Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

A Game of Sorrows

by S. G. MacLean

Part of the Alexander Seaton Series

A Game of Sorrows Synopsis

Second historical thriller in the Alexander Seaton series sweeps the hero back to his roots in Ulster, and a family living under a curse and riven with long-held secrets Aberdeen, 1628. Alexander Seaton's happily settled life as a university teacher is shattered by the arrival in town of a stranger who looks like his twin and who carries a plea for help from Alexander's dead mother's family in Ireland. The family has been placed under a poet's curse, threatening death to various members. Elements of the curse have already begun to play out. Reluctantly answering the call, Seaton travels to Ulster, to find himself among a family torn apart by secrets and deep resentments. As he seeks out the author of the curse, he becomes deeply entangled in a conflict that involves fugitive priests, displaced poets, rebellious plotters and agents of the king. Confronted by murder within his family, he finds the lines between superstition and faith, duty and loyalty are becoming increasingly blurred, while his Scottish homeland grows ever more remote.

A Game of Sorrows Press Reviews

'A substantial story, well researched, never slackening pace' Scotsman. * Scotsman * 'Combines the ironclad plotting of Sansom with the artful recreation of Mantel' Independent. * Independent * 'MacLean has the first-rate historical novelist's gift... communicates her passion for the period without downplaying its brutishness' Daily Telegraph. * Daily Telegraph * 'A fine, rich, beautiful historical thriller - literate, engaging and moving' Manda Scott. * Manda Scott *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781849162449
Publication date: 2nd September 2010
Author: S. G. MacLean
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 416 pages
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About S. G. MacLean

S.G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University, specializing in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Scottish history. She has written four highly acclaimed historical thrillers set in Scotland, The Redemption of Alexander Seaton (shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger), A Game of Sorrows, Crucible of Secrets and The Devil's Recruit, and a series of historical thrillers set in Oliver Cromwell's London. The first and third books in the series, The Seeker and Destroying Angel, have won the CWA Historical Dagger and the second, The Black Friar, was longlisted for the same award. S.G. MacLean is married with four ...

More About S. G. MacLean

More Books By S. G. MacLean

Cover for The Seeker by S. G. MacLean
Cover for The Seeker by S. G. MacLean
Cover for Devil's Recruit by S. G. MacLean
View All Books By S. G. MacLean

Share this book