LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crime & mystery

See below for a selection of the latest books from Crime & mystery category. Presented with a red border are the Crime & mystery books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Crime & mystery books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Bones Of Wolfe

The Bones Of Wolfe

Author: James Carlos Blake Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/06/2021

In the newest Wolfe-family adventure from James Carlos Blake, Rudy and Frank Wolfe are engaging in routine miscellaneous business - some legitimate and some less so - for their family when they stumble upon a stash of high-quality pornographic films in a raid. The plot thickens when their Aunt Catalina, the family matriarch aged 115, recognises her long-lost sister in one of the young performers. Catalina tasks the boys with tracking the girl down, however improbable a connection may be. This proves to be no simple task. Soon, Rudy and Frank find themselves moving away from world of porn and towards the upper echelons of the Sinaloa drug cartel, where the mysterious woman has become a particular favourite of the head narco.

Phone for the Fish Knives

Phone for the Fish Knives

Author: Daisy Waugh Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/06/2021

The Todes are back, and they're taking on Hollywood . . . When Hollywood wants to do a remake of the film that made Tode Hall famous, India and Egbert are delighted. They envisage a summer of free money and star-studded dinner parties ahead . . . But the Hall is soon overrun by wardrobe trucks and catering tents, and lusty, insecure actors squabbling about nudity clauses. When the movie's producers threaten to sue over the exact colour of Tode Hall's rolling lawns, India and Egbert realise that having a film crew on their doorstep isn't such a breeze after all. With so many egos in one place things were bound to end badly, but no one would have predicted quite so literal a backstabbing . . . A glorious satire on aristocratic manners and mores, with a smidgeon of murder thrown in, Waugh's hilarious and entirely original twist on the country house murder mystery is 'a perfect antidote to all the real-life craziness going on' Daily Mail

Murder in Chianti

Murder in Chianti

Author: Camilla Trinchieri Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/06/2021

Mourning the loss of his late wife, Rita, former detective Nico Doyle moves to her home town of Gravigna in the wine region of Chianti. He isn't sure if it's peace he's seeking, but that certainly isn't what he finds. Early one morning he hears a gunshot and, led by a stray dog, discovers a flashily dressed man with his face blown off near his home. Salvatore Perillo, the local police inspector, enlists Doyle's help with the murder case. It turns out that more than one person in this idyllic corner of Italy knew the victim, and with a very small pool of suspects, including members of Rita's family, Doyle must dig up Gravigna's every last painful secret to get to the truth.

The Girl from Widow Hills

The Girl from Widow Hills

Author: Megan Miranda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/06/2021

The twisty new thriller from the bestselling author of Reese's Book Club pick The Last House Guest. Everyone knows the story of the girl from Widow Hills... When Arden Maynor was six years old, she was swept away in a terrifying storm and went missing for days. Against all odds, she was found alive, clinging to a storm drain. Fame followed, and so did fans, creeps and stalkers. As soon as she was old enough, Arden changed her name and left Widow Hills behind. Twenty years later, Olivia, as she is now known, is plagued by night terrors. She often finds herself out of bed in the middle of the night, sometimes streets away from her home. Then one evening she jolts awake in her yard, with the corpse of a man at her feet. The girl from Widow Hills is about to become the centre of the story, once again...

Phosphate Rocks

Phosphate Rocks

Author: Fiona Erskine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/06/2021

The Dartmoor Murders

The Dartmoor Murders

Author: Stephanie (Author) Austin Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/06/2021

When Juno Browne purchases a wardrobe to stock in her fledgling antiques store, she doesn't expect to find a dead body inside. And when the man she bought it from, rascally farmer Fred Crick, is found battered to death in his blazing cottage, the hunt for a double murderer is on. Despite the police struggling to connect the two deaths, this time Juno is resolved to ignore her impulse to investigate. Until, that is, a stranger arrives who bears an uncanny resemblance to the dead man in the wardrobe. Determined to discover how his identical twin brother died and impressed by Juno's reputation in the local press as Ashburton's amateur sleuth, Henry tries to drag her into his quest to solve the mystery, with disastrous results.

The Girl from Widow Hills

The Girl from Widow Hills

Author: Megan Miranda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/06/2021

Everyone knows the story of the girl from widow hills... When Arden Maynor was six years old, she was swept away in a terrifying storm and went missing for days. Against all odds, she was found alive, clinging to a storm drain. Fame followed, and so did fans, creeps and stalkers. As soon as she was old enough, Arden changed her name and left Widow Hills behind. Twenty years later, Olivia, as she is now known, is plagued by night terrors. She often finds herself out of bed in the middle of the night, sometimes streets away from her home. Then one evening she jolts awake in her yard, with the corpse of a man at her feet. The girl from Widow Hills is about to become the centre of the story, once again...

