books of the month twitter
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Freeways A Journey West on Route 66 by Lewis Davies, Gillian Griffiths


Freeways A Journey West on Route 66 by Lewis Davies, Gillian Griffiths

A road book about travel and the lure of migration. A drive along Route 66 from Oklahoma through New Mexico and Arizona to the promised land of California. A country obsessed with change and itself, fragmenting into pieces as the drift of manifest prosperity stalls on the coast.


'Evokes a vivid picture of the promised road to prosperity, bringing to life the sweat, toil and seediness along the way.'
South Wales Echo


About the Author

Lewis Davies' novels include 'Work, Sex and Rugby', 'Tree of Crows' and 'My Piece of Happiness' which he also adapted for the theatre. He won the Rhys Davis prize for 'Mr Roopratna's Chocolate'. He has edited two short fiction anthologies, 'Mama's Baby (Papa's Maybe)' and 'The Urban Welsh'.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

21st September 2002


Lewis Davies, Gillian Griffiths

More books by Lewis Davies, Gillian Griffiths
Author 'Like for Like'


Parthian Books


196 pages


Travel writing



A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey