LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Classic crime

See below for a selection of the latest books from Classic crime category. Presented with a red border are the Classic crime books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Classic crime books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Bodies from the Library 2

Bodies from the Library 2

Author: Tony Medawar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

This anthology of rare stories of crime and suspense brings together 15 tales from the Golden Age of Detective Fiction for the first time in book form, including newly discovered stories by Dorothy L. Sayers and Edmund Crispin that have never previously been published. With the Golden Age of detective fiction shining ever more brightly thanks to the recent reappearance of many forgotten crime novels, Bodies from the Library offers a rare opportunity to read lost stories from the first half of the twentieth century by some of the genre's most accomplished writers. This second volume is a showcase for popular figures of the Golden Age, in stories that even their most ardent fans will not be aware of. It includes uncollected and unpublished stories by acclaimed queens and kings of crime fiction, from Helen Simpson, Ethel Lina White, E.C.R. Lorac, Christianna Brand, Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers, to S.S. Van Dine, Jonathan Latimer, Clayton Rawson, Cyril Alington and Antony and Peter Shaffer (writing as Peter Antony). This book also features two highly readable radio scripts by Margery Allingham (involving Jack the Ripper) and John Rhode, plus two full-length novellas - one from a rare magazine by Q Patrick, the other an unpublished Gervase Fen mystery by Edmund Crispin, written at the height of his career. It concludes with another remarkable discovery: 'The Locked Room' by Dorothy L. Sayers, a never-before-published case for Lord Peter Wimsey! Selected and introduced by Tony Medawar, who also provides fascinating pen portraits of each author, Bodies from the Library 2 is an indispensable collection for any bookshelf.

In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood

Author: Jane Bettany Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

No secret can stay buried forever... As the Whitworth family begin renovations on their new home, their plans are brought to an abrupt end when they discover a body buried in the back garden. DI Isabel Blood and her team are called to investigate, but as she approaches Ecclesdale Drive, a feeling of unease settles in her gut. The property cordoned off is number 23. The house she used to live in as a child... The forensic team estimate that the body has been in the ground for up to forty years - coinciding with the time Isabel's family lived in the house. Isabel's father vanished without a trace when she was fourteen years old. And with her mother remaining tight-lipped about her father's disappearance, Isabel can't escape the unnerving sense of dread that it's his body, buried in the garden. Fans of Ann Cleeves, Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths will love In Cold Blood!

Fortune Favours the Dead

Fortune Favours the Dead

Author: Stephen Spotswood Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

New York, 1946. Lillian Pentecost is the most successful private detective in the city, but her health is failing. She hires an assistant to help with the investigative legwork. Willowjean Parker is a circus runaway. Quick-witted and street-smart, she's a jack-of-all-trades with a unique skill-set. She can pick locks blindfolded, wrestle men twice her size, and throw knives with deadly precision - all of which come in handy working for Ms P. When wealthy young widow Abigail Collins is murdered and the police are making no progress, Pentecost and Parker are hired by the family to track down the culprit. On Halloween night, there was a costume party at the Collins' mansion, where a fortune teller performed a seance which greatly disturbed Abigail. Several hours later her body was discovered bludgeoned to death in her late husband's office. Problem is, the door to the office was locked from the inside. There was no-one else in the room, and the murder weapon was beside the victim; the fortune teller's crystal ball. It looks like an impossible crime, but Pentecost and Parker know there is no such thing...

The Lost Gallows

The Lost Gallows

Author: John Dickson Carr, Martin Edwards Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/11/2020

John Dickson Carr lays on the macabre atmosphere again in this follow-up to It Walks by Night, in which Inspector Bencolin attempts to piece together a puzzle involving a disappearing street, a set of gallows which mysteriously reveals itself to a number of figures traipsing through the London fog, and the bizarre suggestion that a kind of fictional bogeyman, Jack Ketch, may be afoot and in the business of wanton execution. An early gem from one of the great writers of the classic crime genre. This edition also includes the rare Inspector Bencolin short story 'The Ends of Justice'.

