LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Espionage & spy thriller

See below for a selection of the latest books from Espionage & spy thriller category. Presented with a red border are the Espionage & spy thriller books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Espionage & spy thriller books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

SS-GB

SS-GB

Author: Len Deighton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

Deighton's classic thriller was the first and certainly greatest what-if? novel about the Second World War. In February 1941 British Command surrendered to the Nazis. Churchill has been executed, the King is in the Tower and the SS are in Whitehall... For nine months Britain has been occupied - a blitzed, depressed and dingy country. However, it s business as usual at Scotland Yard run by the SS when Detective Inspector Archer is assigned to a routine murder case. Life must go on. But when SS Standartenfuhrer Huth arrives from Berlin with orders from the great Himmler himself to supervise the investigation, the resourceful Archer finds himself caught up in a high level, all action, espionage battle.

The Mission Song

The Mission Song

Author: John le Carre Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/05/2021

'Mesmerising' Sunday Times As an interpreter of African languages, Bruno Salvador is much in demand. He makes it a principle to remain neutral - no matter what he hears. But when he is summoned on a secret job for British Intelligence, he is told he will have to get his hands dirty. His mission is to help bring democracy to the Congo - democracy that will be delivered at the end of a gun barrel. The Mission Song is an excoriating depiction of a corrupt world where loyalty can be bought and war is simply an opportunity to settle old scores. 'Simply astonishing ... a formidably sophisticated work of fiction' Charles Cumming

Winter

Winter

Author: Len Deighton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

Horse Under Water

Horse Under Water

Author: Len Deighton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

The dead hand of a long-defeated Nazi Third Reich reaches out to Portugal, London and Marrakech in Deighton's second novel, featuring the same anonymous narrator and milieu of The IPCRESS File, but finds Dawlish now head of the secret British Intelligence unit, WOOC(P). The IPCRESS File was a debut sensation. Here in the second Secret File, Horse under Water, skin-diving, drug trafficking and blackmail all feature in a curious story in which the dead hand of a long-defeated Hitler-Germany reaches out to Portugal, London and Marrakech, and to all the neo-Nazis of today's Europe. The detail is frightening but unfaultable; the story as up to date as ever it was. The unnamed hero of The IPCRESS File the same: insolent, fallible, capricious - in other words, human. But he must draw on all his abilities, good and bad, when plunged into a story of murder, betrayal and greed every bit as murky as the waters off the coast of Portugal, where the answers lie buried.

Funeral in Berlin

Funeral in Berlin

Author: Len Deighton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

Len Deighton's third novel has become a classic, as compelling and suspenseful now as when it first exploded on to the bestseller lists. In Berlin, where neither side of the wall is safe, Colonel Stok of Red Army Security is prepared to sell an important Russian scientist to the West - for a price. British intelligence are willing to pay, providing their own top secret agent is in Berlin to act as go-between. But it soon becomes apparent that behind the facade of an elaborate mock funeral lies a game of deadly manoeuvres and ruthless tactics. A game in which the blood-stained legacy of Nazi Germany is enmeshed in the intricate moves of cold war espionage...

Saint Death

Saint Death

Author: Mark Dawson Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/04/2021

John Milton has been off the grid for six months. He surfaces in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, and immediately finds himself drawn into a vicious battle with the narco-gangs that control the borderlands. Milton saves the life of an idealistic young journalist who has been targeted for execution but the only way to keep her safe is to smuggle her into Texas. Working with the only untouchable cops in the city, and a bounty hunter whose motives are unclear, Milton must keep her safe until the crossing can be made. But when the man looking for her is the legendary assassin Santa Muerta - Saint Death - that's a lot easier said than done...

Billion-Dollar Brain

Billion-Dollar Brain

Author: Len Deighton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

The classic spy thriller of lethal computer-age intrigue and a maniac's private cold war, featuring the same anonymous narrator and milieu of The IPCRESS File. The fourth of Deighton's novels to be narrated by the unnamed employee of WOOC(P) is the thrilling story of an anti-communist espionage network owned by a Texan billionaire, General Midwinter, run from a vast computer complex known as the Brain. After having been recruited by Harvey Newbegin, the narrator travels from the bone-freezing winter of Helsinki, Riga and Leningrad, to the stifling heat of Texas, and soon finds himself tangling with enemies on both sides of the Iron Curtain.

