LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fiction & related items

See below for a selection of the latest books from Fiction & related items category. Presented with a red border are the Fiction & related items books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Fiction & related items books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

You Had It Coming

You Had It Coming

Author: B.M. Carroll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

'A wonderful writer of addictive, authentic Australian stories' - LIANE MORIARTY WOULD YOU SAVE THE MAN WHO DESTROYED YOUR LIFE? When paramedic Megan Lowe is called to the scene of an attempted murder, all she can do is try to save the victim. But as the man is lifted onto a stretcher, she realises she knows him. She despises him. Why should she save his life when he destroyed hers? Jess Foster is on her way home when she receives a text from Megan. Once best friends, the two women haven't been close for years, not since the night when they were just the teenage girls whom no-one believed; whose reputations were ruined. All Jess can think is, you had it coming. Now Megan and Jess are at the centre of a murder investigation. But what secrets are they hiding? Can they trust one another? And who really is the victim? Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Lucy Foley and Lisa Hall, You Had It Coming is a thrilling tale of suspense and dark secrets.

You Had It Coming

You Had It Coming

Author: B.M. Carroll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

'A wonderful writer of addictive, authentic Australian stories' - LIANE MORIARTY WOULD YOU SAVE THE MAN WHO DESTROYED YOUR LIFE? When paramedic Megan Lowe is called to the scene of an attempted murder, all she can do is try to save the victim. But as the man is lifted onto a stretcher, she realises she knows him. She despises him. Why should she save his life when he destroyed hers? Jess Foster is on her way home when she receives a text from Megan. Once best friends, the two women haven't been close for years, not since the night when they were just the teenage girls whom no-one believed; whose reputations were ruined. All Jess can think is, you had it coming. Now Megan and Jess are at the centre of a murder investigation. But what secrets are they hiding? Can they trust one another? And who really is the victim? Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Lucy Foley and Lisa Hall, You Had It Coming is a thrilling tale of suspense and dark secrets.

The Cat and The City

The Cat and The City

Author: Nick Bradley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 'Ingenious ... touching, surprising and sometimes heartbreaking.' Guardian 'If you're itching to read a new novel by David Mitchell ... try this.' The Times _______________ In Tokyo - one of the world's largest megacities - a stray cat is wending her way through the back alleys. And, with each detour, she brushes up against the seemingly disparate lives of the city-dwellers, connecting them in unexpected ways. But the city is changing. As it does, it pushes her to the margins where she chances upon a series of apparent strangers - from a homeless man squatting in an abandoned hotel, to a shut-in hermit afraid to leave his house, to a convenience store worker searching for love. The cat orbits Tokyo's denizens, drawing them ever closer. 'Masterfully weaves together seemingly disparate threads to conjure up a vivid tapestry of Tokyo; its glory, its shame, its characters, and a calico cat.' David Peace, author of THE TOKYO TRILOGY One of the Independent's best debuts

Of Stone and Sky

Of Stone and Sky

Author: Merryn Glover Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/05/2021

After Highland shepherd Colvin Munro disappears, a mysterious trail of his possessions is found in the Cairngorm mountains. Writing the eulogy for his memorial years later, his foundling-sister Mo seeks to discover why he vanished. Younger brother Sorley is also haunted by his absence and driven to reveal the forces that led to Colvin's disappearance. Is their brother alive or dead? Set on a farming estate in the upper reaches of the River Spey, Of Stone and Sky follows several generations of a shepherding family in a paean to the bonds between people, their land and way of life. It is a profound mystery, a passionate poem, a political manifesto, shot through with wisdom and humour.

Peterdown

Peterdown

Author: David Annand Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/05/2021

Peterdown, an industrial town with a noble past and a lacklustre present, has been chosen as the regional hub for a soon-to-be-built, ultra-high-speed railway line. The development promises to propel Peterdown headlong into a prosperous future; but in order to get there, something from the landscape of Peterdown's past will have to be demolished. On the shortlist are the Larkspur Hill housing estate, a significant modernist landmark, and the Chapel, the raucous home of the town's football team, Peterdown United. Ellie Ferguson, an architect exiled from London, is as determined to save the Larkspur as her partner, Colin, a lifelong United fan, is desperate to save the Chapel. As they each find themselves leading increasingly passionate and opposing campaigns, their essential differences become hard to ignore. Out of this spins an epic, wide-angle novel, rich with character and incident. Affairs are embarked upon. Conspiracies are uncovered. A broad-based popular insurgency ignites. Peterdown brings England's beleaguered streetscape to life and finds lurking there a playful and storied counterculture: mad monks and machine breakers, avant-gardists and non-conformists. Full of warmth, comedy, character and anarchic radicalism, Peterdown is an ambitious tale about work and play, community and place, and how, ultimately, we might live in the face of history.

