tudor queens series when i was invisible granchester eleanor oliphant before the fall

Historical adventure books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

Free Spirits The Story of Cadet Ruffin, His Mother and the Underground Railroad by Free Spirits The Story of Cadet Ruffin, His Mother and the Underground Railroad


Format: Paperback - Released: 25/06/2017

The Fourth Pularchek A Novel of Suspense by Samuel Marquis The Fourth Pularchek A Novel of Suspense


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 01/06/2017

Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne Around the World in 80 Days

In one of the most famous journeys in fictional history, Phileas Fogg has only eighty days to circumnavigate the globe in order to win an outlandish bet.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Dragon Teeth by Michael Crichton Dragon Teeth

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel - a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

By Blood Divided by James Heneage By Blood Divided

Destiny, inheritance, the world shifting from east to west. This is an epic novel set in an age of dramatic change. Perfect for fans of Ken Follett.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

Mistress of the Sea by Jenny Barden Mistress of the Sea

Plymouth 1570. Drake's ship, The Swan, sets sail for the New World with a crew of pirates hell-bent on Spanish treasure. Among them is Will Doonan seeking his fortune and revenge for the loss of his brother. But unbeknown to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/05/2017

Worlds Collide by Peter Woodhead Worlds Collide


Format: Paperback - Released: 25/05/2017

Aunt Adelaide of Highgate Cemetery by Mary Briggs Aunt Adelaide of Highgate Cemetery


Format: Paperback - Released: 25/05/2017

Coming Soon

Arminius The Limits of Empire by Robert Fabbri Arminius The Limits of Empire

A stunning stand-alone Roman epic historical from the author of the bestselling Vespasian series.
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/07/2017

The Green Count by Christian Cameron The Green Count

Famagusta, November 1365. The world teeters on the brink of bloody political upheaval ... and Sir William Gold is caught right in the thick of it.
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley The Bedlam Stacks

An astonishing historical novel set in the shadowy, magical forests of South America, which draws on the captivating world of the international bestseller The Watchmaker of Filigree Street Deep in uncharted Peru, the holy town of Bedlam stands at the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

World Without End by Ken Follett World Without End

On the day after Halloween, in the year 1327, four children slip away from the cathedral city of Kingsbridge. They are a thief, a bully, a boy genius and a girl who wants to be a doctor. In the forest...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett The Pillars of the Earth

A spellbinding epic tale of ambition, anarchy, and absolute power set against the sprawling medieval canvas of twelfth-century England, this is Ken Follett's classic historical masterpiece. The Pillars of the Earth tells the story of Philip, prior of Kingsbridge, a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Hunter The Midnight Queen

Gray Marshall's Britain is a fragmented kingdom of many tongues, many gods and many magics. He is desperate to return to his studies at Merlin College, Oxford. With his friend Sophie Callender the pair find themselves on a journey that...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2017

A Treacherous Coast by David Donachie A Treacherous Coast

1796. Pearce and his wife Emily are in living in Bath, when Minister of War Henry Dundas turns up and suggests a second mission to the Vendee. The proposed expedition looks promising and Pearce takes the bait. Once at sea,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2017

On a Particular Service by David Donachie On a Particular Service

John Pearce is going home but things are never that simple. In a whirlwind of action, there are forged wills, devious trades, contrived murders and dangerous spy missions, with so much deceit that Pearce does not know who to trust....
Format: Hardback - Released: 20/07/2017

The New World by Scott K. Andrews The New World

The epic, thrilling conclusion to the most mind-bending, time-warping series since Doctor Who.
Format: Paperback - Released: 27/07/2017

Rob Roy by Sir Walter Scott Rob Roy


Format: Paperback - Released: 01/08/2017

Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China by David Der-Wei Wang Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China

In this Ming-era novel, historical narrative, raucous humor, and the supernatural are interwoven to tell the tale of an unsuccessful attempt to overthrow the Song dynasty. A poor young girl meets an old woman who gives her a magic book...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/09/2017

Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China by David Der-Wei Wang Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China

In this Ming-era novel, historical narrative, raucous humor, and the supernatural are interwoven to tell the tale of an unsuccessful attempt to overthrow the Song dynasty. A poor young girl meets an old woman who gives her a magic book...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/09/2017

The Tiger's Prey by Wilbur Smith, Tom Harper The Tiger's Prey
,
The Malabar coast is full of dangers: greedy tradesmen, fearless pirates, and men full of vengeance. But for a Courtney, the greatest danger might just be his own family...
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/09/2017

Treason's Spring by Robert Wilton Treason's Spring

Revolution, dissent and secret plotting - trouble is rife on the streets of eighteenth century Paris, in this stunning prequel to Treason's Tide.
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/09/2017

Freebooter by Tim Severin Freebooter

Hector Lynch, wanted by the authorities in London for piracy, has come to St Mary's Island, near Madagascar, on his search for the elusive Libertalia - a settlement where it is said that all are allowed to live freely. Here,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Other books in this genre

The Black Rocks of Morwenstow by John Wilcox The Black Rocks of Morwenstow

1842, a time of great change and reform in England. 25-year-old Joshua Weyland is languishing in Key West, USA, desperate to return to England to marry his fiance. He ships as second mate on a small brig bound for Bristol....
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

A Season of Spells by Sylvia Hunter A Season of Spells

Sophie and Gray return to London, escorting the heiress of Alba to meet the British prince to whom she is betrothed. Sparks fail to fly between the pair and the marriage alliance is cast into further doubt when the men...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

Inferno by Julian Stockwin Inferno

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brien, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Inferno is the seventeenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Captain Kydd series.
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

The Boy with Golden Wings by Gino Marchiori The Boy with Golden Wings


Format: Paperback - Released: 11/05/2017

White Gold by Trudie Le Beau White Gold

The exciting sequel to THE THROGMORTON LEGACY. More terrifying adventures for Jake and India.
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/05/2017

Place of Skulls by III Caleb Pirtle Place of Skulls


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 08/05/2017

Rat Bait by Richard Ward Rat Bait

Set in New Zealand, Rat Bait is a tense thriller which follows the activities of Zack Garroway as he pursues a one-man crime spree after being released from prison.
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/04/2017

The Citizen Soldier by Mark Wilding The Citizen Soldier

In 1944, Portsmouth, the formidable Davey Dwyer, known as 'Moose' to his friends, is working as an engineer in the Navy and dating Sally, the love of his life.
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/04/2017

The Citizen Soldier by Mark Wilding The Citizen Soldier

In 1944, Portsmouth, the formidable Davey Dwyer, known as 'Moose' to his friends, is working as an engineer in the Navy and dating Sally, the love of his life.
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/04/2017

Rat Bait by Richard Ward Rat Bait

Set in New Zealand, Rat Bait is a tense thriller which follows the activities of Zack Garroway as he pursues a one-man crime spree after being released from prison.
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/04/2017

The Powder of Death by Julian Stockwin The Powder of Death

The Powder of Death tells the story of how gunpowder found its way to the west.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/04/2017

War Cry by Wilbur Smith, David Churchill War Cry
,
'That time is upon us. I can feel it coming. That evil barbarian will not be satisfied until he has engulfed the whole world in war and death. I fear for us all.' In a triumphant return to his much-loved...
Format: CD-Audio - Released: 06/04/2017

Electric Shadows of Shanghai by Clare Kane Electric Shadows of Shanghai

Historical fiction set in 1930s Shanghai, following the story of British diplomat and his wife as they become embroiled in the shadows of a city on the brink of war.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/04/2017

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now