LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Prose: non-fiction

See below for a selection of the latest books from Prose: non-fiction category. Presented with a red border are the Prose: non-fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Prose: non-fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

I've Been Meaning to Tell You A Letter To My Daughter

I've Been Meaning to Tell You A Letter To My Daughter

Author: David Chariandy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2020

'There is, as you pick it up, nothing to prepare you for its power' OBSERVER 'Quite simply, one of the most beautiful books I have ever read' AMINATTA FORNA How do we navigate our complex histories for our children? What is our duty to share and what must we leave for them to discover? Writing to his daughter, David Chariandy asks difficult, unsettling, perhaps impossible questions - questions made all the more poignant by our current political landscape. With tender, spare and luminous prose, Chariandy looks both into his heart and mind and out to the world and humanity. In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, this is a book about race; this is a book about family.

E. T. A. Hoffmanns Marchenschaffen Kaleidoskop Der Verfremdung in Seinen Sieben Marchen

E. T. A. Hoffmanns Marchenschaffen Kaleidoskop Der Verfremdung in Seinen Sieben Marchen

Author: Gisela Vitt-Maucher Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/05/2020

This book provides a critical study of all seven of Hoffmann's Kunstmarchen. Vitt-Maucher's detailed individual analyses focus on Hoffmann's use of structural, stylistic, and linguistic devices to create poetic deviations from the norms of reality. These deviations are diverse: distortions of language and time; altered dimensions of reality, persons, and objects; transformations and reversals of 'normal' conditions or conventions. They underlie Hoffmann's often humorous or grotesque world of fairy tale 'magic' and convey to the reader the poet's intent. In the course of his fairy tale production (1814-1821), Hoffmann's use of language, imagery, and structure becomes increasingly distorted and alienated from everyday reality. Similarly, his employment of humor develops from early sociocritical, ironic, and parodistic intent to more autonomous and clearly less referential forms of 'absolute humor.'

Italian Life A Modern Fable of Loyalty and Betrayal

Italian Life A Modern Fable of Loyalty and Betrayal

Author: Tim Parks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Forty years ago, Tim Parks made the bel paese his home. Italian Life is his reckoning with his adopted country, an attempt to get to the core of it, to make sense of it, to fold others' stories in with his own experience - now that he is, in his own words, 'to some degree Italian' himself. The result is an arresting, on-the-ground account of 21st century Italy told through the eyes of a rich cast of characters, among them students from poverty-stricken Basilicata trying to start new lives in the wealthy gloom of Milan, a priest, a poet, a young professor from Padua, and an Englishman who refuses to toe the line. At the book's centre is a story of corruption and power. But it is also a celebration of culture and history, fact and fable, sacred and secular, ancient and modern- a thought-provoking, surprising, entertaining and even definitive account of how Italy actually happens.

Italian Life A Modern Fable of Loyalty and Betrayal

Italian Life A Modern Fable of Loyalty and Betrayal

Author: Tim Parks Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Forty years ago, Tim Parks made the bel paese his home. Italian Life is his reckoning with his adopted country, an attempt to get to the core of it, to make sense of it, to fold others' stories in with his own experience - now that he is, in his own words, 'to some degree Italian' himself. The result is an arresting, on-the-ground account of 21st century Italy told through the eyes of a rich cast of characters, among them students from poverty-stricken Basilicata trying to start new lives in the wealthy gloom of Milan, a priest, a poet, a young professor from Padua, and an Englishman who refuses to toe the line. At the book's centre is a story of corruption and power. But it is also a celebration of culture and history, fact and fable, sacred and secular, ancient and modern- a thought-provoking, surprising, entertaining and even definitive account of how Italy actually happens.