The Heart Remembers

The Heart Remembers

Author: Jan-Philipp Sendker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

Twelve-year-old Ko Bo Bo lives with his uncle U Ba in Kalaw, a town in Burma. An unusually perceptive child, Bo Bo can read people's emotions in their eyes. This acute sensitivity only makes his unconventional home life more difficult: His father comes to visit him once a year, and he can hardly remember his mother, who, for unclear reasons, keeps herself away from her son. Everything changes when Bo Bo discovers the story of his parents' great love, which threatens to break down in the whirlwind of political events, and of his mother's mysterious sickness. Convinced that he can heal her and reunite their family, Bo Bo decides to set out in search of his parents.

Only the Pretty Lies

Only the Pretty Lies

Author: Rebekah Crane Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2021

Tears of Amber

Tears of Amber

Author: Sofia Segovia Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2021

Only the Pretty Lies

Only the Pretty Lies

Author: Rebekah Crane Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/05/2021

Gone Missing in Harlem

Gone Missing in Harlem

Author: Karla FC Holloway Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2021

The Hi Lo Country, 60th Anniversary Edition

The Hi Lo Country, 60th Anniversary Edition

Author: Max Evans, Johnny D. Boggs Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2021

At its heart, The Hi Lo Country is the story of the friendship between two men, their mutual love of a woman, and their allegiance to the harsh, dry, achingly beautiful New Mexico high-desert grassland. The story is told by Pete, a young ranch hand, whose best friend is Big Boy Matson. Together they drink, gamble, fight, work, and rodeo. They both fall hard for a married woman--the attractive, bored, and dangerous Mona. When it was first published in 1961, the novel was both a celebration and an elegy. It captured something jagged and authentic in the West, and it caught the attention of Hollywood--notably Sam Peckinpah, who spent twenty years trying to make a movie of this multilayered and plainspoken novel. It would take another twenty years for Martin Scorcese and Stephen Frears to finally do it. Now in a special 60th anniversary edition, The Hi Lo Country continues to tell a quintessential story of the people and the land found in the American West.

Nighthawking

Nighthawking

Author: Russ Thomas Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

The latest novel by the author of FIREWATCHING, by 'a bold and brilliant new voice in crime fiction' Sheffield's beautiful Botanical Gardens - an oasis of peace in a world filled with sorrow, confusion and pain. And then, one morning, a body is found in the Gardens. A young woman, dead from a stab wound, buried in a quiet corner. Police quickly determine that the body's been there for months. It would have gone undiscovered for years - but someone just sneaked into the Gardens and dug it up. Who is the victim? Who killed her and hid her body? Who dug her up? And who left a macabre marker on the body? In his quest to find her murderer, DS Adam Tyler will find himself drawn into the secretive world of nighthawkers: treasure-hunters who operate under cover of darkness, seeking the lost and valuable... and willing to kill to keep what they find. That which was lost... will always be found again Praise for RUSS THOMAS and FIREWATCHING 'I loved it! Nighthawking turns Sheffield into a dark and terrifying underworld, and the plot is wonderfully fresh and original' KATE RHODES 'Superb. Every part of Nighthawking is so well woven together . . . the end dragged me around and spat me out a broken man. Highly recommended' JAMES DELARGY 'In the clever and compulsive Firewatching, DS Adam Tyler navigates a complex cast of villains and victims in a cold case that suddenly turns very, very hot' LOUISE CANDLISH 'A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new . . . I loved it' LEE CHILD 'Devoured in three days. A cracking read with a terrific new detective lead. Red hot debut for 2020' SARAH HILARY 'A fantastic read with a plot that left me guessing and a cast of very real and well imagined characters.' JAMES DELARGY 'A great read. Totally absorbed me' CASS GREEN 'Intelligent, pacy and compelling, it's everything you could want from a crime novel' SARAH WARD, author of the DC Childs mysteries