LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crime & mystery

See below for a selection of the latest books from Crime & mystery category. Presented with a red border are the Crime & mystery books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Crime & mystery books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Playing Fields

The Playing Fields

Author: Stella Cameron Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/08/2021

Life Without Parole

Life Without Parole

Author: Elaine Viets Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/08/2021

Many Deadly Returns

Many Deadly Returns

Author: Margaret Murphy, Ann Cleeves, Kate Ellis Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/08/2021

Ice and Stone

Ice and Stone

Author: Marcia Muller Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/08/2021

Private investigator Sharon McCone goes undercover to investigate the murders of two Indigenous women in remote Northern California in this gripping, atmospheric mystery in the New York Times bestselling series. When two women are brutally murdered in northern California, their deaths are the latest atrocities in a surge of violence targeting Indigenous women in the area. Despite all evidence to the contrary, local officials rule the deaths isolated incidents, and they soon join the ranks of other unsolved homicides, quickly forgotten by law enforcement. Private Investigator Sharon McCone knows better, and so does the organization known as Crimes Against Indigenous Sisters, which hires Sharon to go undercover in Eiwok county, a tiny region on the mountainous Oregon border, to uncover the murderer. In an isolated cabin in the freezing, treacherous woods, Sharon must unravel a mystery that is rooted in ignorance, profound hatred, and vengeance -- before another victim is claimed.

The Dentist

The Dentist

Author: Tim Sullivan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/08/2021

Introducing your new crime thriller fix: Bristol detective DS George Cross, champion of the outsider, the voiceless and the dispossessed. DS George Cross can be rude, difficult, and awkward with people. But his unfailing logic and dogged pursuit of the truth means his conviction rate is the best on the force. An outsider himself, having been diagnosed with Autism spectrum disorder, DS Cross is especially drawn to cases concerning the voiceless and the dispossessed. Who was the unknown man whose weather-beaten body is discovered on Clifton Downs? Did the tragedy that led to a life on the streets also lead to his death? His police colleagues may dismiss it as a squabble among Bristol's homeless community, but Detective Sergeant George Cross is not convinced. As he delves into the dead man's past, Cross becomes convinced that to catch this killer, he needs to solve a cold case murder from years before. A murder that someone has spent fifteen years thinking they've got away with. And they have no intention of letting one eccentric, socially awkward detective, change that now...

Two Women And A Poisoning

Two Women And A Poisoning

Author: Alfred Doblin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/08/2021

Death Comes to Bishops Well: The Shires Mysteries 1

Death Comes to Bishops Well: The Shires Mysteries 1

Author: Anna Legat Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/08/2021

BOOK ONE IN THE SHIRES MYSTERIES - A TWISTY NEW WHODUNIT. When Sam Dee moves to the beautiful Wiltshire village of Bishops Well, he expects a quiet life of country walks and pub lunches. OK, so his new neighbour, Maggie Kaye, is a little peculiar, but she's very nice - and his old pal Richard Ruta lives just down the road. But when Richard throws one of his famous parties, things take a sinister turn. Sam, Maggie and the rest of the guests are dumbfounded when Richard falls down dead. A horrible tragedy - or a cunningly planned murder? With a village full of suspects - and plenty of dark secrets - just who exactly would want to bump off their host? Is there a connection to another mysterious death, nearly twenty years before? Armed with her local knowledge, Maggie - with Sam's reluctant but indispensable help - is soon on the case. But when the body count starts to rise, will sleepy Bishops Well ever be the same again? A GRIPPING NEW COSY CRIME MYSTERY, FOR FANS OF BETTY ROWLANDS, FAITH MARTIN AND JOY ELLIS. What readers are saying about Anna Legat: 'Brilliant. I didn't want to put it down!' 'It's a rare author who can keep me guessing until the end - and the ending was a shocker' 'Plenty of twists and turns' 'A brilliantly complex spaghetti of unrelated sub-plots to challenge any armchair sleuth' 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book, reading it cover to cover in a weekend' 'I shall look out for more from Ms Legat'

Death of a Selkie

Death of a Selkie

Author: D.P. Hart-Davis Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/08/2021

Gentlemen Formerly Dressed

Gentlemen Formerly Dressed

Author: Sulari Gentill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/08/2021

After narrowly escaping the terror of Nazi Germany, Rowland Sinclair and his companions land in London, believing they are safe... but they are wrong. A bizzare murder plunges the hapless Australian into a queer world of British aristocracy, fascist Blackshirts, illicit love, scandal and spies. A world where gentlemen are not always what they are dressed up to be.

Campus Bones

Campus Bones

Author: Vivian Barz Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/08/2021

A Murder Unmentioned

A Murder Unmentioned

Author: Sulari Gentill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/08/2021

A newly-discovered gun casts light on Rowland Sinclair's father's death some thirteen years earlier. The whole Sinclair family has ducked the issue, keeping secret the fact that Sinclair senior was murdered. A murder the family would prefer stayed unsolved. Rowland's nemesis, right-wing New Guard leader Eric Campbell, uses his influence to set the police to renew their inquiries into Henry Sinclair's death. As old wounds tear open, the dogged loyalty of Rowland's inappropriate companions is all that stands between him and the consequences of a brutal murder.

Paving The New Road

Paving The New Road

Author: Sulari Gentill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/08/2021

It's 1933, and the political landscape of Europe is darkening. Eric Campbell, the man who would be Australia's Fuhrer, is on a fascist tour of the Continent, meeting dictators over cocktails and seeking allegiances in a common cause. Yet the Australian way of life is not undefended. The clandestine armies of the Establishment have once again mobilised to thwart any friendship with the Third Reich. But when their man in Munich is killed, desperate measures are necessary. Now Rowland Sinclair must travel to Germany to defend Australian democracy from the relentless march of Fascism.