desmond elliott 2017 tudor queens series before the fall second sister twitter

Historical mysteries books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical mysteries category. Presented with a red border are the Historical mysteries books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical mysteries books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

The Adventure of the Dancing Men-The Return of Sherlock Holmes Re-Imagined by P James Macaluso Jr The Adventure of the Dancing Men-The Return of Sherlock Holmes Re-Imagined


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 21/06/2017

The Lighterman by Simon Michael The Lighterman

The Lighterman is the third book in the bestselling series of legal thrillers starring barrister Charles Holborne.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/06/2017

Sherlock Holmes on the Roof of the World (Holmes Behind the Veil Book 1) by Thomas Kent Miller Sherlock Holmes on the Roof of the World (Holmes Behind the Veil Book 1)


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 20/06/2017

The Final Tales of Sherlock Holmes - Volume Four The Kew Gardens Gnomes by John A Little The Final Tales of Sherlock Holmes - Volume Four The Kew Gardens Gnomes


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 15/06/2017

Charcoal Joe: The Latest Easy Rawlins Mystery by Walter Mosley Charcoal Joe: The Latest Easy Rawlins Mystery

Walter Mosley - 'simply the best crime writer around today' Guardian - brings back his iconic hero, Easy Rawlins, in a frenetic adventure through the shady streets of LA.
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

The Trials of Sherlock Holmes by James Moffett The Trials of Sherlock Holmes


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 13/06/2017

The Strings of Murder A Novel by Oscar De Muriel The Strings of Murder A Novel


Format: Paperback - Released: 06/06/2017

The Coroner's Daughter A Novel by Andrew Hughes The Coroner's Daughter A Novel


Format: Hardback - Released: 06/06/2017

The Stone of Destiny A Sherlock Holmes Adventure by Richard T Ryan The Stone of Destiny A Sherlock Holmes Adventure


Format: Hardback - Released: 05/06/2017

Dark Dawn Over Steep House by M.R.C. Kasasian Dark Dawn Over Steep House

London, 1884: Sidney Grice - London's foremost personal detective - is restless. Having filed his latest case under 'S' for 'Still To Be Solved', he has returned to his book, A Brief History of Doorstep Whitening in Preston, to await...
Format: eBook - Released: 01/06/2017

The Shattered Tree A BESS Crawford Mystery by Charles Todd The Shattered Tree A BESS Crawford Mystery

World War I battlefield nurse Bess Crawford goes to dangerous lengths to investigate a wounded soldier's background-and uncover his true loyalties-in this thrilling and atmospheric entry in the bestselling vivid period mystery series (New York Times Book Review). At the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Dark Dawn Over Steep House by M. R. C. Kasasian Dark Dawn Over Steep House

The final puzzling case for Sidney Grice and March Middleton - the Gower Street Detectives.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

A Grave Concern The Twenty Second Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew by Susanna Gregory A Grave Concern The Twenty Second Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew

Physician Matthew Bartholomew battles more medieval crime in the latest in the much-praised series
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Prague Nights by Benjamin Black Prague Nights

'The emperor's mistress had been murdered, and the world had been taken hold of and turned upon its head' Prague, 1599. Christian Stern, a young doctor, has just arrived in the city. On his first evening, he finds a young...
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

The Wages of Sin by Kaite Welsh The Wages of Sin

A gripping new historical crime series set in the underworld of Victorian Edinburgh, featuring medical student-turned-detective Sarah Gilchrist, for fans of Sarah Waters and Antonia Hodgson.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

Coming Soon

Night of the Lightbringer by Peter Tremayne Night of the Lightbringer

The new mystery in Peter Tremayne's long-standing and much-loved series featuring 7th-century Irish super-sleuth Sister Fidelma
Format: Hardback - Released: 29/06/2017

The Lost Girl by Carol Drinkwater The Lost Girl

**The Lost Girl is a heartrending story of loss and enduring love** Her daughter disappeared four years ago...Since her daughter went missing four years earlier, celebrated photographer Kurtiz Ross has been a woman alone. Her only companion her camera. Since...
Format: Hardback - Released: 29/06/2017

The Angel A Charles Dickens Mystery by M. J. Trow The Angel A Charles Dickens Mystery


Format: Paperback - Released: 30/06/2017

Renting Silence A Roaring Twenties Mystery by Mary Miley Renting Silence A Roaring Twenties Mystery


Format: Paperback - Released: 30/06/2017

Murder at Swann's Lake by Sally Spencer Murder at Swann's Lake


Format: Paperback - Released: 30/06/2017

Assassins A British Mystery Series Set in 1920s London by Jim Eldridge Assassins A British Mystery Series Set in 1920s London


