Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Open Skies Synopsis

This open access book on the history of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory covers the scientific discoveries and technical innovations of late 20th century radio astronomy with particular attention to the people and institutions involved. The authors have made extensive use of the NRAO Archives, which contain an unparalleled collection of documents pertaining to the history of radio astronomy, including the institutional records of NRAO as well as the personal papers of many of the pioneers of U.S. radio astronomy. Technical details and extensive citations to original sources are given in notes for the more technical readers, but are not required for an understanding of the body of the book. This book is intended for an audience ranging from interested lay readers to professional researchers studying the scientific, technical, political, and cultural development of a new science, and how it changed the course of 20th century astronomy.

Book Information

ISBN: 9783030323448
Publication date: 30th June 2020
Author: Kenneth I. Kellermann, Ellen N. Bouton, Sierra S. Brandt
Publisher: Springer Nature Switzerland AG
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 652 pages
Categories: Astronomy, space & time, History of science,

About Kenneth I. Kellermann, Ellen N. Bouton, Sierra S. Brandt

K. I. Kellermann has 60 years of experience in radio astronomy including more than 50 years at NRAO. He is the former Chair of the IAU Historical Radio Astronomy Working Group, and editor of several books on the history of radio astronomy. E. N. Bouton has been at NRAO for more than 40 years, first as Librarian and for the last 16 years as the Archivist. S. S. Brandt is an historian of science who has worked with the NRAO Archives for the past eight years.

More About Kenneth I. Kellermann, Ellen N. Bouton, Sierra S. Brandt

Share this book