katie fforde books of the month make the most of Lovereading tudor queens series orange blossom days
Vouchers


Historical adventure books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

The Powder of Death by Julian Stockwin The Powder of Death

The Powder of Death tells the story of how gunpowder found its way to the west.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/04/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

War Cry by Wilbur Smith, David Churchill War Cry
,
'That time is upon us. I can feel it coming. That evil barbarian will not be satisfied until he has engulfed the whole world in war and death. I fear for us all.' In a triumphant return to his much-loved...
Format: CD-Audio - Released: 06/04/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.99 - Saving £4.00 (20%)

War Cry by Wilbur Smith, David Churchill War Cry
,
'That time is upon us. I can feel it coming. That evil barbarian will not be satisfied until he has engulfed the whole world in war and death. I fear for us all.' In a triumphant return to his much-loved...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

The Cutthroat by Clive Cussler, Justin Scott The Cutthroat
,
*The No.1 New York Times bestseller* Private Detective Isaac Bell crosses some of America's harshest terrain in pursuit of the most twisted killer yet, in the latest action-packed historical blockbuster from Sunday Times bestseller Clive Cussler. Women are being brutally...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.19 - Saving £3.80 (20%)

The Book of Bera by Suzie Wilde The Book of Bera

On a long winter night, Bera is left to defend her stark village alone, and in the ensuing battle, her dear childhood friend, Bjorn, is killed. When soon after her father weds her to the chieftain of a rival clan,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £13.59 - Saving £3.40 (20%)

War Cry by Wilbur Smith, David Churchill War Cry
,
'That time is upon us. I can feel it coming. That evil barbarian will not be satisfied until he has engulfed the whole world in war and death. I fear for us all.' In a triumphant return to his much-loved...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £16.00 - Saving £4.00 (20%)

Freebooter by Tim Severin Freebooter

The fifth swashbuckling and exhilarating adventure in the Pirate series. Hector Lynch, wanted by the authorities in London for piracy, has come to St Mary's Island, near Madagascar, on his search for the elusive Libertalia - a settlement where it...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.19 - Saving £3.80 (20%)

The Earthly Gods by Nick Brown The Earthly Gods

The stunning sixth novel in Nick Brown's acclaimed Agent of Rome series, featuring Cassius' most astonishing race against time yet.
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.19 - Saving £1.80 (20%)

Coming Soon

Place of Skulls by III Caleb Pirtle Place of Skulls


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 08/05/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.99 - Saving £4.00 (20%)

A Season of Spells by Sylvia Hunter A Season of Spells

Sophie and Gray return to London, escorting the heiress of Alba to meet the British prince to whom she is betrothed. Sparks fail to fly between the pair and the marriage alliance is cast into further doubt when the men...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%)

The Black Rocks of Morwenstow by John Wilcox The Black Rocks of Morwenstow

1842, a time of great change and reform in England. 25-year-old Joshua Weyland is languishing in Key West, USA, desperate to return to England to marry his fiance. He ships as second mate on a small brig bound for Bristol....
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

Inferno by Julian Stockwin Inferno

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brien, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Inferno is the seventeenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Captain Kydd series.
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.19 - Saving £1.80 (20%)

Dragon Teeth by Michael Crichton Dragon Teeth

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel - a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting.
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/05/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

By Blood Divided by James Heneage By Blood Divided

Destiny, inheritance, the world shifting from east to west. This is an epic novel set in an age of dramatic change. Perfect for fans of Ken Follett.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.99 - Saving £4.00 (20%)

Dragon Teeth by Michael Crichton Dragon Teeth

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel - a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.19 - Saving £3.80 (20%)

Arminius The Limits of Empire by Robert Fabbri Arminius The Limits of Empire

A stunning stand-alone Roman epic historical from the author of the bestselling Vespasian series.
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

The Green Count by Christian Cameron The Green Count

Famagusta, November 1365. The world teeters on the brink of bloody political upheaval ... and Sir William Gold is caught right in the thick of it.
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.99 - Saving £4.00 (20%)

