LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crime & mystery

See below for a selection of the latest books from Crime & mystery category. Presented with a red border are the Crime & mystery books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Crime & mystery books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Sunshine State

Sunshine State

Author: D. P., MD Lyle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/05/2020

Criss Cross (Alex Cross 27)

Criss Cross (Alex Cross 27)

Author: James Patterson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/05/2020

__________________________________ 'Sensationally plotted, it leaps off the page and grabs you by the throat' DAILY MAIL 'No one gets this big without amazing natural storytelling talent - which is what Jim has, in spades. The Alex Cross series proves it.' LEE CHILD, international bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series From the author of Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller The President is Missing __________________________________ Could a ghost from his past take everything away from Alex Cross? Mere hours after witnessing the execution of a killer he helped put behind bars, Alex Cross is called to the scene of a copycat murder. A note signed 'M' rests on the corpse: 'You messed up big time, Dr. Cross.' Was an innocent man just put to death? As the executed convict's family launch a vicious campaign against Cross, his abilities as a detective are called into question. The enigmatic 'M' lures Cross out of Washington, DC to the sites of multiple homicides, all marked with distressingly familiar details that conjure up decades-old cases and Cross family secrets. Details that make it clear M is after a prize so dear that - were the killer to attain it - Cross's life would be destroyed. __________________________________ 'Alex Cross is a legend.' HARLAN COBEN Early readers say it's one of the best Alex Cross books yet: 'I have to say that this is one of my favourite Alex Cross books in a long time!' 'I read this book in one sitting and highly recommend it. I've read every single Alex Cross book and this one didn't disappoint. It has a great mix of new cases linked to old cases for Cross.' 'Romped through the latest Alex Cross book! Great read that I just couldn't put down.' 'An intriguing storyline involving the Cross family and enemies from his past. A must read for Patterson fans.' 'As always with James Patterson, he had me from the first page, and kept the pace up to the last.' 'Roll on the next instalment.' 'I absolutely loved this book and once I started reading I just couldn't put it down. It's a fast-paced read, no time to take a break or breathe out as the situations and mysteries are on a roll and unstoppable.' 'A great addition to the Cross series by the most known author in the world for mystery thrillers' 'James Patterson is back at the top of his game with this one.' 'I'm a massive fan of the Alex Cross series so I jumped at the chance to review the latest installment, and I'm so pleased it didn't disappoint. It's action-packed right from the start and had me gripped straight away. ' 'This book is fast paced with lots of twists and turns. My first James Patterson but not my last, really enjoyed and so will you.' 'I have long been a fan of the author and his long running Alex Cross series and this book does not disappoint .' 'I think this one constitutes a must read for fans of Patterson and Dr Cross.'

The Vinyl Detective: Low Action (Vinyl Detective 5)

The Vinyl Detective: Low Action (Vinyl Detective 5)

Author: Andrew Cartmel Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/05/2020

The Vinyl Detective goes punk in his fifth hilarious adventure. Like an old 45rpm record, this book crackles with brilliance. David Quantick on Written in Dead Wax. Semi-retired god of rock guitar and local poseur Erik Make Loud has got himself a new girlfriend. Helene Hilditch - formerly known as Howlin' Hellbitch - of all-girl punk outfit Blue Tits is a mean guitarist, someone is trying to kill her. With a rare pressing of their first album to find, the Vinyl Detective and Nevada are soon called into to help but this time the question is who isn't a suspect. With a trail of grudges behind her, the list of people who could want Helene dead includes her ex-bandmates, their former producer turned record label mogul, the TV presenter that Helene got fired - even their old roadie could be in on it. The only person who isn't a suspect is Delia Lispector, the Blue Tit's bass player who has already been murdered...

Body & Soul A Frank Elder Mystery

Body & Soul A Frank Elder Mystery

Author: John (University of California Davis USA) Harvey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/05/2020

The Spoilt Kill A Staffordshire Mystery

The Spoilt Kill A Staffordshire Mystery

Author: M. Kelly Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/05/2020

Staffordshire in the 1950s. Within the clay tanks at the pottery company Shentall's, a body has been found. Amid cries of industrial espionage and sabotage of this leader of the pottery industry, there is a case of bitter murder to solve for Inspector Hedley Nicholson. Kelly's mystery won the CWA Gold Dagger Award in 1961 for its impeccable sense of place and detail, and for the emotional weight of its central crime. The novel is part of a shift from the cosiness of crime novels before to mysteries characterised by their psychological interest and affecting realism. An influential classic.

