reading groups win prizes tudor queens series finding gobi granchester
Search our site
A Time of Love and Tartan by Alexander McCall Smith Read the opening extract of the brand new Alexander McCall Smith book before its publication on 03/08/2017

Historical adventure books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

The New World The TimeBomb Trilogy: Book 3 by Scott K. Andrews The New World The TimeBomb Trilogy: Book 3

The epic, thrilling conclusion to the most mind-bending, time-warping series since Doctor Who.
Format: Paperback - Released: 27/07/2017

A Treacherous Coast by David Donachie A Treacherous Coast

1796. Pearce and his wife Emily are in living in Bath, when Minister of War Henry Dundas turns up and suggests a second mission to the Vendee. The proposed expedition looks promising and Pearce takes the bait. Once at sea,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2017

On a Particular Service by David Donachie On a Particular Service

John Pearce is going home but things are never that simple. In a whirlwind of action, there are forged wills, devious trades, contrived murders and dangerous spy missions, with so much deceit that Pearce does not know who to trust....
Format: Hardback - Released: 20/07/2017

The Green Count by Christian Cameron The Green Count

Famagusta, November 1365. The world teeters on the brink of bloody political upheaval . . . and Sir William Gold is caught right in the thick of it.
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

Lieutenant Hornblower by C. S. Forester Lieutenant Hornblower

The Second Horatio Hornblower Tale of the SeaThe nineteenth century dawns and the Napoleonic Wars rage as Horatio Hornblower is ordered to the Caribbean and dangerous waters.New Lieutenant Hornblower's latest ship is HMS Renown, a sound vessel whose captain is...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

Mr Midshipman Hornblower by C. S. Forester Mr Midshipman Hornblower

The first Horatio Hornblower Tale of the Sea1793, the eve of the Napoleonic Wars, and Midshipman Horatio Hornblower receives his first command . . .As a seventeen-year-old with a touch of sea sickness, young Horatio Hornblower hardly cuts a dash...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley The Bedlam Stacks

An astonishing historical novel set in the shadowy, magical forests of South America, which draws on the captivating world of the international bestseller The Watchmaker of Filigree Street Deep in uncharted Peru, the holy town of Bedlam stands at the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

World Without End by Ken Follett World Without End

On the day after Halloween, in the year 1327, four children slip away from the cathedral city of Kingsbridge. They are a thief, a bully, a boy genius and a girl who wants to be a doctor. In the forest...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

Coming Soon

Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China by David Der-Wei Wang Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China

In this Ming-era novel, historical narrative, raucous humor, and the supernatural are interwoven to tell the tale of an unsuccessful attempt to overthrow the Song dynasty. A poor young girl meets an old woman who gives her a magic book...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/09/2017

Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China by David Der-Wei Wang Quelling the Demons' Revolt A Novel from Ming China

In this Ming-era novel, historical narrative, raucous humor, and the supernatural are interwoven to tell the tale of an unsuccessful attempt to overthrow the Song dynasty. A poor young girl meets an old woman who gives her a magic book...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/09/2017

Treason's Spring by Robert (Author) Wilton Treason's Spring

Revolution, dissent and secret plotting - trouble is rife on the streets of eighteenth century Paris, in this stunning prequel to Treason's Tide.
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/09/2017

Freebooter by Tim Severin Freebooter

Freebooter by Tim Severin is the fifth swashbuckling adventure in the Pirate series. Hector Lynch, wanted by the authorities in London for piracy, has come to St Mary's Island, near Madagascar, on his search for the elusive Libertalia - a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

The Tiger's Prey by Wilbur Smith, Tom Harper The Tiger's Prey
,
The Malabar coast is full of dangers: greedy tradesmen, fearless pirates, and men full of vengeance. But for a Courtney, the greatest danger might just be his own family...
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/09/2017

The Tiger's Prey by Wilbur Smith, Tom Harper The Tiger's Prey
,

Format: CD-Audio - Released: 07/09/2017

A Column of Fire by Ken Follett A Column of Fire

The saga that has enthralled the millions of readers of The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End now continues with Ken Follett's magnificent, gripping A Column of Fire. Christmas 1558, and young Ned Willard returns home to Kingsbridge...
Format: Hardback - Released: 21/09/2017

Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan Manhattan Beach

The long-awaited novel from the bestselling author of Pulitzer Prize-winning A Visit From the Goon Squad
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/10/2017

Sugar Money by Jane Harris Sugar Money

Martinique, 1765, and brothers Emile and Lucien are charged by their French master, Father Cleophas, with a mission. They must return to Grenada, the island they once called home, and smuggle back the 42 slaves claimed by English invaders at...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/10/2017

A Season of Spells by Sylvia Hunter A Season of Spells

Sophie and Gray return to London, escorting the heiress of Alba to meet the British prince to whom she is betrothed. Sparks fail to fly between the pair and the marriage alliance is cast into further doubt when the men...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/10/2017

Other books in this genre

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett The Pillars of the Earth

A spellbinding epic tale of ambition, anarchy, and absolute power set against the sprawling medieval canvas of twelfth-century England, this is Ken Follett's classic historical masterpiece. The Pillars of the Earth tells the story of Philip, prior of Kingsbridge, a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

Arminius The Limits of Empire by Robert (Author) Fabbri Arminius The Limits of Empire

A stunning stand-alone Roman epic historical from the author of the bestselling Vespasian series.
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/07/2017

Hornblower and the Hotspur by C. S. Forester Hornblower and the Hotspur

The Third Horatio Hornblower Tale of the SeaApril 1803, and the Peace of Amiens is failing as Horatio Hornblower takes a sloop on a vital reconnaissance mission . . .On the day of his marriage to Maria, Hornblower is ordered...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/06/2017

Free Spirits The Story of Cadet Ruffin, His Mother and the Underground Railroad by Free Spirits The Story of Cadet Ruffin, His Mother and the Underground Railroad


Format: Paperback - Released: 25/06/2017

Rob Roy by Sir Walter Scott Rob Roy


Format: Paperback - Released: 14/06/2017

By Blood Divided by James Heneage By Blood Divided

Destiny, inheritance, the world shifting from east to west. This is an epic novel set in an age of dramatic change. Perfect for fans of Ken Follett.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

The Fourth Pularchek A Novel of Suspense by Samuel Marquis The Fourth Pularchek A Novel of Suspense


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 01/06/2017

Around the World in 80 Days (Legend Classics) by Jules Verne Around the World in 80 Days (Legend Classics)

In one of the most famous journeys in fictional history, Phileas Fogg has only eighty days to circumnavigate the globe in order to win an outlandish bet.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Mistress of the Sea by Jenny Barden Mistress of the Sea

Plymouth 1570. Drake's ship, The Swan, sets sail for the New World with a crew of pirates hell-bent on Spanish treasure. Among them is Will Doonan seeking his fortune and revenge for the loss of his brother. But unbeknown to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/05/2017

Worlds Collide by Peter Woodhead Worlds Collide


Format: Paperback - Released: 25/05/2017

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now