LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Adventure

See below for a selection of the latest books from Adventure category. Presented with a red border are the Adventure books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Adventure books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Four Symbols

The Four Symbols

Author: Giacometti, Ravenne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

From multi-million copy bestselling authors Giacometti & Ravenne comes a Nazi spy thriller for fans of Dan Brown, Steve Berry and Wilbur Smith I couldn't put it down ... the authors write like Dan Brown! -Anthony, 5-Star NetGalley reviewer *** RATED 5 STARS BY REAL READERS *** ***PREORDER BOOK 2, GOOD & EVIL, NOW *** A secret Nazi organisation. Four swastikas with occult powers. A spy. What readers think: I can't wait to read the next book in the series! -Sens Critique A spellbinding read from start to finish. -5-Star Amazon Review There are twists aplenty -5-Star Netgalley Review A real page turner. -Art Six Mic If you like books with lots of action and cliff hangers, this is for you. -5-Star Netgalley Review The authors' best book so far. -5-Star Amazon Review A book full of action and mystery. -Au Detour d'un Livre In a Europe on the verge of collapse, the Nazi organisation Ahnenerbe is pillaging sacred landmarks across the world. Their aim is to collect treasures with occult powers, which will help them establish the Third Reich. The organisation's head, Himmler, has sent SS officers to search a forgotten sanctuary in the Himalayas, while he tries to track down a mysterious painting. Which ancient power do the Nazis believe they hold the key to? Meanwhile, in London, Churchill has discovered that the war against Germany will also be a spiritual one: their light must fight the occult if they are to win . . .

Tree Slayer

Tree Slayer

Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2020

Into Africa

Into Africa

Author: Kerry McDonald, Bob Coles Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/08/2020

Tom Clancy's Firing Point

Tom Clancy's Firing Point

Author: Mike Maden Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/08/2020

PRE-ORDER THE LATEST ELECTRIC THRILLER IN TOM CLANCY'S NO. 1 BESTSELLING JACK RYAN SERIES Jack Ryan - out to avenge the murder of an old friend - finds himself in deep trouble fast . . . During a well-earned break, Jack Ryan Jr runs into old flame Renee Moore in a scenic Barcelona cafe. But Renee is not so pleased to see him. Distracted, she says she's waiting for someone and can't talk. She promises to call him later, and sends him out onto the street. Which is when the bomb goes off. There's nothing he can do to save Renee. But as he cradles her, she utters one last word with her final breath: 'Sammler' Who did she mean? What did she know? And what trouble had Renee got herself into? When every thread Jack pulls threatens to make the situation ever more dangerous, he realises he's stumbled into an international conspiracy that might be more than even he can handle. Because Renee isn't the first to die. And she won't be the last . . . _____________ Praise for Tom Clancy: 'Constantly taps the current world situation for its imminent dangers and spins them into an engrossing tale' New York Times 'Heart-stopping action . . . entertaining and eminently topical' Washington Post 'A virtuoso display of page-turning talent' Sunday Express 'Theres hardly another thriller writer alive who can fuel an adrenaline surge the way Clancy can' Daily Mail

The Unseen Art of Hollywood Storyboards

The Unseen Art of Hollywood Storyboards

Author: Trevor Goring, Joyce Goring, Trevor Goring Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/08/2020

Comic book and storyboard artist Trevor Goring and his partner, the late Joyce Kaskey Goring details the history of film storyboards. This important and long-neglected art is now given its due with this comprehensive history of the art of film storyboards

The Saboteurs

The Saboteurs

Author: Clive Cussler, Jack B. Du Brul Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/08/2020

*PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY NOW* Isaac Bell returns for another thrilling mission in a new book from the Grand Master of Adventure, Clive Cussler Detective Isaac Bell's wife has said that he is always in the wrong place at the right time. This is certainly the case when Bell thwarts the attempted assassination of a United States Senator shortly after meeting the man. This heroic rescue is just the start of the mystery for Bell, who suspects that the would-be assassins have a much larger and more dangerous agenda--one involving the nearly constructed Panama Canal. While the Senator supports the building of the canal, there are many, including a local Panamanian insurgency known as the Red Vipers, who never want to see the its completion. With millions of dollars and the fates of two nations at stake, Bell heads to Panama to find answers. After a deadly bombing at the Canal's construction site, he is determined to stop the insurgents--or whoever is funding them--before they can attack again. ____________________ Praise for Clive Cussler 'The Adventure King' Sunday Express 'Cussler is hard to beat' Daily Mail 'Nobody does it better . . . nobody!' Stephen Coonts 'Just about the best storyteller in the business' New York Post

Marah Chase and the Fountain of Youth

Marah Chase and the Fountain of Youth

Author: Jay Stringer Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/08/2020

