Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Handsome Jita Selected Poems

by Vonani Bila

Handsome Jita Selected Poems Synopsis

Handsome Jita is a selection of Vonani Bila's best poems from his three previous collections: No Free Sleeping (1988); In the Name of Amandla (2004); and Magicstan Fires (2006). Vonani Bila is one of South Africa's most incisive and socially-critical poetic voices. His is the eye tha refuses to look away. With unfaltering clarity he brings to light the stories of shame, degradation and despair that lurk in the hidden reaches of our national consciousness - and conscience. His poems invoke the shadow world of alternate reality inhabited by the denizens fo the social fringes: sex workers, destitute pensioners, victims of violence, domestic and political, and the other social and political discards - the 'inconvenient truths' of a South Africa 'that has the best constitution in the world', Bila's writing is breathtaking in its narrative command and intelligent, articulate anger.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781869141264
Publication date: 1st October 2007
Author: Vonani Bila
Publisher: University of KwaZulu-Natal Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 96 pages
Categories: Poetry,

About Vonani Bila

More About Vonani Bila

Share this book