LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical mysteries

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical mysteries category. Presented with a red border are the Historical mysteries books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical mysteries books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Canary Keeper

The Canary Keeper

Author: Clare Carson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

'What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' LESLEY THOMSON. They will see me hang for this. London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. The city is soon alive with talk of the foreign killer and his striking accomplice: a young woman dressed in widow's weeds. Branna 'Birdie' Quinn's sleeplessness led her to the river that morning, but was it only thoughts of her drowned husband that kept her awake? She has always been wilful, haughty, different... but is she a murderess? To clear her name, Birdie must retrace the dead man's footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make in order to save her neck from the hangman's noose. This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton. Reviews for Clare Carson: 'Superb storytelling, clever and convoluted plotting, and a wonderful sense of time and place' CRIME REVIEW. 'Meaty, beautifully written and original' IRISH INDEPENDENT. 'Original and absorbing' LITERARY REVIEW.

The Bear Pit The Seeker 4

The Bear Pit The Seeker 4

Author: S.G. MacLean Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

'Could challenge CJ Sansom for dominion' Sunday Times London, 1656: Captain Seeker is back in the city, on the trail of an assassin preparing to strike at the heart of Oliver Cromwell's Republic The Commonwealth is balanced on a knife edge. Royalists and disillusioned former Parliamentarians have united against Oliver Cromwell, now a king in all but name. Three conspirators, representing these factions, plan to assassinate the Lord Protector, paving the way back to the throne for Charles Stuart once and for all. Captain Damian Seeker, meanwhile, is preoccupied by the horrifying discovery in an illegal gambling den of the body of a man ravaged by what is unmistakably a bear. Yet the bears used for baiting were all shot when the sport was banned by Cromwell. So where did this fearsome creature come from, and why would someone use it for murder? With Royalist-turned-Commonwealth-spy Thomas Faithly tracking the bear, Seeker investigates its victim. The trail leads from Kent's coffee house on Cornhill, to a German clockmaker in Clerkenwell, to the stews of Southwark, to the desolate Lambeth Marshes where no one should venture at night. When the two threads of the investigation begin to join, Seeker realises just what - and who - he is up against. The Royalists in exile have sent to London their finest mind and greatest fighter, a man who will stop at nothing to ensure the Restoration. Has Seeker finally met his match?

The Silent Woman

The Silent Woman

Author: Terry Lynn Thomas Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

USA Today bestseller! Would you sell your secrets? Catherine Carlisle is trapped in a loveless marriage and the threat of World War Two is looming. She sees no way out... that is until a trusted friend asks her to switch her husband's papers in a desperate bid to confuse the Germans. Soon Catherine finds herself caught up in a deadly mixture of espionage and murder. Someone is selling secrets to the other side, and the evidence seems to point right at her. Can she clear her name before it's too late? Readers Love THE SILENT WOMAN 'Intriguing and page-turning.' 'I really enjoyed this fascinating historical thriller.' 'an absorbing novel' 'a marvellous historical suspense that had me engrossed from the start.' 'I read it in just one sitting.' 'a seamless mix of historical fiction and mystery.'

Simply Dead

Simply Dead

Author: Eleanor Kuhns Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/01/2020

A Conspiracy of Wolves

A Conspiracy of Wolves

Author: Candace Robb Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/01/2020

A Prisoner of Privilege

A Prisoner of Privilege

Author: Rosemary Rowe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/01/2020

A Prisoner of Privilege

A Prisoner of Privilege

Author: Rosemary Rowe Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/01/2020

A Conspiracy of Wolves

A Conspiracy of Wolves

Author: Candace Robb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/01/2020

Blood & Sugar

Blood & Sugar

Author: Laura Shepherd-Robinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/01/2020

`A page-turner of a crime thriller . . . This is a world conveyed with convincing, terrible clarity' - C. J. Sansom Blood & Sugar is the thrilling debut historical crime novel from Laura Shepherd-Robinson for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor. June, 1781. An unidentified body hangs upon a hook at Deptford Dock - horribly tortured and branded with a slaver's mark. Some days later, Captain Harry Corsham - a war hero embarking upon a promising parliamentary career - is visited by the sister of an old friend. Her brother, passionate abolitionist Tad Archer, had been about to expose a secret that he believed could cause irreparable damage to the British slaving industry. He'd said people were trying to kill him, and now he is missing . . . To discover what happened to Tad, Harry is forced to pick up the threads of his friend's investigation, delving into the heart of the conspiracy Tad had unearthed. His investigation will threaten his political prospects, his family's happiness, and force a reckoning with his past, risking the revelation of secrets that have the power to destroy him. And that is only if he can survive the mortal dangers awaiting him in Deptford . . .

Murder at the Ashmolean

Murder at the Ashmolean

Author: Jim Eldridge Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/01/2020

1895. A senior executive at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford is found in his office with a bullet hole between his eyes, a pistol discarded close by. The death has officially been ruled as suicide by local police, but with an apparent lack of motive for such action, the museum's administrator, Gladstone Marriott, suspects foul play. With his cast-iron reputation for shrewdness, formed during his time investigating the case of Jack the Ripper alongside Inspector Abberline, private enquiry agent Daniel Wilson is a natural choice to discreetly explore the situation, ably assisted by his partner, archaeologist-cum-detective Abigail Fenton. Yet their enquiries are hindered from the start by an interfering lone agent from Special Branch, ever secretive and intimidating in his methods. With rumours of political ructions from South Africa, mislaid artefacts and a lost Shakespeare play, Wilson and Fenton soon find themselves tangled in bureaucracy. Making unlikely alliances, the pair face players who live by a different set of rules and will need their intellect and ingenuity to reveal the secrets of the aristocracy.

Murder at the Manchester Museum A whodunnit that will keep you guessing

Murder at the Manchester Museum A whodunnit that will keep you guessing

Author: Jim (Author) Eldridge Format: Hardback Release Date: 23/01/2020

1895. Former Scotland Yard detective Daniel Wilson, made famous from his days working the Jack the Ripper case, and his archaeologist sidekick Abigail Fenton are summoned to investigate the murder of a young woman at the Manchester Museum. Though staff remember the woman as a recent and regular visitor, no one appears to know who she is and she has no possessions from which identify her. Seeking help from a local journalist, Daniel hopes to unravel this mystery, but the journey to the truth is fraught with obstacles ...

The Unseen Hand The WWI London whodunnit

The Unseen Hand The WWI London whodunnit

Author: Edward (Author) Marston Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/01/2020

1917. The Lotus Hotel offers sanctuary for its exclusively female clientele, attracting the cream of London's society. But a dead body found in one of its rooms is hardly good for business, and when it is discovered that the woman was neither a guest nor a member of staff, the Lotus's reputation as a safe haven is cast in doubt. Inspector Marmion and Sergeant Keedy are dispatched to look into the events at the hotel and soon suspect foul play. Tangling with a forgetful widower, a wily competitor and the haughty hotel owner, the pair will have to delve into the past to solve this crime in the present.