LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Political / legal thriller

See below for a selection of the latest books from Political / legal thriller category. Presented with a red border are the Political / legal thriller books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Political / legal thriller books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Progressive Reports A Manual for the Destruction of American Values and Christian Morality

The Progressive Reports A Manual for the Destruction of American Values and Christian Morality

Author: Frank J. Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

A satirical series of reports from a young progressive student to the DNC, outlining ways to undermine the conservative movement and create a progressive nation. The Progressive Reports is comprised of a series of nine commentaries written to the Democratic National Committee by David Gore, a fictitious progressive college student. These commentaries analyze social identity, morality, religion, science, rights, and the English language. David is angered by the activities of his university's chapter of College Republicans and the way they are advancing the conservative cause in an area that has long been the acknowledged territory of the progressive movement. His goal is to use the lessons he has learned, as well as his observations of conservative students, to guide the country toward a more progressive future. He contrasts his own beliefs with those of a notable conservative student at his university, referred to only as FJC. An homage to C. S. Lewis's timeless classic, The Progressive Reports provides an understanding of the tactics used by the American Left through the lens of their own-ultimately flawed-thought process in a form and style resembling The Screwtape Letters. It brings the reader face-to-face with the threats progressivism poses to our country.

Cheap Heat

Cheap Heat

Author: Daniel M. Ford Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2020

Elixir

Elixir

Author: Charles Atkins Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/04/2020

The Gilded Age A Tale of Today

The Gilded Age A Tale of Today

Author: Mark Twain Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2020

Sri Lanka A Novel

Sri Lanka A Novel

Author: Stephen Holgate Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/04/2020

A chance meeting at a dinner party in Paris turns the life of Philip Reid, an aging and cynical American diplomat, upside down, sending him back more than twenty years to when he had been a younger and better man. In those days, for a brief moment, Bandula, scion of the island's most powerful family, had been Philip's closest friend. Now, he finds his onetime companion bitter and humbled by life. In a tale marked by terrorist bombings, political assassination, romance, and intrigue, we follow the tragedies that lead Bandula to a life in exile and Philip to the attainment of dreams that lose their meaning even in the moment of their fulfillment. In their serendipitous meeting, both men gain a chance at redeeming the past.

Power Play

Power Play

Author: Tony Kent Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/04/2020

THE ENEMIES AREN'T AT THE GATE; THEY'RE ALREADY INSIDE; The pulse-pounding new thriller from crime fiction's major new star: Richard & Judy and Zoe Ball Book Club author, Tony Kent.; When a plane explodes over the Atlantic Ocean, killing hundreds of passengers, including controversial US presidential candidate Dale Victor, it appears to be a clear-cut case of terrorism. The suspect has even confessed to the bombing. But as criminal barrister Michael Devlin is about to discover, everything is not as it seems.; Also suspecting there are other forces at work, intelligence agent Joe Dempsey is driven to investigate. Who would have wanted Victor out of the way - and would commit mass murder to do it? As the evidence begins to mount, everything seems to point to the US government itself, all the way to the top. And now someone is determined to stop Dempsey and Devlin from discovering the truth. At any cost.; With countless more lives on the line, Dempsey must find a way to prove who's pulling the strings, and free the White House from the deadly grip that has taken hold of power.; ------------------------; Praise for MARKED FOR DEATH and KILLER INTENT:; 'Gripping' - IAN RANKIN; 'A compelling combination of political drama and lethal action. There are echoes of Michael Dobbs's House of Cards but there is more derring-do in Kent's twisty tale' - DAILY MAIL; 'Cleverly plotted and scarily plausible' - DAILY EXPRESS

Bandwagon

Bandwagon

Author: Richard Cobourne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/03/2020

Life hasn't turned out how Danny Owen expected it to. Formerly an investigative journalist, today a radio reporter reluctantly covering celebrity and the music industry, focusing on glitz, glamour and the gaudy stars. Danny is offered an exclusive interview with Martha, the star of the forthcoming Martha Movin' Out tour, but when he arrives at Elstree Studios he discovers that rehearsals are not going well. Not suspicious initially, but then things take a dire turn when he learns that Martha has disappeared. With the concert tour potentially in ruins, Danny and occasional lover Daisy DeVilliers, the tour's PR, team up beyond the call of duty in an effort to find Martha and rescue the tour. Soon Danny and Daisy are unwittingly inveigled into the murky world of people smuggling, blackmail and international organised crime. They pick their way through a minefield where one wrong move could not only blow the rescue attempts but could also end their own lives. In a duplicitous world where people show only their best side, trusting the wrong person could be the last thing they ever do.

