LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Classic crime

See below for a selection of the latest books from Classic crime category. Presented with a red border are the Classic crime books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Classic crime books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Silk Stocking Murders

The Silk Stocking Murders

Author: Anthony Berkeley, Tony Medawar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

A classic Golden Age crime novel, and one of the first to feature a serial killer. Investigating the disappearance of a vicar's daughter in London, the popular novelist and amateur detective Roger Sheringham is shocked to discover that the girl is already dead, found hanging from a screw by her own silk stocking. Reports of similar deaths across the capital strengthen his conviction that this is no suicide cult but the work of a homicidal maniac out for vengeance - a desperate situation requiring desperate measures. Having established Roger Sheringham as a brilliant but headstrong young sleuth who frequently made mistakes, trusted the wrong people and imbibed considerable liquid refreshment, Anthony Berkeley took his controversial character into much darker territory with The Silk Stocking Murders, a sensational novel about gruesome serial killings by an apparent psychopath bent on targeting vulnerable young women.

The Wychford Poisoning Case

The Wychford Poisoning Case

Author: Anthony Berkeley, Tony Medawar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

One of the earliest psychological crime novels. Mrs Bentley has been arrested for murder. The evidence is overwhelming: arsenic she extracted from fly papers was in her husband's medicine, his food and his lemonade, and her crimes are being plastered across the newspapers. Even her lawyers believe she is guilty. But Roger Sheringham, the brilliant but outspoken young novelist, is convinced that there is 'too much evidence' against Mrs Bentley and sets out to prove her innocence. Credited as the book that first introduced psychology to the detective novel, The Wychford Poisoning Case was based on a notorious real-life murder inquiry. Written by Anthony Berkeley, a founder of the celebrated Detection Club who also found fame under the pen-name 'Francis Iles', the story saw the return of Roger Sheringham, the Golden Age's breeziest - and booziest - detective.

The Conjure-Man Dies: A Harlem Mystery

The Conjure-Man Dies: A Harlem Mystery

Author: Rudolph Fisher, Stanley Ellin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

A unique crime classic: the very first detective novel written by an African-American, set in 1930s New York with only Black characters. When the body of N'Gana Frimbo, the African conjure-man, is discovered in his consultation room, Perry Dart, one of Harlem's ten Black police detectives, is called in to investigate. Together with Dr Archer, a physician from across the street, Dart is determined to solve the baffling mystery, helped and hindered by Bubber Brown and Jinx Jenkins, local boys keen to clear themselves of suspicion of murder and undertake their own investigations. The Conjure-Man Dies was the very first detective novel written by an African-American. A distinguished doctor and accomplished musician and dramatist, Rudolph Fisher was one of the principal writers of the Harlem Renaissance, but died in 1934 aged only 37. With a gripping plot and vividly drawn characters, Fisher's witty novel is a remarkable time capsule of one of the most exciting eras in the history of Black fiction. This crime classic is introduced by New York crime writer Stanley Ellin, and includes Rudolph Fisher's last published story, 'John Archer's Nose', in which Perry Dart and Dr Archer return to solve the case of a young man murdered in his own bed.

Twice Kissed

Twice Kissed

Author: Lisa Jackson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/12/2020

Sexton Blake's Allies (Sexton Blake Library Book 3)

Sexton Blake's Allies (Sexton Blake Library Book 3)

Author: Mark Hodder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/12/2020

For nearly a century, Sexton Blake was the most written about character in British fiction. He starred in approximately four thousand stories by nearly two hundred authors. A cross between Sherlock Holmes and Indiana Jones, he was a publishing phenomenon, read by young and old alike. Comprised of three more Golden Age stories from UNION JACK, in which Sexton Blake discusses the various reporters, adventurers, Scotland Yard men and private detectives with whom he worked. THE CASE OF THE SEVENTH KEY by W. W. Sayer (1925) A pocket is picked, Blake is deceived, a murder is committed, the Orient Express is boarded, Secret Service agent Granit Grant enters the fray, crown jewels are at risk, Blake is poisoned and left tied up on a railway track, horses are commandeered, and a chase ends in Prague. GHOST MOBILE by Gwyn Evans (1931) A car accident claims an innocent life, a thug decides on revenge, Splash Page finds a scoop, Sexton Blake is summoned, a phantom motor-lorry is seen, and a heist is foiled. TREE OF EVIL by Rex Hardinge (1932) Sir Richard Losely is taunted by a disembodied voice and succumbs to poison, Lobangu has a prophetic dream, Blake acquires an additional assistant, a native uprising occurs, hungry crocodiles are evaded, battle

