LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical mysteries

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical mysteries category. Presented with a red border are the Historical mysteries books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical mysteries books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree

Author: M. R. C. Kasasian Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

A long buried secret is unearthed in the woods in this pitch-perfect WW2 crime mystery. July, 1914: Sixteen-year-old Etterly, running from something, hides inside the trunk of a tree and disappears. The police search but find no trace. Her family and friends wrack their brains, but come up with nothing. And so slowly life returns to normal. The hole in the tree is boarded up and the town of Sackwater moves on. Only Etterly's best friend, Betty, clings to hope, insisting she can hear her friend crying for help. June, 1940: A skeleton is discovered buried in the woods. Though most clues have long since decayed, it is wearing an unusual necklace. As soon as Inspector Betty Church sees the evidence she recognises it. The necklace belonged to Etterly. Fearing the worst, Betty is determined to solve this strange case once and for all. What happened to Etterly? And why has this secret remained buried for so long?

City of Pearl

City of Pearl

Author: Alys Clare Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/08/2020

Dead End

Dead End

Author: Sally Spencer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/08/2020

The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits

The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits

Author: Alys Clare Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/08/2020

Simply Dead

Simply Dead

Author: Eleanor Kuhns Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/08/2020

Lady of Perdition

Lady of Perdition

Author: Barbara Hambly Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/08/2020

The Wages of Sin

The Wages of Sin

Author: Judith (Author) Cutler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/08/2020

I Saw Him Die

I Saw Him Die

Author: Andrew Wilson Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/08/2020

The brand new AGATHA CHRISTIE MYSTERY from bestselling author Andrew Wilson Who saw him die? I, said the fly, with my little eye. I saw him die. An astonishingly beautiful setting on the island of Skye. A gathering of fascinating guests at a hunting lodge set to enjoy abundant hospitality. And a double murder. A household in chaos . . . No one is allowed to leave. A tantalising new case for Agatha Christie to solve. Praise for Andrew Wilson and his detective series featuring Agatha Christie: 'Fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining - one feels Agatha Christie would have been delighted' - LUCY FOLEY, bestselling author of The Hunting Party 'A heart of darkness beats within this sparkling series. Fizzy with charm yet edge with menace, Andrew Wilson's Christie novels do Dame Agatha proud' A. J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window 'Beautifully written. Both lyrical and compelling. I felt as though I was walking by Agatha Christie's side' JANE CORRY 'An affectionate homage to Agatha Christie's desert dramas with a cheeky nod to Paul Bowles' The Sheltering Sky. A superior blend of fact and fiction . . . A must for connoisseurs of Golden Age crime fiction' SEAN O'CONNOR 'There is no reason why this excellent series shouldn't run till the sun don't shine' EVENING STANDARD 'While Wilson tempts providence by inviting comparison with the real Agatha Christie, on the evidence of this book he succeeds admirably' DAILY MAIL 'He shares with the great Dame the gift of sheer readability' S MAGAZINE 'Five stars . . . Brilliantly plotted, stylishly written. A treat!' AMANDA CRAIG

A Little London Scandal

A Little London Scandal

Author: Miranda Emmerson Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/08/2020

A story of class and corruption, sex and the Sixties, for fans of A Very English Scandal and The Trial of Christine Keeler Nik felt the mistake in his bones. The man in the snakeskin suit reached down towards him and pulled Nik upright by the collar of his coat. Nik didn't see what happened next but he felt the wall. He cried out and then someone hit him and he closed his eyes and waited for it to be over... London. 1967. Nik Christou has been a rent boy since he was 15. He knows the ins and outs of Piccadilly Circus, how to spot a pretty policeman and to interpret a fleeting glance. One summer night his life is turned upside down, first by violence and then by an accusation of murder. Anna Treadway, fleeing the ghosts of her past, works as a dresser in Soho's Galaxy theatre. She has learned never to place too much trust in the long arm of the law and, convinced Nik is innocent she determines to find him an alibi. Merrian Wallis, devoted wife to an MP with a tarnished reputation, just wants proof that her husband couldn't have been involved. But how do you recognise the truth when everyone around you is playing a role - and when any spark of scandal is quickly snuffed out by those with power? As Anna searches for clues amongst a cast of MPs, actors, members of gentlemen's clubs and a hundred different nightly clients, will anyone be willing to come forward and save Nik from his fate?

A Little London Scandal

A Little London Scandal

Author: Miranda Emmerson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/08/2020

A compelling and ingeniously plotted story of class and corruption, sex and the Sixties, for fans of A Very English Scandal and The Trial of Christine Keeler Nik felt the mistake in his bones. The man in the snakeskin suit reached down towards him and pulled Nik upright by the collar of his coat. Nik didn't see what happened next but he felt the wall. He cried out and then someone hit him and he closed his eyes and waited for it to be over. London. 1967. Nik Christou has been a rent boy since he was 15. He knows the ins and outs of Piccadilly Circus, how to spot a pretty policeman and to interpret a fleeting glance. One summer night his life is turned upside down, first by violence and then by an accusation of murder. Anna Treadway, fleeing the ghosts of her past, works as a dresser in Soho's Galaxy theatre. She has learned never to place too much trust in the long arm of the law and, convinced Nik is innocent she determines to find him an alibi. Merrian Wallis, devoted wife to an MP with a tarnished reputation, just wants proof that her husband couldn't have been involved. But how do you recognise the truth when everyone around you is playing a role - and when any spark of scandal is quickly snuffed out by those with power? As Anna searches for clues amongst a cast of MPs, actors, members of gentlemen's clubs and a hundred different nightly clients, will anyone be willing to come forward and save Nik from his fate?

A Royal Affair

A Royal Affair

Author: Allison Montclair Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/08/2020

A Pinch of Pure Cunning

A Pinch of Pure Cunning

Author: Jane Finnis Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

This is a collection of mystery short stories, a variety of traditional whodunnits, all with an Ancient Roman background. The tales take us to the turbulent frontier province of Britannia, the showy luxury of Rome itself, and right inside the glittering and dangerous court of Nero. These make dramatic settings for crime and mystery, and show us a little of life (and death) two thousand years ago. The Roman world had its share of crime, because human nature was much the same then as it is now. Greed, vengeance, and jealousy were motives for theft, fraud, and murder...and where there were crimes there were also investigators. The sleuths in these stories are not professional detectives in the modern sense. Innkeeper Aurelia Marcella, (heroine of the Aurelia Marcella series of mystery novels,) just wants to get on with running a successful business; Rufus the bodyguard becomes an investigator when he is present at a fashionable banquet where celebration turns to tragedy; and elite guardsman Marius learns how criticising Caesar's singing can have deadly consequences. And of course they all lack the elaborate tools for crime-solving that modern detectives take for granted. But they share an over-riding determination to seek out truth and bring justice, even when that puts them in danger. These stories show how they can succeed, using intelligence, courage, and of course a pinch of pure cunning,