LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Political / legal thriller

See below for a selection of the latest books from Political / legal thriller category. Presented with a red border are the Political / legal thriller books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Political / legal thriller books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

True West

True West

Author: David Whish-Wilson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2020

Ways To Hide In Winter

Ways To Hide In Winter

Author: Sarah St. Vincent Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/01/2020

Silent Threat

Silent Threat

Author: Jeffrey Gunhus Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/12/2019

The Inquiry

The Inquiry

Author: Will Caine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/12/2019

Knowledge of these files is classified. You must not use police or intelligence services to carry out your investigation. Those channels are compromised. A final warning: you must move fast. Former MP Francis Morahan swore never to return to politics. But when he's asked to chair a government inquiry into the intelligence agencies' record against terror, it's clear that it's an order from the top - not a request. Sara Shah once teetered on the edge of a dangerous circle. Now a lawyer in a prestigious London firm, she's put her past behind her. Until a letter delivered by hand summons her to join the Morahan Inquiry. Duty-bound, Sara accepts. Armed only with a list of names, dodging her one-time connection to the networks she infiltrates, she finds herself led by an anonymous source into the darkest corners of post-9/11 Britain. What, or who, was the weapon at the heart of British terror? IT IS A SECRET SOME WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO KEEP HIDDEN. Westminster's best-kept secrets are hunted down in this edge-of-your-seat political thriller - perfect for fans of Sam Bourne, Frank Gardner and Mick Herron.

Secret Service

Secret Service

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/12/2019

_______________________ A Sunday Times top 10 bestseller, Secret Service is a fresh-from-the-headlines thriller for fans of Homeland, Crisis and The Bodyguard. ______________________ The world is on the brink of crisis. The Cold War is playing out once more on the global stage. The Worlds' governments will do whatever it takes to stay at the top... ______________________ To those who don't really know her, Kate Henderson's life must seem perfectly ordinary. But she is in fact a senior MI6 officer, who right now is nursing the political equivalent of a nuclear bomb. Kate's most recent mission has yielded the startling intelligence that the British Prime Minister has cancer - and that one of the leading candidates to replace him may be a Russian agent of influence. Up against the clock to uncover the Russian mole, Kate risks everything to get to the truth. But with her reputation to uphold, her family hanging by a thread and a leadership election looming, she is quickly running out of options, and out of time.

The Twentieth Man

The Twentieth Man

Author: Tony Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/12/2019

He was the only one left alive; now it was his turn to die. In September 1972, journalist Anna Rosen takes an early morning phone call from her boss at the ABC, telling her about two bombings in Sydney's busy CBD. It's the worst terrorist attack in the country's history and Anna has no doubt which group is responsible for the carnage. She has been investigating the role of alleged war criminals in the globally active Ustasha movement. High in the Austrian Alps, Marin Katich is one of twenty would-be revolutionaries who slip stealthily over the border into Yugoslavia on a mission planned and funded in Australia. It will have devastating consequences for all involved. Soon the arrival in Australia of Yugoslavia's prime minister will trigger the next move in a deadly international struggle. Tony Jones, one of Australia's most admired journalists, has written a brilliantly compelling thriller, taking us from the savage mountains of Yugoslavia to Canberra's brutal yet covert power struggles in a novel that's intelligent, informed and utterly suspenseful.

The Guardians

The Guardians

Author: John Grisham Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/11/2019

John Grisham delivers a classic legal thriller--with a twist. In the small Florida town of Seabrook, a young lawyer named Keith Russo was shot dead at his desk as he worked late one night. The killer left no clues. There were no witnesses, no one with a motive. But the police soon came to suspect Quincy Miller, a young black man who was once a client of Russo's. Quincy was tried, convicted, and sent to prison for life. For twenty-two years he languished in prison, maintaining his innocence. But no one was listening. He had no lawyer, no advocate on the outside. In desperation, he writes a letter to Guardian Ministries, a small nonprofit run by Cullen Post, a lawyer who is also an Episcopal minister. Guardian accepts only a few innocence cases at a time. Cullen Post travels the country fighting wrongful convictions and taking on clients forgotten by the system. With Quincy Miller, though, he gets far more than he bargained for. Powerful, ruthless people murdered Keith Russo, and they do not want Quincy Miller exonerated. They killed one lawyer twenty-two years ago, and they will kill another without a second thought.

No Way to Die A Cal Claxton Oregon Mystery

No Way to Die A Cal Claxton Oregon Mystery

Author: Warren C. Easley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2019

El Paso Sunrise

El Paso Sunrise

Author: Louis Bodnar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/10/2019

Depicts the corruption of America's Federal Government and outside threats to its national security. Depicts the good and evil in today's American society. Shows that addictions can be overcome by free will and God's Grace. Shows the importance of healthy friendships and human relationships. Shows the absolute power of God and His Son, Jesus Christ, to deliver humanity from evil and sin.

Scotched Nation

Scotched Nation

Author: Andrew Scott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/10/2019

Man on Ice

Man on Ice

Author: Humphrey Hawksley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Special agent Captain Rake Ozenna watches as a fleet of Russian military helicopters heads straight for his home, a remote Alaskan island with a population of just eighty. What he doesn't know yet is why. Russia is playing a dangerous political game. In a daring act of provocation, it reclaims the American island as its own. Caught in the crosshairs of sabre-rattling big powers, Rake is determined to save his people and his island, even if it costs him his life.

From the Grave

From the Grave

Author: Jay Brandon Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/09/2019