LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical mysteries

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical mysteries category. Presented with a red border are the Historical mysteries books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical mysteries books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Moriarty

Moriarty

Author: John Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/08/2009

Bestselling British novelist John Gardner published two books purporting to be the true history of Professor James Moriarty, archenemy of Sherlock Holmes, the Napoleon of crime. The books - The Return of Moriarty and The Revenge of Moriarty - were praised as stand-alone volumes set in a vividly accurate Victorian London and a stunning vision of the underworld of the time, inhabited by the kind of men and women who lived and preyed on the society of the late 19th century. Now it is the turn of the century and Moriarty has been away from London for several years, realizing his plans to set up crime syndicates in major U. S. cities. He is suddenly called back to London where his vast criminal society has been overrun by a rival concern led by the shadowy Sir Jordan 'Mad Jack' de Levant - a supposed gentleman hoodlum who is acting on behalf of the leaders of well-known criminal elements in France, Italy, Spain and Germany. Moriarty lives again and revolts against the upstart criminals who have attempted to oust him from his rightful place as king of all criminal endeavour.

The Darkening Glass (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 3)

The Darkening Glass (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 3)

Author: Paul Doherty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/08/2009

Mathilde of Westminster must face a dangerous foe in the third novel in Paul Doherty's acclaimed series. March 1312 and England is divided. Edward II is in conflict with his barons over royal favourite Gaveston, and Queen Isabella is momentously pregnant with the first union of Plantagenet and Capetian blood. Meanwhile, rebel Robert Bruce prowls the Scottish border seeking advancement. Mathilde of Westminster senses a challenge for the throne is imminent. When the great Earls step up their campaign, the King and Queen are forced to flee to a fortified priory in Tynemouth, now vulnerable to the Scottish marauders on land and Bruce's allies at sea. With threats all around, the royal party can only despair when one of their camp is murdered. Will Mathilde be able to find the perpetrator before the King loses control of the throne?

Divine Blood

Divine Blood

Author: Andrea H. Japp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2009

Where friend and foe are hard to tell apart, few are truly who they seem and all have something to hide. Who is the poisoner at Clairets Abbey? Where is the sacred papyrus to be found? And what is the link to the Vatican and the King of France? 'Five women, in the centre the sixth' are the enigmatic words foretelling Agnes's destiny. But as events come to a head, will she continue to live simply as a woman of her time or fulfil the role that has been prophesied?

The Bear Pit

The Bear Pit

Author: Andrew Barlow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/07/2009

This is a Royal murder mystery set in the early 15th century. England's princes are portrayed as born in a 'Bear Pit' in the ruthless struggle for power, and this book explodes the romantic myth of the age of chivalry. Betrayal and rebellion, murder and revenge, Hopkin ap Griffith ap Rhys, has seen it all. He has served many masters and betrayed them all. In the aftermath of the battle of Agincourt, Hopkin is summoned to the presence of the victorious King Henry, who has a special commission for the Welshman. Amongst the few English dead is the Duke of York, whose corpse holds a secret which threatens King Henry's rule. Hopkin is charged with the task of finding the truth about the Duke's suspicious death, a task for which he is uniquely suited. A former rebel, he is well acquainted with the enemies of the new King. Through Hopkin's eyes witness the diversity of Medieval Britain: a pagan, he casts a critical eye over the corruption of his age, and introduces us to the towering characters of the period; King Henry the Fifth, Sir Henry Percy ('Hotspur') and Owen Glendower, amongst others. Follow Hopkin's adventures from the outbreak of the Glendower revolt to the battle of Agincourt and beyond - the history of a turbulent period.

Murder on the Brighton Express

Murder on the Brighton Express

Author: Edward (Author) Marston Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2009

October 1854. As an autumnal evening draws to a close, crowds of passengers rush onto the soon to depart London to Brighton Express. A man watches from shadows nearby, grimly satisfied when the train pulls out of the station. Chaos, fatalities and unbelievable destruction are the scene soon after when the train derails on the last leg of its journey. What led to such devastation, and could it simply be a case of driver error? Detective Inspector Colbeck, dubbed the 'railway detective' thinks not. But digging deep to discover the target of the accident takes time, something Colbeck doesn't have as the killer prepares to strike again.

Death of a Mill Girl

Death of a Mill Girl

Author: Clyde Linsley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/06/2009

The King Of Thieves (Last Templar Mysteries 26)

The King Of Thieves (Last Templar Mysteries 26)

Author: Michael Jecks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2009

On a diplomatic mission in France, Sir Baldwin and Simon encounter more than they bargained for... Baldwin and Simon uncover a deadly assassination plot in The King of Thieves, a gripping mystery in Michael Jecks' hugely popular medieval crime series. Perfect for fans of Paul Doherty and Susanna Gregory. 'Complicated, well-populated, written with cross-cutting gusto, and accompanied by scholarly extras' - Ellery Queen Magazine 1325: Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Simon Puttock are in France guarding King Edward's son on his perilous journey to meet the French king, Charles IV. But they are unaware that King Edward's wife Isabella is disaffected and plotting her revenge... What first appears a simple diplomatic mission is fast becoming lethally dangerous. Meanwhile, two murders in Paris are causing alarm. Is there a connection between the killings and the shadowy 'King' of thieves? Simon and Baldwin know the future of the English crown is at risk. And in order to protect it they must put their own lives in jeopardy. What readers are saying about The King of Thieves: 'Fast pace, intricate plot, well-drawn characters and good period feel make this a must for all fans of this genre' 'I cannot praise Michael Jecks' writing highly enough, his books always keep me guessing right to the end' 'Fantastic read - five stars'

The Unbelievers

The Unbelievers

Author: Alastair Sim Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2009

A Moment of Silence

A Moment of Silence

Author: Anna (Author) Dean Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/05/2009

Belsfield Hall, 1805. The sudden disappearance of her niece's fiance at their engagement ball leads Miss Dido Kent to worry that something sinister may have occurred. Before long, her fears are confirmed. Family secrets, long consigned to the darkest recesses of the past, begin to emerge as Dido attempts to unravel the strange happenings. But with the discovery of a body in the shrubbery, Mr Richard Montague's unexplained absence becomes all the more suspicious, and when she finally arrives at the startling truth, it is to change the lives of all involved for ever.

The Paradise Mystery

The Paradise Mystery

Author: J S Fletcher Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/04/2009

The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 7)

The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 7)

Author: Paul Doherty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2009

In Paul Doherty's new novel, Amerotke, Chief Judge of the Hall of Two Truths, is once again summoned to the Imperial Palaceo: Tekreth, Guardian of the Door of Sobeck, has fallen to his death from the roof of his stately mansion. According to all evidence, it was an accident but Pharaoh Queen Hatusu is not convinced. Increasingly worried about reports of mysterious disappearances along the Sobeck Road, the imperial highway stretching south, she believes that Tekreth's death could be part of a far greater problem. Amerotke, aware of the reports from the Sobeck Road, has also heard rumours about the Shemai, a cult devoted to death, based along its borders. Before Amerotke can start to consider either of these matters though, a gruesome mass murder occurs at the Necropolis. The funeral party for revered scribe, Ptulimis, has been poisoned and Amerotke must immediately investigate the abomination. As Amerotke probes further, he suspects that all these events may be connected and that dangerous forces are at work in Pharaoh Hatusu's realm. Will Amerotke be able to uncover the truth before Egypt is overrun by its sinister and dangerous underworld?