LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Adventure

See below for a selection of the latest books from Adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Goldenwood Barnaby and his Amazing Adventures!

Goldenwood Barnaby and his Amazing Adventures!

Author: Nicky Coyle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Walk through The Magic Dog Flap and join Barnaby, The Duchess, CC For Short, The Reverend Dawg Collar and a host of other characters in the happy fun-filled land of Goldenwood. Follow Barnaby and his friends as they enjoy a spectacular Ball at Barkingham Palace. Join him as he takes 'The Hot Seat' on Goldenwood's very own quiz show Million Dollar Dawgie . Laugh at the madness as The Goldenwood Players perform their own version of Cinderella. Visit The Goldenwood Games where you can follow the trials and tribulations of various dogs as they take part in events, including Dock Diving, Tennis and Ten Pin Bowling. Will Bert win gold in The Shot Put Competition? Or will CC For Short beat arch rival Priscilla Petty-Claw in the tennis final? Go rowing on the River Gold with Barnaby's cousin Cosmo and enjoy lunch at The Full Bowl Pub.

Celtic Empire Dirk Pitt #25

Celtic Empire Dirk Pitt #25

Author: Clive Cussler, Dirk Cussler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/02/2020

*PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY NOW* A deadly river collision puts Dirk Pitt on the trail of an ancient mystery stretching back thousands of years . . . When a rogue cargo freighter strikes an oil tanker in the Detroit River, the oil spill is the worst marine disaster in years. Dirk Pitt's NUMA team lead the clean-up operation, with the help of new green tech firm, BioRem. But when one of NUMA's best divers dies suspiciously while working on the wreck, Pitt fears there's more to BioRem than simply saving the environment. Discovering a trail of unexplained deaths which appear to be linked to BioRem's sites around the world, Pitt unravels a mystery from our past that could jeopardise mankind's future. But someone is determined to make sure Pitt and his associates don't survive to learn the truth . . . Praise for Clive Cussler 'The Adventure King' Sunday Express 'Just about the best in the business' New York Post 'Cussler is hard to beat' Daily Mail

Black River

Black River

Author: Tom Harper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/02/2020

This unputdownable Amazonian adventure is perfect for fans of The Lost City of Z. 'The thinking person's Dan Brown' Tom Harper has taken you to the underworld. He's taken you to the Arctic. Now he's taking you to the deadliest jungle on earth. When Kel MacDonald joins an expedition looking for a legendary lost city in the Peruvian Amazon, he's expecting the adventure of a lifetime. But things are not what they seem. Paramilitaries, drug cartels, and wildcat prospectors all want what the jungle has to offer - while untamed local tribes will fight desperately to protect their way of life. Maps of the region have been doctored. And what exactly happened to the previous expedition, a government vaccination program that went upriver and never returned? Soon finding the lost city is the least of their troubles. The jungle hides deadly secrets that must be hidden at all costs. And someone in the group wants to make sure they never get out.

The Anthology Of Colonial Aust Adventure Fiction

The Anthology Of Colonial Aust Adventure Fiction

Author: Ken Gelder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/02/2020

Marauding bushrangers, lost explorers, mad shepherds, new chums and mounted troopers: these are some of the characters who populate the often perilous world of colonial Australian adventure fiction. Squatters defend their hard-earned properties from attack, while floods and other natural disasters threaten to wipe any trace of settlement away. Colonial Australian adventure fiction takes its characters on a journey into remote and unfamiliar territory, often in pursuit of wealth and well-being. But these journeys are invariably fraught with danger, and everything comes at a price. This anthology collects the best examples of colonial Australian adventure fiction, with stories by Ernest Favenc, Louis Becke, Rosa Praed, Guy Boothby, and many others. Also available in this series: The Anthology of Colonial Australian Gothic Fiction The Anthology of Colonial Australian Crime Fiction The Anthology of Colonial Australian Romance Fiction

Seal Team One A Novel

Seal Team One A Novel

Author: Dick Couch Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/02/2020

This now-classic tale of SEAL combat action in Vietnam marked Dick Couch's debut as a novelist in 1990 and sold more than 100,000 copies. Hailed for its authenticity, it was the first novel about Navy SEALs to be written by one of their own. Couch, a SEAL platoon leader in the Mekong Delta from 1970 to 1971, includes gripping descriptions of dangerous operations that continue to attract a broad audience, with many bestselling authors calling his book a sensational story they can't put down. This new paperback edition features a foreword by the former head of the Naval Special Warfare Command.

DC Comics novels - Harley Quinn: Mad Love

DC Comics novels - Harley Quinn: Mad Love

Author: Paul Dini, Pat Cadigan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/02/2020

The definitive story of Harley Quinn by her co-creator, Paul Dini, and Pat Cadigan, revealing the secrets of her history even as she seeks to kill Batman. When she was only seven years old, Harleen Quinzel witnessed her father being beaten up by thugs, and then arrested by the police. That night she ran away to the safest place she could think of: Coney Island amusement park. But there, pursued into the Funhouse by the men who brutalised her father, she beheld unimaginable horrors. Years later, Harleen has put her past behind her, and used her intelligence and ambition to escape her childhood of poverty with a career in psychiatry. Assigned to her first position at Arkham Hospital, she will discover, deep in the asylum, something dangerous and alluring, something quite unlike anything else she has ever known before: The Joker. Because why would you settle for love, when you could have MAD LOVE? From the moment that Harleen finds a rose on her desk, to the moment she dons her harlequin hat, this is the definitive story that chronicles the obsession, the burning desire, the manic laughter, and the birth of one of the most controversial and popular comic book supervillains ever created: Harley Quinn.

Submerged

Submerged

Author: Louis Wiid Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/02/2020

Twin Aces

Twin Aces

Author: REM . Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Twin Aces

Twin Aces

Author: REM . Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Happy New Year

Happy New Year

Author: Sarantos Sarantos Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2020

Emily of New Moon (100 Copy Collector's Edition)

Emily of New Moon (100 Copy Collector's Edition)

Author: L M Montgomery Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2020

Under False Colours A Nathaniel Drinkwater Novel

Under False Colours A Nathaniel Drinkwater Novel

Author: Richard Woodman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2020

Acting for the Admiralty's Secret Department, Captain Nathaniel Drinkwater advertises his cargo of Russian military stores, thus embarking on a scheme to flout Napoleon's Continental System and antagonize the French Emperor's new ally, Czar Alexander. Packed with exciting incident worthy of wide appeal to those who love thrilling nautical encounters and the sea. (Nautical Magazine) Much of the enjoyment of Under False Colours is the fact that Woodman writes with such authority. His mariner s lingo is flawless, and at times, the reader is befuddled with his sheer virtuosity in the area. But the action fills in the terms that the reader may be unaware of, and there is no doubt that Nathaniel Drinkwater rates up there with the best of the nautical world. (Midwest Book Review)