Vendetta

Vendetta

Author: Heather Burnside Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

When Adele's brother, Peter, gets banged up for GBH she reluctantly agrees to run his nightclub, The Golden Bell. Strong opposition from Peter's thuggish number two, Glynn, who isn't best pleased about answering to a woman, isn't the only challenge she faces. The Manchester club scene of the 1990s is a dangerous place, at the mercy of illicit protection rackets and rampaging gangs, and, despite Adele's efforts to keep everything legal, the club is beginning to feel like a poisoned chalice. Meanwhile, Glynn is playing his own ruthless game, and when a savage gang attack has devastating consequences Adele is ready to walk away. But Peter has always stood by her and she owes him big time. Besides, where else would an ex-con find work? And someone has to protect her brother's empire from his enemies. Right now, Adele knows she is the only one that Peter can trust, but the stakes may soon get too high...

The Bitterroots

The Bitterroots

Author: C.J. Box Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The ties that bind can burn you. Former sheriff's investigator Cassie Dewell is trying to start over with her own private investigation firm. She's her own boss answering to no one - and that's just the way she likes it after the past few tumultuous years. But it's all going to change when an old friend calls in a favour: she wants Cassie to help exonerate a man accused of assaulting a young woman from an influential family. Against her own better judgment, Cassie agrees. But out by the Bitterroot Mountains of Montana, twisted family loyalty runs as deep as the ties to the land, and there's always something more to the story. The Kleinsassers have ruled this part of Montana for decades, and the Iron Cross Ranch is their stronghold. They want to see Blake Kleinsasser, the black sheep of the family, put away forever for the assault. As Cassie attempts to uncover the truth, she must not only confront a family whose roots are tangled and deadly - she must also face the ghosts of her own past. With The Bitterroots, master storyteller C.J. Box delivers another searing novel of loyalty, lies, and lethal retribution.

The Lizard

The Lizard

Author: Dugald Bruce-Lockhart Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/05/2020

Obsessed with his ex-girlfriend, Alistair Haston heads off to Greece, where she is on holiday. Mugged on the harbourside in Paros, he is robbed of everything. So when Ricky a charming Aussie, shows up and offers Alistair a job recruiting tourists to pose for his wealthy boss, Heinrich, a charismatic, German artist, Alistair accepts. He soon realises that it is more than just painting that Heinrich has in mind. Swept away on a tide of wild parties, wild sex, fine food and drugs Haston sheds his reserve and throws himself headlong into the pursuit of pleasure. Until, the body of a missing tourist is found and the finger of blame points to Haston. His world collapses. Arrested but allowed to escape, the body count piles up and Haston finds himself on the run by land and sea on a journey more breathtaking and more frightening than his wildest dreams.

The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn

The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn

Author: Kate High Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/05/2020

'Animal lovers will delight' Ann Granger 'A real treat . . . I loved it. Cats, dogs, murder and a credible and relatable heroine' Barbara Nadel Clarice Beech has two passions in life: animal rescue and Detective Inspector Rick Beech. She is devoted to the first but she and Rick have been separated for the past six months - life without him is hard. Clarice shares her other love, for contemporary ceramics, with the charming Lady Vita Fayrepoynt. When Vita's adopted three-legged ginger cat Walter disappears from Weatherby Hall Clarice is called in to find him. Walter, snug in an old barn, is quite well. But his discovery ends with Clarice in hospital, and Rose Miller, late of the Old Vicarage in the morgue. There is nothing natural about Rose's death... Putting their differences aside, Clarice and Rick are drawn together to try to understand the murder that has shaken the rural Lincolnshire community. As she explores Rose's past Clarice is pulled into a shady world of blackmail, scams and violence. And as the secrets of Weatherby Hall and the Fayrepoynt family threaten to spill out Clarice finds friendships tested, and her own life at risk. A debut mystery set in the Lincolnshire Wolds, featuring an amateur detective who mixes sleuthing with her other great love: animal rescue. The perfect classic crime mystery for fans of Ann Granger, M. C. Beaton and Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders.

Berkeley Noir

Berkeley Noir

Author: Jerry Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

Mousse And Murder

Mousse And Murder

Author: Elizabeth Logan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

To the Land of Long Lost Friends

To the Land of Long Lost Friends

Author: Alexander McCall Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The latest installment from the beloved THE NO. 1 LADIES' DETECTIVE AGENCY series . . . TO THE LAND OF LONG LOST FRIENDS Mr J. L. B. Matekoni usually steers clear of Mma Ramotswe's cases, but on this occasion he is approached by a client of the garage who tells a tale of woe. This man has entrusted his brother to oversee the building of a house, yet the project is complete and now the brother won't leave. How is he to get him to move on? Surprisingly, Mr Polopetsi comes to the rescue. Elsewhere, a woman with a troublesome daughter comes to see Mma Ramotswe, and Mma Ramotswe finds herself trying to reconcile the two. Finally, Charlie is still enamoured of Queenie-Queenie. She, however, has developed a fancy for Fanwell. With the threat of an awkward love triangle looming, Mma Makutsi gets involved and so do her shoes . . .