LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical mysteries

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical mysteries category. Presented with a red border are the Historical mysteries books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical mysteries books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Scandal in Babylon

Scandal in Babylon

Author: Barbara Hambly Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/06/2021

Slaughter in the Sapperton Tunnel

Slaughter in the Sapperton Tunnel

Author: Edward (Author) Marston Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/06/2021

Disaster strikes at the Sapperton Tunnel in Gloucestershire when a goods train collides with an unusual blockage on the line: seven sheep penned onto the tracks. Specially requested to investigate the carnage, Inspector Colbeck and Sergeant Leeming are confronted with a bizarre case unlike anything they've encountered before. Stephen Rydall, board member of the Great Western Railway that manages the route, is convinced this tragedy is a personal attack on him and fears for the safety of his shepherd, missing since the incident. Rydall has many enemies but, as Colbeck will soon discover, the man also has a closely guarded secret of his own...

Loch Down Abbey

Loch Down Abbey

Author: Beth Cowan-Erskine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

'Perfect if you loved THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB' - reader review It's the 1930s and a mysterious illness is spreading over Scotland. But the noble and ancient family of Inverkillen, residents of Loch Down Abbey, are much more concerned with dwindling toilet roll supplies and who will look after the children now that Nanny has regretfully (and most inconveniently) departed this life. Then Lord Inverkillen, Earl and head of the family, is found dead in mysterious circumstances. The inspector declares it an accident but Mrs MacBain, the head housekeeper, isn't so convinced. As no one is allowed in or out because of the illness, the residents of the house - both upstairs and downstairs - are the only suspects. With the Earl's own family too busy doing what can only be described as nothing, she decides to do some digging - in between chores, of course - and in doing so uncovers a whole host of long-hidden secrets, lies and betrayals that will alter the dynamics of the household for ever. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Agatha Christie and Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, LOCH DOWN ABBEY is a playful, humorous mystery that will keep you glued to the page! READERS LOVE LOCH DOWN ABBEY! 'Beautifully written . . . this is a joyous read that will stay with me for a long time' - 5 STARS 'The ending took me completely by surprise but in the best way' - 5 STARS 'If you want to escape for a while, this is definitely a good book for that' - 5 STARS Tthis very funny and unputdownable novel is a sure winner from start to finish! To be enjoyed without moderation.' - 5 STARS 'It's amazing what secrets are hidden . . . Excellent :)' - 5 STARS

In the Shadow of the Fire

In the Shadow of the Fire

Author: Herve Le Corre Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

A breathless criminal investigation against the bloody canvas of the French Revolution The Paris Commune's bloody week sees the climax of the savagery of the clashes between the Communards and the French Armed Forces loyal to Versailles. Amid the shrapnel and the chaos, while the entire west side of Paris is a field of ruins, a photographer fascinated by the suffering of young women takes suggestive photos to sell to a particular clientele. Young women begin disappearing, and when Caroline, a seamstress who volunteers at a first aid station, is counted among the missing, her fiance Nicolas, a member of the Commune's National Guard, and Communal security officer Antoine, sets off independently in search of her. Their race against the clock to find her takes them through the shell-shocked streets of Paris, and introduces them to a cast of fascinating characters.

The House of Lamentations

The House of Lamentations

Author: S. G. MacLean Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

'One of the best historical crime series out there' Crime Review 'Could challenge CJ Sansom for dominion' Sunday Times Summer, 1658, and the Republic may finally be safe: the combined Stuart and Spanish forces have been heavily defeated by the English and French armies on the coast of Flanders, and the King's cause appears finished. Yet one final, desperate throw of the dice is planned. And who can stop them if not Captain Damian Seeker? The final gripping book in this acclaimed and award-winning series of historical thrillers. Will Seeker's legacy endure?

The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree

Author: M. R. C. Kasasian Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Pitch-perfect World War Two crime for fans of Agatha Christie and Jasper Fforde. Detective Betty Church is forced to revisit ghosts from her past when a skeleton is found buried in the woods. July, 1914: Sixteen-year-old Etterly, running from something, hides inside the trunk of a tree and disappears. The police search but find no trace. Her family and friends wrack their brains, but come up with nothing. And so slowly life returns to normal. The hole in the tree is boarded up and the town of Sackwater moves on. Only Etterly's best friend, Betty, clings to hope, insisting she can hear her friend crying for help. June, 1940: A skeleton is discovered buried in the woods. Though most clues have long since decayed, it is wearing an unusual necklace. As soon as Inspector Betty Church sees the evidence she recognises it. The necklace belonged to Etterly. Fearing the worst, Betty is determined to solve this strange case once and for all. What happened to Etterly? And why has this secret remained buried for so long?

Castle Shade

Castle Shade

Author: Laurie R. (Author) King Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/06/2021

The queen is Marie of Roumania: the royal granddaughter to Victoria, Empress of the British Empire, and Alexander II, Tsar of Russia. A famous beauty who has single-handedly transformed Roumania from a backwater into a force to be reckoned with. The castle is Bran: an ancient structure on the border with the newly regained territory of Transylvania, a gift to Queen Marie from her people. The threat is ... less clear. Shadowy figures, vague whispers, dangers that may only be accidents. When Queen Marie calls, Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes are as dubious as they are reluctant. But a young girl is involved, and a beautiful queen. Putting aside their doubts, Russell and Holmes are drawn into a mystery in a land of long memory and hidden corners, a land that had known Vlad the Impaler, a land from whose churchyards the shades creep.

The Menagerie

The Menagerie

Author: Judy Willmore Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/06/2021

Death Comes Hot

Death Comes Hot

Author: Michael Jecks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/05/2021

The Doom List

The Doom List

Author: Gerard O'Donovan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/05/2021

House of the Patriarch

House of the Patriarch

Author: Barbara Hambly Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/05/2021

The Sign of the Gallows

The Sign of the Gallows

Author: Susanna Calkins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/05/2021