LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical mysteries

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical mysteries category. Presented with a red border are the Historical mysteries books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical mysteries books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

A Lady Compromised

A Lady Compromised

Author: Darcie Wilde Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/11/2020

River of Sins

River of Sins

Author: Sarah (Author) Hawkswood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/11/2020

July 1144. Ricolde, 'the finest whore in Worcester', is found butchered on an island a few miles up the River Severn. How did she get there, who killed her, and why? Uncovering details of her life and her past reveal a woman with hidden depths and hidden miseries which are fundamental to the answers, but time has cast a thick veil over the killer's identity. The lord Sheriff's men have a trail that went cold over two decades ago, and evidence that contradicts itself. In a place Catchpoll knows inside out, he finds things new even to him, and then the case becomes personal.

The Unquiet Heart

The Unquiet Heart

Author: Kaite Welsh Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley's THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laura Purcell's THE SILENT COMPANIONS This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday Express Sarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiance Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel facade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

Iron Queen

Iron Queen

Author: Joanna Courtney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/11/2020

A brand new Historical fiction series by the bestselling author of the Queens of Conquest series, unearthing the real women behind Shakespeare's most infamous queens . . . Welcome to the Iron Age, a time of which little has been written and where women ruled, druids and paganism grew in power and men were considered useful, but of limited capacity. There, we meet Cordelia, youngest of three sisters but soon to be proven the strongest . . . If you love Elizabeth Chadwick and Anne O'Brien you will adore Joanna Courtney Praise for Joanna Courtney: 'A glorious, rich, epic story of love, friendship and sacrifice which will sweep you up and transport you to another time. I absolutely loved this and can't wait for the next book in the series' Rachael Lucas, author of Sealed With A Kiss and Coming Up Roses 'Lovely writing and a terrific sense of narrative drive. Superb!' Carol McGrath, author of The Daughters of Hastings trilogy

Beyond Beyond

Beyond Beyond

Author: Joseph Heywood Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/11/2020

We last saw our hero in Mountains of the Misbegotten and Heywood delivers an even more thrilling mystery. Lute Bapcat and Pinkhus Zakov had been partners in the far northern counties of Michigan's Upper Peninsula for years when in early 1917, Zakov suddenly disappeared. A year later, Bapcat and Jordy (now 18) get a summons to Marquette, by former President Teddy Roosevelt. (Bapcat had served as a Roughrider with Roosevelt back in the day.) Roosevelt tells them that Zakov was sent to Russia by the U.S. government to find Russian Tsar Nicholas II, who abdicated and disappeared. Zakov went into Russia in April 1917 and had been feared dead, until an urgent message comes through a Swedish diplomat: Zakov wants Bapcat and Jordy sent to Russia to assist him. In the midst of the flu epidemic, a strange, Russian-born American marine major named Dodge is assigned to lead them into and across Russia until they locate Zakov. They dive deep into the heart of the Russian Fatherland as the Revolution of 1917 turns into a full out Civil War, with a level of chaos, random violence, and blood-letting far beyond Bapcat's imagination.

The Clockmaker

The Clockmaker

Author: Jane A. Adams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2020

Script for Scandal

Script for Scandal

Author: Renee Patrick Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2020

The Hocus Girl

The Hocus Girl

Author: Chris Nickson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2020

House of the Patriarch

House of the Patriarch

Author: Barbara Hambly Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/10/2020

Death and the Singing Birds

Death and the Singing Birds

Author: Amy Myers Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/10/2020

Death in the Great Dismal

Death in the Great Dismal

Author: Eleanor Kuhns Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/10/2020

The Scent of Danger

The Scent of Danger

Author: Fiona Buckley Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/10/2020