LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical adventure

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Great Expeditions 50 Journeys That Changed Our World

Great Expeditions 50 Journeys That Changed Our World

Author: Levison Wood, Mark Steward, Alan Greenwood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Foreword by Levison Wood, presenter of Walking the Americas. A comprehensive, fascinating and inspiring gallery of the great adventures that changed our world. Throughout history there have been brave men and women who dared to go where few had gone before. They broke new ground by drawing on incredible reserves of courage, fortitude and intelligence in the face of terrible adversity. Their endeavours changed the world and inspired generations. Spanning several centuries and united by the common theme of the resilience of the human spirit, this is the ultimate collection of the stories of the intrepid explorers who forged new frontiers across land, sea, skies and space. 50 incredible journeys including; * Tenzing and Hillary's conquest of Everest * Neil Armstrong's giant leap * Christopher Columbus' new world * Amelia Earhart flying the Atlantic * gold fever in the Yukon * the hunt for a man-eating leopard in India Great Expeditions includes not only some of the most famous journeys in history but also introduces many more that ought to be more widely recognised and celebrated.

The Risen

The Risen

Author: Tarn Richardson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2019

1917. The Apocalypse is imminent. It is three years since our first introduction to the brilliant but flawed Catholic church Inquisitor Poldek Tacit, and the world has never needed him more. War, revolution and a relentless tide of inhuman terror is consuming the earth but where is Tacit? As old allies unite in a frantic race to unmask the Antichrist and thwart his plan to bring everything into his power, the Darkest Hand continues to terrorise the innocent - while in the Vatican's vaults, long-buried secrets are about to be unveiled, and humanity's chance of escape from the forces of evil hangs by a single thread.

The Damned

The Damned

Author: Tarn Richardson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2019

1914. The Outbreak of War In the French City of Arras, Father Andreas is brutally murdered and the Catholic Inquisition sends its most determined and unhinged inquisitor to investigate. Poldek Tacit's mission is to protect the Church from those who seek to undermine it. At any cost. As Tacit arrives, British and German soldiers confront each other across the horror that is No Man's Land and a beautiful French woman warns Lieutenant Henry Frost that there is a dark and unnatural foe lurking underground more awful than even Tacit can comprehend.

The Fallen

The Fallen

Author: Tarn Richardson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2019

1915. Demonic possessions are sweeping across Rome. War is raging on the Italian Austro-Hungarian border and bodies are piling up in the streets. But it isn't the ravages of war that are causing mass destruction, an evil and unnatural force is roaming the land and the Vatican's Eagle Fountain is running red with blood. Only Poldek Tacit, the church's brilliant but flawed Inquisitor, can hope to hold back the malevolent power. But as he immerses himself in this dangerous investigation he discovers that the path he is treading has already been prophesised and it's inevitable conclusion will threaten the very future of a world already teetering on the brink of the abyss.

Seduction on a Snowy Night

Seduction on a Snowy Night

Author: Mary Jo Putney, Madeline Hunter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/09/2019

London's Late Night Scandal

London's Late Night Scandal

Author: Anabelle Bryant Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/09/2019

Bullets Don't Argue

Bullets Don't Argue

Author: William W. Johnstone, J.A. Johnstone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/09/2019

Blood in the Dust

Blood in the Dust

Author: Bill Swiggs Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

'Essential reading for all adventure fans. Honour and courage in the wild and unpredictable Outback.' Wilbur Smith 1853, Victoria, Australia. Five bushrangers led by the murderous outlaw Warrigal Anderson raid a small homestead. When they ride away, nineteen-year-old Toby O'Rourke's life is changed forever. His parents lay dead at his feet and his brother, Patrick, is badly wounded. But Toby O'Rourke is made of steel forged in the hardship of colonial life. Forced into adulthood, he and Patrick will seek to restore the family fortunes and outwit not only the rich businessman who conspired to rob them of their birth right, but the vicious men who murdered their parents . . . For readers of Wilbur Smith, Jeffrey Archer and Bryce Courtenay, as fast-paced adventure story and the winner of the best unpublished manuscript category of the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

