Bera fantasy adventure series Bera, the Viking seer, has been having visions. During the hard birthing of her daughter, she feels the earth convulse, an upheaval that somehow links the black bead of her necklace to the precious stone: Obsidian. As her destructive visions start to become reality, she has no choice but to set out for the Far North, to steal Obsidian and put it to use. But Bera is not the only one who wants the stone - to what lengths will she go to win it? Steeped in the life and beliefs of the Norse peoples, this standalone second instalment in The Book of Bera trilogy is a gripping, atmospheric adventure.