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley The Bedlam Stacks

An astonishing historical novel set in the shadowy, magical forests of South America, which draws on the captivating world of the international bestseller The Watchmaker of Filigree Street Deep in uncharted Peru, the holy town of Bedlam stands at the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%)

World Without End by Ken Follett World Without End

On the day after Halloween, in the year 1327, four children slip away from the cathedral city of Kingsbridge. They are a thief, a bully, a boy genius and a girl who wants to be a doctor. In the forest...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.99 - Saving £2.00 (20%)

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett The Pillars of the Earth

A spellbinding epic tale of ambition, anarchy, and absolute power set against the sprawling medieval canvas of twelfth-century England, this is Ken Follett's classic historical masterpiece. The Pillars of the Earth tells the story of Philip, prior of Kingsbridge, a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.99 - Saving £2.00 (20%)

The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Hunter The Midnight Queen

Gray Marshall's Britain is a fragmented kingdom of many tongues, many gods and many magics. He is desperate to return to his studies at Merlin College, Oxford. With his friend Sophie Callender the pair find themselves on a journey that...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

A Treacherous Coast by David Donachie A Treacherous Coast

1796. Pearce and his wife Emily are in living in Bath, when Minister of War Henry Dundas turns up and suggests a second mission to the Vendee. The proposed expedition looks promising and Pearce takes the bait. Once at sea,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

On a Particular Service by David Donachie On a Particular Service

John Pearce is going home but things are never that simple. In a whirlwind of action, there are forged wills, devious trades, contrived murders and dangerous spy missions, with so much deceit that Pearce does not know who to trust....
Format: Hardback - Released: 20/07/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.99 - Saving £4.00 (20%)

Other books in this genre

The Confessions of Young Nero by Margaret George The Confessions of Young Nero

In the Roman Empire no one is safe from the sting of betrayal: man, woman - or child. As a boy, Nero's royal heritage becomes a threat to his very life, first when the mad emperor Caligula tries to drown...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £15.19 - Saving £3.80 (20%)

A Mighty Dawn by Theodore Brun A Mighty Dawn

A gripping and brilliantly realized debut epic adventure set in eighth-century Denmark. This is the beginning of an ambitious new series in the vein of George R.R. Martin's A Game of Thrones.
Format: Hardback - Released: 02/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%)

Sword of Empire: The Complete Campaigns by Richard Foreman Sword of Empire: The Complete Campaigns


Format: Paperback - Released: 01/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

Dodger of the Revolution by James Benmore Dodger of the Revolution

The Artful Dodger faces his most dangerous adventure yet as he leaves Dickensian London and finds himself manning the barricades in defence of liberty, fraternity and larceny in the 1848 Paris uprising
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/02/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.99 - Saving £2.00 (20%)

Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews Second Lives

The adventure continues: time is in flux, and only Jana, Dora and Kaz can fix it. But can they trust each other?
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/02/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

The Gangster by Clive Cussler, Justin Scott The Gangster
,
Join Private Detective Isaac Bell as he navigates the seedy back alleys of New York, in the ninth book in the action-packed series from Sunday Times bestseller Clive Cussler. Crime, corruption and murder...a vicious organisation is terrorising the city and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/02/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

Lady of Magick by Sylvia Hunter Lady of Magick

Sophie Marshall struggles with being the only female undergraduate at Merlin College. When her husband, Gray, receives an invitation to lecture at the University in Din Edin, Sophie is overjoyed to join him. However, he goes missing. Can Sophie and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/01/2017
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%)

Arminius The Limits of Empire by Robert Fabbri Arminius The Limits of Empire

A stunning stand-alone Roman epic historical from the author of the bestselling Vespasian series.
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/01/2017
Lovereading Price: £11.99 - Saving £3.00 (20%)

Assassin's Creed: The Official Film Tie-in by Christie Golden Assassin's Creed: The Official Film Tie-in

*** THE OFFICIAL NOVELIZATION AND TIE-IN TO THE UK'S NO 1 MOVIE *** Go beyond the film in the novelization of the first Assassin's Creed movie, starring Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard. We work in the dark to serve the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/12/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%)

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now