Broken Genius

Broken Genius

Author: Drew Murray Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/06/2021

Mr. Tap

Mr. Tap

Author: Neil Watson Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/06/2021

The Witness

The Witness

Author: Terry Lynn Thomas Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

From the USA Today bestselling author, comes the second explosive thriller about attorney Olivia Sinclair who must solve a cold-case murder to clear an innocent man's name... HE SAW WHAT YOU DID... Teenager Ebby Engstrom witnesses a murder - and then passes out. The next morning, he wakes in his bed with no memory of how he got there, and is told his mother was stabbed to death the previous night. Thirty years later, the case has gone cold, with numerous suspects but no new clues - until Ebby starts having uncontrollable flashbacks to that night. As repressed memories surface, he questions his own role in the murder, leading to a dramatic confession and Ebby's arrest. Family friend and attorney Olivia Sinclair is convinced of Ebby's innocence, but the only way to clear his name is to find the real killer herself. And it seems almost everyone connected to the Engstrom family had a reason to want Cynthia dead... An unputdownable thriller full of suspense, perfect for fans of Gillian McAllister, Alafair Burke and The Good Fight. Readers LOVE the Olivia Sinclair series! 'I absolutely loved this book. If you love thrillers you will not be disappointed. FANTASTIC!!!' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars 'An outstanding psychological thriller... Read it. Love it. This is a masterpiece.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars 'Wow. I really loved this book... Fast-paced and kept me guessing.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars 'An excellent thriller!... Kept me guessing until the very end. Highly recommended!' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars 'Amazing. Pulls you in right from the start and keeps you guessing... Excellent.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars 'Grabs you from the start and keeps you engaged till the very end.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars 'Wow, I definitely pulled the just one more chapter line with this one. I couldn't put it down.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars 'Left me consumed and reading faster than I could keep up... Will keep you guessing.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

The Lost and the Damned

The Lost and the Damned

Author: Olivier Norek Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

This impressive debut is slick, sick and not for the faint-hearted. The first 30 pages contain what must be one of the most shocking scenes ever committed to paper. It will make you cry out (for more) - Mark Sanderson, The Times Crime Book of the Month A suspenseful new police procedural from a former French police officer and one of the original writers on the hit series Spiral A corpse that wakes up on the mortuary slab. A case of spontaneous human combustion. There is little by the way of violent crime and petty theft that Capitaine Victor Coste has not encountered in his fifteen years on the St Denis patch - but nothing like this. Though each crime has a logical explanation, something unusual is afoot all the same, and Coste is about to be dragged out of his comfort zone. Anonymous letters addressed to him personally have begun to arrive, highlighting the fates of two women, invisible victims whose deaths were never explained. Just two more blurred faces among the ranks of the lost and the damned. Olivier Norek's first novel draws on all his experience as a police officer in one of France's toughest suburbs - the same experience he drew on as a writer for the hit TV series Spiral. Translated from the French by Nick Caistor

The Roots of Evil

The Roots of Evil

Author: Quintin Jardine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

THE DARKEST DEEDS ARE HIDDEN FROM SIGHT . . . Bob Skinner is back in the latest gritty mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling series, not to be missed by readers of Ian Rankin and Peter May. New Year's Day, and Edinburgh lies sleeping. But two men will never wake again . . . When struggling ex-copper Terry Coats was discovered in bed with an air hostess, his excuse that he was 'going undercover' cut no ice with the force - or his wife. But now he's been brutally killed on Hogmanay night, it seems there may have been more to his plea. Dragged from the New Year celebrations, Special Constable Sir Bob Skinner is shocked to find Coats' body alongside that of Griff Montell: his erstwhile protege, and former lover of Skinner's own daughter, Alex. Could there be some dark truth under Coats' cock-and-bull story, after all? As the secrets start unravelling, Skinner realises he has gravely underestimated someone close to him - and the effects will cost him, and those he loves, dear . . . Praise for Jardine's gripping mysteries: 'The legendary Quintin Jardine . . . such a fine writer' Denzil Meyrick 'Scottish crime-writing at its finest, with a healthy dose of plot twists and turns, bodies and plenty of brutality' Sun 'Another powerful tartan noir that packs a punch' Peterborough Evening Telegraph 'Incredibly difficult to put the book down . . . a guide through a world of tangled family politics, hostile takeovers, government-sanctioned killing, extortion and the seedier side of publishing . . . Quintin Jardine should be . . . your first choice!' Scots magazine 'Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn' Observer