The Decagon House Murders

The Decagon House Murders

Author: Yukito Ayatsuji Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/12/2020

The lonely, rockbound island of Tsunojima is notorious as the site of a series of bloody unsolved murders. Some even say it's haunted. One thing's for sure: it's the perfect destination for the K-University Mystery Club's annual trip. But when the first club member turns up dead, the remaining amateur sleuths realise they will need all of their murder-mystery expertise to get off the island alive. As the party are picked off one by one, the survivors grow desperate and paranoid, turning on each other. Will anyone be able to untangle the murderer's fiendish plan before it's too late?

Doing Wrong

Doing Wrong

Author: H. R. F. Keating, Vaseem Khan, Vaseem Khan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/11/2020

Bodies from the Library 2

Bodies from the Library 2

Author: Tony Medawar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

This anthology of rare stories of crime and suspense brings together 15 tales from the Golden Age of Detective Fiction for the first time in book form, including newly discovered stories by Dorothy L. Sayers and Edmund Crispin that have never previously been published. With the Golden Age of detective fiction shining ever more brightly thanks to the recent reappearance of many forgotten crime novels, Bodies from the Library offers a rare opportunity to read lost stories from the first half of the twentieth century by some of the genre's most accomplished writers. This second volume is a showcase for popular figures of the Golden Age, in stories that even their most ardent fans will not be aware of. It includes uncollected and unpublished stories by acclaimed queens and kings of crime fiction, from Helen Simpson, Ethel Lina White, E.C.R. Lorac, Christianna Brand, Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers, to S.S. Van Dine, Jonathan Latimer, Clayton Rawson, Cyril Alington and Antony and Peter Shaffer (writing as Peter Antony). This book also features two highly readable radio scripts by Margery Allingham (involving Jack the Ripper) and John Rhode, plus two full-length novellas - one from a rare magazine by Q Patrick, the other an unpublished Gervase Fen mystery by Edmund Crispin, written at the height of his career. It concludes with another remarkable discovery: 'The Locked Room' by Dorothy L. Sayers, a never-before-published case for Lord Peter Wimsey! Selected and introduced by Tony Medawar, who also provides fascinating pen portraits of each author, Bodies from the Library 2 is an indispensable collection for any bookshelf.

Death on the Nile

Death on the Nile

Author: Agatha Christie Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 12/11/2020

Agatha Christie's most exotic murder mystery, reissued with a striking new cover to tie in with the highly anticipated 2020 film adaptation. The tranquillity of a cruise along the Nile is shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway has been shot through the head. She was young, stylish and beautiful, a girl who had everything - until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalls an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: 'I'd like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger.' Yet in this exotic setting' nothing is ever quite what it seems...

In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood

Author: Jane Bettany Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

'I read this in one sitting and loved every minute of it. The detective story reads like an episode of Vera.' 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer No secret can stay buried forever... As the Whitworth family begin renovations on their new home, their plans are brought to an abrupt end when they discover a body buried in the back garden. DI Isabel Blood and her team are called to investigate, but as she approaches Ecclesdale Drive, a feeling of unease settles in her gut. The property cordoned off is number 23. The house she used to live in as a child... The forensic team estimate that the body has been in the ground for up to forty years - coinciding with the time Isabel's family lived in the house. Isabel's father vanished without a trace when she was fourteen years old. And with her mother remaining tight-lipped about her father's disappearance, Isabel can't escape the unnerving sense of dread that it's his body, buried in the garden. Fans of Vera, Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths will love In Cold Blood! Readers love In Cold Blood! A gripping police procedural thriller that had me engrossed from the first page. The storyline had me intrigued, so much so that I read it in one day. 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer Isabel Blood is a great character and I really enjoyed getting to know her. I'm a great fan of police procedural novels and this was an excellent read! The case was a fascinating one and the story was cleverly plotted... with numerous twists and turns and some rather surprising revelations! 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer If you're looking for a cosy crime novel that is packed with suspense, then this is the book for you. A fantastic debut novel that I have no hesitation in recommending. 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer This is a fabulous debut crime novel! 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer I loved this book from beginning to end and cannot wait to read more from Jane Bettany. 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

Misjudged

Misjudged

Author: James Chandler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/11/2020

Misjudged

Misjudged

Author: James Chandler Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/11/2020