Into the Labyrinth

Into the Labyrinth

Author: Donato Carrisi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/11/2020

'Intriguing and very scary' Ken Follett Abducted at thirteen. Returned at twenty-eight. Is it time to go back into the labyrinth? A young woman named Samantha Andretti wakes up in a hospital bed. Samantha was abducted when she was thirteen. She was kept prisoner for fifteen years. The man by her side, Dr. Green, believes that Samantha's memories contain the clues that will lead to the capture of her abductor. But why does she keep referring to a labyrinth? Outside the hospital, private investigator Bruno Genko does not have long to live. Bruno was assigned to Samantha's case many years ago, and now it is his chance to make amends. Can Samantha be persuaded to go back into the labyrinth? And how did the man at its centre vanish so quickly? Praise for The Girl in the Fog by Donato Carrisi: 'A coldly brilliant expose of the depths of human nature' Sunday Times 'Compelling, beautifully written and atmospheric' Daily Mail 'A thoroughly disconcerting, addictive thriller' Metro

Filmi, Filmi, Inspector Ghote

Filmi, Filmi, Inspector Ghote

Author: H. R. F. Keating, Vaseem Khan, Vaseem Khan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2020

The Moonstone

The Moonstone

Author: Wilkie Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

A thrilling tale of mystery and crime from a master storyteller. A pacy tale from the original master of detective fiction Wilkie Collins. Transported from the temples of India to atmospheric Victorian England, the scene is set for a tale which twists between death, drugs, mystery and, most of all, misdirection. Rachel inherits the moonstone from her uncle on her 18th birthday, a cursed diamond of sacred importance stolen from India. When the stone goes missing, Sergeant Cuff is faced with a myriad of possible culprits, from mysterious Indian jugglers who may not be all they seem, to a very oddly acting maidservant. Told from the viewpoints of various vivid characters, Collins spins a tale of intrigue with many a wrong-turn as the moonstone leaves a path of destruction in its wake. FLAME TREE 451: From mystery to crime, supernatural to horror and fantasy to science fiction, Flame Tree 451 offers a healthy diet of werewolves and mechanical men, blood-lusty vampires, dastardly villains, mad scientists, secret worlds, lost civilizations and escapist fantasies. Discover a storehouse of tales gathered specifically for the reader of the fantastic. Each book features a brand new biography and glossary of Literary, Gothic and Victorian terms.

Shills Can't Cash Chips

Shills Can't Cash Chips

Author: Erle Stanley Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/10/2020

From Perry Mason creator Erle Stanley Gardner - during his life, the best-selling American author of all time -- comes a lost classic of detective fiction featuring private eyes Donald Lam (once played by Frank Sinatra!) and Bertha Cool. Has Donald Lam gone to the dark side? From the world-famous creator of Perry Mason, Erle Stanley Gardner - at his death the best-selling American writer of all time - comes another baffling case for the Cool & Lam detective agency: SHILLS CAN'T CASH CHIPS. Return to the 1960s as a simple insurance investigation into a car accident puts Bertha Cool and Donald Lam on the trail of murder - and Donald hip-deep in danger when he poses as an ex-con to infiltrate a criminal gang. It's Gardner's twistiest caper ever, and a fitting capper to Hard Case Crime's revival of this classic (and long unavailable) detective series.

Runaway

Runaway

Author: Lisa Childs Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/10/2020

Death on the Nile

Death on the Nile

Author: Agatha Christie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Agatha Christie's most exotic murder mystery, reissued with a striking new cover to tie in with the highly anticipated 2020 film adaptation. The tranquillity of a cruise along the Nile is shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway has been shot through the head. She was young, stylish and beautiful, a girl who had everything - until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalls an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: 'I'd like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger.' Yet in this exotic setting' nothing is ever quite what it seems...

Death on the Nile

Death on the Nile

Author: Agatha Christie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Agatha Christie's most exotic murder mystery, reissued with a striking new cover to tie in with the highly anticipated 2020 film adaptation. The tranquillity of a cruise along the Nile is shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway has been shot through the head. She was young, stylish and beautiful, a girl who had everything - until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalls an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: 'I'd like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger.' Yet in this exotic setting' nothing is ever quite what it seems...

Death on the Nile

Death on the Nile

Author: Agatha Christie Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 15/10/2020

Agatha Christie's most exotic murder mystery, reissued with a striking new cover to tie in with the highly anticipated 2020 film adaptation. The tranquillity of a cruise along the Nile is shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway has been shot through the head. She was young, stylish and beautiful, a girl who had everything - until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalls an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: 'I'd like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger.' Yet in this exotic setting' nothing is ever quite what it seems...