Beneath the Streets

Beneath the Streets

Author: Adam Macqueen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/03/2020

It is February 1976, and the naked corpse of a shockingly underage rent boy is fished out of a pond on Hampstead Heath. Since the police don't seem to care, twenty-year-old Tommy Wildeblood - himself a former `Dilly boy' prostitute - finds himself investigating. Dodging murderous Soho hoodlums and the agents of a more sinister power, Tommy uncovers another, even more shocking crime: the Liberal leader and likely next Home Secretary, Jeremy Thorpe, has had his former male lover executed on Exmoor and got clean away with it. Now the trail of guilt seems to lead higher still, and a ruthless Establishment will stop at nothing to cover its tracks. In a gripping thriller whose cast of real-life characters includes Prime Minister Harold Wilson, his senior adviser Lady Falkender, gay Labour peer Tom Driberg and the investigative journalist Paul Foot, Adam Macqueen plays `what if' with Seventies political history - with a sting in the tail that reminds us that the truth can be just as chilling as fiction.

Our War A Novel

Our War A Novel

Author: Craig DiLouie, Craig DiLouie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/02/2020

A prescient and gripping novel about a brother and sister forced to fight on opposite sides of a second American civil war. After his impeachment, the president of the United States refuses to leave office, fracturing the country. When a UNICEF worker and a reporter discover that both sides of the conflict are using child soldiers, they set out to shine a light on something they thought could never happen in the United States. 10-year-old Hannah Miller, an orphan living in besieged Indianapolis, has joined a citizen's militia. She had nowhere else to go. And after seeing the firsthand horrors of war, she's determined to fight with the Free Women militia. Hannah's older brother, Alex, is a soldier too. But he's loyal to the other side. After being separated from Hannah, he finds a home in a group calling themselves The Liberty Tree. But on the battlefields of America, Hannah and Alex will fight for the only cause that matters - each other.

Open Carry

Open Carry

Author: Marc Cameron Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/02/2020

Promised Land

Promised Land

Author: Robert Whitlow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

With historical mysteries, religious intrigue, and political danger, Promised Land asks one momentous question: What if your calling puts you-and your family-in the crosshairs? Despite their Israeli citizenship, Hana and Daud cannot safely return to their homeland because a dangerous terrorist ring is threatening Daud. Hana is perfectly fine remaining in the United States, working for a law firm in Atlanta, especially when she learns she's pregnant. But Daud can't shake the draw to return home to Israel, even if it makes him a walking target. Hana is helping her boss plan a huge Middle East summit in Atlanta when Jakob Brodsky, her old friend and former co-litigator, asks for her help with a case. His client is attempting to recover ancient artifacts stolen from his Jewish great-grandfather by a Soviet colonel at the end of World War II. Because the case crosses several national borders, he needs Hana's knowledge and skill to get to the bottom of what happened to these precious artifacts. Meanwhile, Daud is called in to help a US intelligence agency extract a Ukrainian doctor from a dangerous situation in Egypt. While overseas, he can't resist the call of Jerusalem and thus sets off a series of events that puts thousands of people in danger, including his wife and unborn child. Bestselling author Robert Whitlow explores the meaning of family and home-and how faith forms the identity of both-in this breathtaking sequel to Chosen People. Praise for Promised Land: Promised Land is a book about coming home. Of becoming settled in your spirit and your relationships. With layers of intensity, thanks to international intrigue, moments of legal wrangling, and pages of sweet relationships, this book is rich and complex. A wonderful read. -Cara Putman, author of Flight Risk

Poison

Poison

Author: Jacqui Rose Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

The heart-racing new gangland thriller from bestselling author Jacqui Rose. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers' The Sting and Martina Cole. THERE ARE SOME PEOPLE YOU SHOULD NEVER CROSS In a life of crime, loyalty means everything - even if you don't always see eye to eye. But when Vaughn Sadler speaks up to get Franny Doyle sent down, he's broken every rule in the book to win checkmate. AND OTHERS YOU SHOULDN'T UNDERESTIMATE... Holed up in prison, Franny has more than one score to settle - but she's starting with Vaughn. Because you don't grass on your own, no matter what. And though she may be behind bars, she will get revenge - whatever the cost. Before, there was just bad blood running through her veins. But now, there is poison...