Algernon Charles Swinburne Selected Writings

Algernon Charles Swinburne Selected Writings

This volume in the 21st-Century Oxford Authors series offers students and readers a comprehensive selection of the work of Algernon Charles Swinburne (1837-1909). This authoritative edition presents students with a new, more complete, more challenging, but also more credible Swinburne than ever before. This edition presents the first rigorous scholarly edition of a substantial selection of Swinburne's work ever produced. Swinburne was one of the most brilliant and controversial poets of the nineteenth century: a republican; a scorner of established Christianity; a writer of sexual daring; a poet of loss and of love. Yet he is also the most misunderstood poet of the Victorian period. This new edition, with substantial editorial material, presents a new and convincing portrait of a man sharply different from what is usually said of him. Beginning with his unpublished 'Ode to Mazzini' (1857) and ending with his last major critical work on The Age of Shakespeare (1908), this edition offers Swinburne in the round-a man of astonishing consistency whose formal innovations and critical penetration remain persistently engaging as well as provocative. A major introduction explores Swinburne's complicated reaction to the scandal of his first major collection, Poems and Ballads (1866); his life-long commitment to radical voices (Blake, Hugo, Landor, Shelley); his permanent hostility to tyranny; his sense of literature as a living form and of the heroic personality of the artist; his dazzling art criticism and adroit analysis of Renaissance and modern literature; his exceptional elegies for dead friends; his burlesques and richly atmospheric fiction and drama. The edition draws on rich contemporary sources, manuscripts, and the diverse print culture of Swinburne's day, as well as moving through ancient and modern languages that Swinburne wrote with fluency. Explanatory notes and commentary are included to enhance the study, understanding, and enjoyment of these works, and the edition includes an Introduction to the life of Swinburne.

Mezcal

Mezcal

Author: Charles Bowden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/05/2020

Praise for Mezcal: Mezcal is also a lyrical meditation upon the ultimate strength of the land, specifically the desert Southwest, and how that land prevails and endures despite every effort of modern industry and development to rape and savage it in the name of progress. Mezcal lingers in the mind as only the very best books manage to do. -Harry Crews The author . . . excavates his own tormented life-and its relation to the land he loves-in a series of powerful, imagistic autobiographical essays. Like the desert he cherishes, this memoir is harsh yet lovely, full of sour self-truth. . . . A potent presentation of the wounds of one man's life, packed with indelible impressions; but there's little healing here, making this a bitter if beautiful read. -Kirkus Review In Mezcal . . . Bowden drops the journalistic veil, exploring the ecology of his interior landscape at least as thoroughly as the changing scenery that surrounds him. . . . Others-Aldo Leopold, Edward Abbey-have already staked inviolate claims on the Southwestern deserts. But Bowden owns the complex terrain where, like a mezcal-inspired mirage, the Sonoran sun-belt overlaps the gray convolutions of the American mind. -Los Angeles Times

Jericho

Jericho

Author: Charles Bowden, Charles D'Ambrosio Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/05/2020

In a career defined by an allegiance to the truth, Charles Bowden's reporting continually unearthed the gritty realities behind high-profile hype, including the doomed War on Drugs. His daring expeditions to Ciudad Juarez, which resulted in such books as his bestseller Murder City, left him with haunting images of ruthless drug lords and their prey. In Jericho, an unpublished work brought to light after Bowden's death in 2014, he captures the monumental corruption and addiction to power that fuel Mexico's drug cartels-and that have fueled much of humanity's suffering throughout the ages. Interspersed with scenes from the battle of the walled city of Jericho, which in Bowden's eyes is not a story of inspiring strength but of bloodthirsty plunder, the world of El Sicario ( the hitman ) unfolds in brutal detail. Bucolic settings such as the Falcon International Reservoir become the site of an unsolved murder as Bowden examines why the high murder rate in Juarez has yet to spill across the border. Yet, recalling his younger days in Louisiana and retracing the atrocities of racism in America, Bowden reveals a history where greed knows no borders, while undaunted voices (including his own) relentlessly expose its perpetrators.

TEAM MANAGEMENT Harness the Power of the Collective

TEAM MANAGEMENT Harness the Power of the Collective

Author: Alan Clifton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2020

MANAGEMENT LESSONS FROM THE MASTERS Believe to Succeed like Azim Premji

MANAGEMENT LESSONS FROM THE MASTERS Believe to Succeed like Azim Premji

Author: Rajiv Agarwal Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2020

The Edinburgh History of Reading Subversive Readers

The Edinburgh History of Reading Subversive Readers

Author: Jonathan Rose Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/04/2020

Subversive Readers explores the strategies used by readers to question authority, challenge convention, resist oppression, assert their independence and imagine a better world. This kind of insurgent reading may be found everywhere: in revolutionary France and Nazi Germany, in Eastern Europe under Communism and in Australian and Iranian prisons, among eighteenth-century women reading history and nineteenth-century men reading erotica, among postcolonial Africans, the blind, and pioneering transgender activists.

The Edinburgh History of Reading Common Readers

The Edinburgh History of Reading Common Readers

Author: Jonathan Rose Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/04/2020

Common Readers casts a fascinating light on the literary experiences of ordinary people: miners in Scotland, churchgoers in Victorian London, workers in Czarist Russia, schoolgirls in rural Australia, farmers in Republican China, and forward to today's online book discussion groups. Chapters in this volume explore what they read, and how books changed their lives.