Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Eternal Legacy An Introduction to the Canonical Literature of Buddhism

by Ven Sangharakshita

The Eternal Legacy An Introduction to the Canonical Literature of Buddhism Synopsis

Brilliantly and concisely summarises the essence of core teachings such as the Jataka Tales, Samyutta-nikaya, Anguttara-nikaya, Diamond Sutra, White Lotus Sutra, Vimalakirt-nirdesa, Lankavatara Sutra, Sutra of Golden Light, Flower-Ornament Sutra, Perfection of Wisdom teachings, the Abhidharma and more. Also addresses the question of what actual constitutes Buddhism's authentic canonical literature. This new edition includes a fresh preface by the author. Realizing that he was a Buddhist at age 16, Sangharakshita eventually spent 20 years in India. Returning to England, he established Friends of the Western Buddhist Order (1967); Western Buddhist Order (1968). Author of nearly 50 books.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781899579587
Publication date: 6th February 2006
Author: Ven Sangharakshita
Publisher: Windhorse Publications
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Categories: Buddhism, Sacred texts,

About Ven Sangharakshita

Sangharakshita was born Dennis Lingwood in South London, in 1925. Largely self-educated, he developed an interest in the cultures and philosophies of the East early on, and realized that he was a Buddhist at the age of sixteen. The Second World War took him, as a conscript, to India, where he stayed on to become the Buddhist monk Sangharakshita. After studying for some years under leading teachers from the major Buddhist traditions, he went on to teach and write extensively. He also played a key part in the revival of Buddhism in India, particularly through his work among followers of Dr ...

More About Ven Sangharakshita

Share this book