LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical adventure

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Historical adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Bloody Trail of the Mountain Man

Bloody Trail of the Mountain Man

Author: William W. Johnstone, J.A. Johnstone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2019

Last Stage to Hell Junction

Last Stage to Hell Junction

Author: Mickey Spillane, Max Allan Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2019

Anyone But a Duke

Anyone But a Duke

Author: Betina Krahn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2019

Blood Will Out

Blood Will Out

Author: David Donachie Format: Hardback Release Date: 21/11/2019

1787. Captain Edward Brazier is wounded and in desperate need of medical attention, but those from whom he could seek help have no idea where he is - although neither do his enemies. With his beloved Betsey currently imprisoned by her brother Henry, who is considering committing her to an asylum to take her off his hands, time is running out for Brazier to rescue her and end the tyranny of the local smuggling ring of Deal once and for all.

Traitors of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 18)

Traitors of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 18)

Author: Simon Scarrow Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/11/2019

The enthralling new Cato and Macro adventure in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Not to be missed by readers of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. AD 56. Battle-hardened veterans of the Roman army Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro are garrisoned at the eastern border, aware that their movements are constantly monitored by spies from dangerous, mysterious Parthia. But the enemy within could be the deadliest threat to the Legion ... and the Empire. There's a traitor in the ranks. Rome shows no mercy to those who betray their comrades, and the Empire. But first the guilty man must be discovered. Cato and Macro are in a race against time to expose the truth, while the powerful enemy over the border waits to exploit any weaknesses in the Legion. The traitor must die ... Praise for Simon Scarrow's bestselling novels: 'Blood, gore, political intrigue...A historical fiction thriller that'll have you reaching for your gladius' Daily Sport 'Gripping... ferocious and compelling' Daily Express 'Brilliantly told adventures ... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards' Sunday Sport

Storm of Steel

Storm of Steel

Author: Matthew Harffy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/11/2019

AD 643. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the sixth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Heading south to lands he once considered his home, Beobrand is plunged into a dark world of piracy and slavery when an old friend enlists his help to recover a kidnapped girl. Embarking onto the wind-tossed seas, Beobrand pursues his quarry with single-minded tenacity. But the Whale Road is never calm and his journey is beset with storms, betrayal and violence. As the winds of his wyrd blow him ever further from what he knows, will Beobrand find victory on his quest or has his luck finally abandoned him?

Storm of Steel

Storm of Steel

Author: Matthew Harffy Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/11/2019

AD 643. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the sixth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Heading south to lands he once considered his home, Beobrand is plunged into a dark world of piracy and slavery when an old friend enlists his help to recover a kidnapped girl. Embarking onto the wind-tossed seas, Beobrand pursues his quarry with single-minded tenacity. But the Whale Road is never calm and his journey is beset with storms, betrayal and violence. As the winds of his wyrd blow him ever further from what he knows, will Beobrand find victory on his quest or has his luck finally abandoned him?

A Suspicion of Silver

A Suspicion of Silver

Author: P. F. Chisholm Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/11/2019

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey mystery, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and S.J. Parris. Sir Robert Carey, Deputy Warden of the West March, has just foiled a double plot to assassinate King James. Now he rides for Leith hunting the would-be killer Joachim Hochstetter. Has he taken ship for the Continent, or ridden south for England and, quite literally, gone to ground? Originally from Augsburg, Hochstetter's family runs a smelting business in Keswick amid a colony of German miners. Just how far would they go to protect one of their own? Sir Robert's other problem? His dour, difficult Sergeant, Henry Dodd, has disappeared somewhere on the snowy moors. They found his horse... but there's no sign of the rider. Sir Robert's searches will see him sorely tested, both above and below ground, at sword's point and at fuse's end... 'Chisholm displays a masterful hand ... A resoundingly satisfying conclusion and a terrific hook. I have never loved Sir Robert more' DANA STABENOW.

The Crown Agent

The Crown Agent

Author: Stephen O'Rourke Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/11/2019

In 1829, disillusioned young doctor, Mungo Lyon, is recruited by the Crown to investigate a mysterious murder and shipwreck off the coast of Scotland. His adventures lead him on a pursuit across the Scottish countryside, to kidnap and treason, an unwanted trip to the West Indies, an insurrection and love.

Running Dark A Woods Cop Mystery

Running Dark A Woods Cop Mystery

Author: Joseph Heywood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2019

We go back in time twenty-five years to meet Service as a young conservation officer. Still fresh from Vietnam, but on home turf, Service has been tapped for an unusual assignment that threatens to be his last. Full of outrageous characters, Running Dark is the fourth book in the Woods Cop Mystery series and is a wild and is a riveting ride. For more on Joseph Heywood and the Woods Cop Mysteries, visit the author's website.

Death Roe A Woods Cop Mystery

Death Roe A Woods Cop Mystery

Author: Joseph Heywood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2019

Grady Service, Detective for Michigan Upper Peninsula's Department of Natural Resources, is back in the sixth title in the critically acclaimed Woods Cop series. This time he has a truly rotten case on his hands-tainted eggs are showing up in caviar, and Service must expose a ring of corruption within law enforcement that takes him all the way to the top. . . .

Yuma Prison Crashout

Yuma Prison Crashout

Author: William W. Johnstone, J.A. Johnstone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2019