LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fiction & related items

See below for a selection of the latest books from Fiction & related items category. Presented with a red border are the Fiction & related items books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Fiction & related items books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Shelter in Place

Shelter in Place

Author: David Leavitt Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

'Very funny and unexpected, a material response to our times, plush as velvet' Rachel Cusk 'A wickedly funny and emotionally expansive novel' Jenny Offill It is the Saturday after the 2016 presidential election, and in a plush weekend house in Connecticut, a group of New Yorkers has gathered to recover from what they consider the greatest political catastrophe of their lives. Liberal and like-minded, the friends have come to the countryside in the hope of restoring the bubble in which they have grown used to living. Moving through her days accompanied by a carefully curated salon, Eva Lindquist is a generous hostess with an obsession for decorating. Yet when, in her avidity to secure shelter for herself, she persuades her husband to buy a grand if dilapidated apartment in Venice, she unwittingly sets off the chain of events that will propel him to venture outside the bubble and embark on an unexpected love affair. A slyly comic look at the shelter industry, Shelter in Place is a novel about house and home, furniture and rooms, safety and freedom and the insidious ways in which political upheaval can undermine even the most seemingly impregnable foundations.

The Game

The Game

Author: Luca Veste Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

An edge-of-your-seat thriller that merges the twists of a psychological-mystery with the investigative layers of a procedural . . . THEY KNOW WHAT YOU DID You receive a call, an email, a text - someone knows your secret and they want to ruin you. AND THEY'RE OUT FOR BLOOD If you don't do what they say, they'll tell everyone what you've been hiding. They will come after you, destroy you, and they aren't afraid to kill. IT'S TIME TO PLAY THE GAME Why readers love Luca Veste's novels . . . 'High-concept serial killer thriller with twists and heart. Stunning' STEVE CAVANAGH 'A fast-paced mystery about friendships, secrets and fears with a twist in the tail that fooled me completely' CHRIS EWAN 'Properly Stephen King-style creepy' IAN RANKIN 'Perfectly terrifying' AMANDA JENNINGS 'A dark and brilliant thriller from a writer who just gets better and better' MARK BILLINGHAM 'An entertainingly nasty piece of work' CHRISTOPHER BROOKMYRE

Shelter in Place

Shelter in Place

Author: David Leavitt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

'Very funny and unexpected, a material response to our times, plush as velvet' Rachel Cusk 'A wickedly funny and emotionally expansive novel' Jenny Offill It is the Saturday after the 2016 presidential election, and in a plush weekend house in Connecticut, a group of New Yorkers has gathered to recover from what they consider the greatest political catastrophe of their lives. Liberal and like-minded, the friends have come to the countryside in the hope of restoring the bubble in which they have grown used to living. Moving through her days accompanied by a carefully curated salon, Eva Lindquist is a generous hostess with an obsession for decorating. Yet when, in her avidity to secure shelter for herself, she persuades her husband to buy a grand if dilapidated apartment in Venice, she unwittingly sets off the chain of events that will propel him to venture outside the bubble and embark on an unexpected love affair. A slyly comic look at the shelter industry, Shelter in Place is a novel about house and home, furniture and rooms, safety and freedom and the insidious ways in which political upheaval can undermine even the most seemingly impregnable foundations.

Hicks Road

Hicks Road

Author: Julian P Flores Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/10/2020

A Good Map of All Things

A Good Map of All Things

Author: Alberto A lvario RA os Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2020

Happy Days at the Pug Cafe

Happy Days at the Pug Cafe

Author: Anushka Fernando, Bertie the Pug Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Bertie the pug had an unlucky start in life. Diagnosed with hemivertebrae and unable to walk, his owner decided to open up a dog-friendly cafe where he could meet friends and have fun. The Pug Cafe quickly became a very special place for all dog owners to meet and have a drink. But when the cafe faced closure, it was brave Bertie the pug and his friends who came to the rescue. Inspired by true events, Happy Days at the Pug Cafe tells the heartwarming story of one little pug and his beloved cafe. Help yourself to a pugaccino, put up your paws and get your nose into the heartwarming tale of Bertie and friends.

Death Takes a Byline

Death Takes a Byline

Author: D. S. (D. S. Lliteras) Lliteras Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/10/2020

A Conspiracy of Silence

A Conspiracy of Silence

Author: Anna Legat Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

A totally gripping Wiltshire mystery: the fifth book in the unputdownable DI Gillian Marsh series. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan and J.R. Ellis. When a body is found in the grounds of a prestigious Wiltshire private school, DI Gillian Marsh takes on the case. The young groundsman, Bradley Watson, has been shot dead, pierced through the heart with an arrow. As the investigation gathers pace, DI Marsh is frustrated to find the Whalehurst staff and students united in silence. This scandal must not taint their reputation. But when Gillian discovers pictures of missing Whalehurst pupil, fifteen-year-old Rachel Snyder, on Bradley's dead body - photos taken on the night she disappeared, and he was murdered - the link between the two is undeniable. But what is Whalehurst refusing to reveal? And does Gillian have what it takes to bring about justice? What readers are saying about Anna Legat: 'Brilliant. I didn't want to put it down!' 'It's a rare author who can keep me guessing until the end - and the ending was a shocker' 'Plenty of twists and turns' 'A brilliantly complex spaghetti of unrelated sub-plots to challenge any armchair sleuth' 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book, reading it cover to cover in a weekend' 'I shall look out for more from Ms Legat'

Jack

Jack

Author: Marilynne Robinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/09/2020

`Grace and intelligence ...[her work] defines universal truths about what it means to be human' - President Obama Marilynne Robinson, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the American National Humanities Medal, returns to the world of Gilead with Jack, the final in one of the great works of contemporary American fiction. Jack tells the story of John Ames Boughton, the beloved and grieved-over prodigal son of a Presbyterian minister in Gilead, Iowa, a drunkard and a ne'er-do-well. In segregated St. Louis sometime after World War II, Jack falls in love with Della Miles, an African-American high school teacher, also a preacher's child, with a discriminating mind, a generous spirit, and an independent will. Their fraught, beautiful story is one of Robinson's greatest achievements.

The Three Mrs. Wrights

The Three Mrs. Wrights

Author: Linda Keir Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/09/2020

Jack

Jack

Author: Marilynne Robinson Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/09/2020

'Grace and intelligence ...[her work] defines universal truths about what it means to be human' Barack Obama Marilynne Robinson, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the American National Humanities Medal, returns to the world of Gilead with Jack, the final in one of the great works of contemporary American fiction. Jack tells the story of John Ames Boughton, the loved and grieved-over prodigal son of a Presbyterian minister in Gilead, Iowa, a drunkard and a ne'er-do-well. In segregated St. Louis sometime after World War II, Jack falls in love with Della Miles, an African-American high school teacher, also a preacher's child, with a discriminating mind, a generous spirit and an independent will. Their fraught, beautiful story is one of Robinson's greatest achievements.

Croton

Croton

Author: Artur (Artur Tadevosyan) Tadevosyan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/09/2020