The IPCRESS File

The IPCRESS File

Author: Len Deighton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

The IPCRESS File was not only Len Deighton's first novel, it was his first bestseller and the book that broke the mould of thriller writing. For the working class narrator, an apparently straightforward mission to find a missing biochemist becomes a journey to the heart of a dark and deadly conspiracy. The film of The IPCRESS File gave Michael Caine one of his first and still most celebrated starring roles, while the novel itself has become a classic.

Saint Death

Saint Death

Author: Mark Dawson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

John Milton has been off the grid for six months. He surfaces in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, and immediately finds himself drawn into a vicious battle with the narco-gangs that control the borderlands. Milton saves the life of an idealistic young journalist who has been targeted for execution but the only way to keep her safe is to smuggle her into Texas. Working with the only untouchable cops in the city, and a bounty hunter whose motives are unclear, Milton must keep her safe until the crossing can be made. But when the man looking for her is the legendary assassin Santa Muerta - Saint Death - that's a lot easier said than done...

The Old Enemy

The Old Enemy

Author: Henry Porter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/04/2021

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from 'An espionage master' (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre Ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson prefers to work privately these days. He has been tasked with guarding a young woman, Zoe Freemantle. He doesn't know who she is, or why she's important, but the money's good enough for him not to dig too deeply. He shadows Zoe, first becoming intrigued with this striking woman as he observes her movements around London. He's just beginning to tire of a job he considers beneath him, when a watcher disguised as a homeless man attempts to abduct Zoe at knife point before his eyes. In the ensuing fracas, she escapes, while Samson wishes he'd asked more questions. When his former colleague, Robert Harland, is assassinated, the news comes with the threat that Samson's own life - and that of others he holds dear - is on the line. Samson is sure he knows why there's a target on his back. What he doesn't know is who put it there - the Americans or the Russians? Two things quickly become clear. One, it was a big mistake to lose Zoe Freemantle. And two, Robert Harland, ever the consummate spy, has one final, crucial part to play from beyond the grave.

The Old Enemy

The Old Enemy

Author: Henry Porter Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/04/2021

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from 'An espionage master' (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre Ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson prefers to work privately these days. He has been tasked with guarding a young woman, Zoe Freemantle. He doesn't know who she is, or why she's important, but the money's good enough for him not to dig too deeply. He shadows Zoe, first becoming intrigued with this striking woman as he observes her movements around London. He's just beginning to tire of a job he considers beneath him, when a watcher disguised as a homeless man attempts to abduct Zoe at knife point before his eyes. In the ensuing fracas, she escapes, while Samson wishes he'd asked more questions. When his former colleague, Robert Harland, is assassinated, the news comes with the threat that Samson's own life - and that of others he holds dear - is on the line. Samson is sure he knows why there's a target on his back. What he doesn't know is who put it there - the Americans or the Russians? Two things quickly become clear. One, it was a big mistake to lose Zoe Freemantle. And two, Robert Harland, ever the consummate spy, has one final, crucial part to play from beyond the grave.

A Double Life

A Double Life

Author: Charlotte Philby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/04/2021

The Times Thrillers of the Year 2020 'Superbly crafted with heart-stopping twists and chills galore. A new star has arrived in the thriller firmament' The Times, Book of the Month Gabriela is a senior negotiator in the Foreign Office. When she returns to her young family after a seven-month stint in Moscow, something doesn't seem right. Isobel is a journalist on the local paper in Camden. After witnessing a violent attack, she starts to investigate. But someone saw her watching, and is making themselves known in increasingly frightening ways. As Gabriela's life begins to unravel, Isobel gets closer to the truth, and the two women's lives converge in this deeply chilling examination of deceit.