The Titanic Secret

The Titanic Secret

Author: Clive Cussler, Justin Scott Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/09/2019

*PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY NOW* Both a prequel and a sequel to Clive Cussler's first bestselling phenomenon, Raise the Titanic!, the new Isaac Bell novel is a thrilling action-adventure novel from the #1 New York Times-bestselling author. A century apart, Dirk Pitt and Isaac Bell team up to unlock the truth about the most famous maritime disaster of all time. In the present day, Dirk Pitt is must make a daring rescue from inside an antiquated submersible in the waters around New York City. His reward afterwards is a document left behind a century earlier by legendary detective Isaac Bell--a document that re-opens a historical mystery... In 1911 Colorado, Isaac Bell is asked to look into an unexplained tragedy at Little Angel Mine, a disaster in which nine people died. His dangerous quest to answer that riddle leads to a larger one centered on a rare element with extraordinary powers and of virtually incalculable value. As he discovers that there are people who will do anything to control the substance, Isaac Bell will find out how far he'll go to stop them. Praise for Clive Cussler 'The Adventure King' - Sunday Express 'Cussler is hard to beat' - Daily Mail 'Just about the best in the business' - New York Post 'Oceanography's answer to Indiana Jones. Exotic locations, ruthless villains, and many narrow escapes - Cussler's fans come for swashbuckling and he delivers' - Associated Press 'Nobody does it better . . . nobody!' - Stephen Coonts

The Titanic Secret

The Titanic Secret

Author: Clive Cussler, Justin Scott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

*PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY NOW* Both a prequel and a sequel to Clive Cussler's first bestselling phenomenon, Raise the Titanic!, the new Isaac Bell novel is a thrilling action-adventure novel from the #1 New York Times-bestselling author. A century apart, Dirk Pitt and Isaac Bell team up to unlock the truth about the most famous maritime disaster of all time. In the present day, Dirk Pitt is must make a daring rescue from inside an antiquated submersible in the waters around New York City. His reward afterwards is a document left behind a century earlier by legendary detective Isaac Bell--a document that re-opens a historical mystery... In 1911 Colorado, Isaac Bell is asked to look into an unexplained tragedy at Little Angel Mine, a disaster in which nine people died. His dangerous quest to answer that riddle leads to a larger one centered on a rare element with extraordinary powers and of virtually incalculable value. As he discovers that there are people who will do anything to control the substance, Isaac Bell will find out how far he'll go to stop them. Praise for Clive Cussler 'The Adventure King' - Sunday Express 'Cussler is hard to beat' - Daily Mail 'Just about the best in the business' - New York Post 'Oceanography's answer to Indiana Jones. Exotic locations, ruthless villains, and many narrow escapes - Cussler's fans come for swashbuckling and he delivers' - Associated Press 'Nobody does it better . . . nobody!' - Stephen Coonts

Just Another Girl on the Road

Just Another Girl on the Road

Author: S. Kensington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/08/2019

Summer 1944: Stranded behind enemy lines in France, eighteen-year-old Katrinka Badeau escapes German deserters with the help of Major Willoughby Nye. Once an employee on her father's merchant ship, Nye is now part of an undercover Jedburgh operation, working for the Allies. When he offers her a job on his team, she accepts. Her work throws her together with Sergeant Wolfe Farr, the team's tough-talking radio operator, and they embark on an intense love affair. But Katrinka is not prepared to accept Wolfe's plans for the future. And her love for Nye, which has evolved from an adolescent crush to that of a young woman, still endures. With the liberation of France, both men are sent to the Far East. Realising what she has lost, Katrinka joins a small entertainment troupe, and sets out on an arduous journey around the world to find Wolfe. But when the three are finally reunited, which love will withstand the test of time?

Where There's Fire, There's Smoke

Where There's Fire, There's Smoke

Author: William W. Johnstone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/08/2019