Adventurer Marah Chase can't resist one last globe-trotting quest to rescue a friend and discover a legendary locale. Marah Chase has everything she wanted. Her academic career is back on track, she's moved into a Manhattan apartment, and a dream job is waiting at the American Museum of Natural History. So why can't she seem to stop slipping into her old ways, traveling the world in search of lost relics and buried treasure? Back out in the field, Chase finds the lost Ark of the Covenant, a discovery that could trigger a holy war, as religions and nations argue over ownership of the sacred item. The Ark also brings Chase into conflict with another legendary relic runner, August Nash, a clash the entire underground smuggling community has been waiting for, and not one that will end anytime soon. Upon returning home, Chase is hired by US soda billionaire Lauren Stanford to find the Fountain of Youth. At first, Chase dismisses this idea. But then Stanford tells her that an old friend found some information on the Fountain's location and is now missing. Chase agrees to take the job-but only to find her friend-and enlists allies along the way on a trail from New York to London, and then on to Glasgow. Behind the myth, they find, lies a much older secret, and now they're in a race to find the Fountain ahead of Nash and his nefarious cohorts. Whoever gets there first will have control over the future of humanity. Marah Chase and the Fountain of Youth is a tense, exciting, and epic adventure novel, spanning three continents and broadening the world of the Marah Chase series, placing Chase in the unique position to confront questions of identity, faith, imperialism, and appropriation.

The Hollow Land

The Hollow Land

Author: Jane Gardam Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/08/2020

'Her territory isn't young or old; it's the heart-and brain-matter of people, their desires and worries and fantasies and intricate interactions. All of this is set capably against a particular landscape, and the result tends to be vivid and real. Beautiful, like Willa Cather' Meg Wolitzer, New York Times The barren, beautiful Cumbrian fells provide the bewitching setting for the adventures of Bill and Harry, two children who find wonder at every turn as they experience the Hollow Land. Everyday challenges give a daring edge to this rural work and play. There are mysteries to explore and uncover , like the case of the Egg Witch, and everyone is curious about the Household Name, a visitor from London, moving into the jewel of the territory, Light Farm. Gardam is at her best with this novel, which won the Whitbread award in 1981.

Marvel's Avengers: The Extinction Key

Marvel's Avengers: The Extinction Key

Author: Greg Keyes Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/08/2020

The official prequel to Marvel's Avengers from Marvel, Crystal Dynamics, Eidos Montreal, and Square Enix, with an exclusive adventure that leads into the game itself. The official prequel to the blockbuster action video game Marvel's Avengers, written by bestselling author Greg Keyes. The game is being developed by Crystal Dynamics, Eidos Montreal, Nixxes, and published by Square Enix. It will be released May 15, 2020 for PlayStation 4, Xbox, Stadia, and PC. Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Black Widow, and the Hulk. Earth's Mightiest Heroes have assembled to face world-class threats whenever and wherever they might appear. They are the AVENGERS. Yet some threats transcend the ages. Centuries ago, a never before seen group of heroes gathered as the Avengers of their ancient era to fight the Zodiac, foes who wielded unimaginable arcane energies channeled through a mysterious Key. The resulting battle devastated vast swaths of the planet. The Key was lost and the Zodiac went into hiding, influencing world events from the shadows, waiting for the stars to align to usher in their return. When strange beings exhibiting the traits of the twelve astrological signs appear in the 21st century, the Avengers again answer the call to assemble. But when this modern team of heroes are forced to divide their efforts, each encounter leads to their opponents gaining strength. Once again, the hunt is on for the Extinction Key...and if the Avengers don't find it, our world will be lost.

The First Sister

The First Sister

Author: Linden Lewis Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/08/2020

FIRST SISTER HAS NO NAME, AND NO VOICE She's a priestess of the Sisterhood, traveling the stars alongside the soldiers of Earth who own the rights to her body and soul. When her former captain abandons her, First Sister's hopes for freedom are dashed and she is forced to stay on her ship with no friends, no status, and a new captain she knows nothing about. When the Mother, leader of her order, asks her to spy on Captain Saito Ren, First Sister discovers that sacrificing for the war effort is so much harder to do when your loyalties are split. LITO VAL LUCIUS HAS NO FAITH, AND NO LOYALTY. He climbed his way out of the slums to become an elite soldier of Venus, but now he's haunted by his failures and the loss of his partner Hiro. But when Lito learns that Hiro is alive, but a traitor, and he's assigned to hunt Hiro down, and kill them, Lito must decide what he is actually fighting for - the society that raised him, or himself. As the battle to control Ceres reaches a head, Lito and First Sister must decide what - and whom - they are willing to sacrifice in the name of duty, or for love.

Spirit Walker: The Lost Treasure of Lima

Spirit Walker: The Lost Treasure of Lima

Author: Kerry McDonald, Frederick Crook Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/07/2020