Format: Hardback - Released: 30/06/2017

The Heretic's Creed An Elizabethan Mystery by Fiona Buckley The Heretic's Creed An Elizabethan Mystery


Format: Hardback - Released: 30/06/2017

The Four Horsemen by Gregory Dowling The Four Horsemen

The second in a new series of mystery thrillers set in mid-18th-century Venice, follwing the acclaimed Ascension.
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/07/2017

Mr. Campion's Abdication by Margery Allingham, Mike Ripley Mr. Campion's Abdication
,

Format: Hardback - Released: 10/07/2017

Guns in the North by P. F. Chisholm Guns in the North

Elizabethan intrigue in an omnibus: roguish courtiers, rival gangs, border raiders, treason, realpolitik and unbridled ambition.
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde by Eve Chase The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde

*From the critically acclaimed author of Black Rabbit Hall, comes Eve Chase's stunning new novel* A girl has vanished and a house remains filled with secrets. The bonds of sisterhood will be tested and an unthinkable choice will leave a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble by Catriona McPherson Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

City of Masks Oswald De Lacy Book 3 by S. D. Sykes City of Masks Oswald De Lacy Book 3

A brilliantly dark and compelling novel set in Venice from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver)
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

An Order for Death The Seventh Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle by Susanna Gregory An Order for Death The Seventh Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle

For the twentieth anniversary of the start of the Matthew Bartholomew series, Sphere is delighted to reissue all of the medieval monk's cases with beautiful new series-style covers.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2017

A Masterly Murder The Sixth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew by Susanna Gregory A Masterly Murder The Sixth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew

For the twentieth anniversary of the start of the Matthew Bartholomew series, Sphere is delighted to reissue all of the medieval monk's cases with beautiful new series-style covers.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2017

Other books in this genre

A Talent for Murder by Andrew Wilson A Talent for Murder

On the night of 3rd December 1926, Agatha Christie went missing, and was eventually discovered in a hotel in Harrogate ten days later. But what happened to her in that time? In A Talent for Murder, Andrew Wilson ingeniously take...
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/05/2017

A Deadly Brew The Fourth Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle by Susanna Gregory A Deadly Brew The Fourth Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle

For the twentieth anniversary of the start of the Matthew Bartholomew series, Sphere is delighted to reissue all of the medieval monk's cases with beautiful new series-style covers.
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

A Wicked Deed The Fifth Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle by Susanna Gregory A Wicked Deed The Fifth Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle

For the twentieth anniversary of the start of the Matthew Bartholomew series, Sphere is delighted to reissue all of the medieval monk's cases with beautiful new series-style covers.
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy by HB Lyle The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

As a boy, he spied for Sherlock Holmes. As a man, he must save the Empire.
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/05/2017

A Body in the Woodpile by Irene Sauman A Body in the Woodpile


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 09/05/2017

A Friend of Mr. Nijinsky by Caro Soles A Friend of Mr. Nijinsky


Format: Hardback - Released: 08/05/2017

The Hound of the Baskervilles (Chump Change Edition) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle The Hound of the Baskervilles (Chump Change Edition)


Format: Hardback - Released: 08/05/2017

The Hound of the Baskervilles (Chump Change Edition) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle The Hound of the Baskervilles (Chump Change Edition)


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 08/05/2017

A Friend of Mr. Nijinsky by Caro Soles A Friend of Mr. Nijinsky


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 08/05/2017

A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee A Rising Man

India, 1919. Desperate for a fresh start, Captain Sam Wyndham arrives to take up an important post in Calcutta's police force. He is soon called to the scene of a horrifying murder. The victim was a senior official, and a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/05/2017

Dying Games by Steve Robinson Dying Games


Format: Paperback - Released: 04/05/2017

Dead Man's Blues by Ray Celestin Dead Man's Blues

Dead Man's Blues is the gripping historical crime novel from Ray Celestin, the author of The Axeman's Jazz, winner of the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger for Best First Novel. Chicago, 1928. In the stifling summer heat three investigations...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/05/2017

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt See What I Have Done

'Eeerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins - SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE is a haunting retelling of the infamous Lizzie Borden murders from a dazzling debut novelist.
Format: Hardback - Released: 02/05/2017

Two Crimes by Fortune Du Boisgobey Two Crimes


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 30/04/2017

Murder Take Three A British Country House Mystery by Eric Brown Murder Take Three A British Country House Mystery


Format: Hardback - Released: 28/04/2017

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now