Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Three Plays of the Absurd

by Walter Wykes

Three Plays of the Absurd Synopsis

In this collection of plays, Walter Wykes creates a series of modern myths, tapping into something in the strata of the subconscious, through ritualism and rich, poetic language. The worlds he creates are brand new and hilarious, yet each contains an ancient horror we all know and cannot escape and have never been able to hang one definitive word on. The Profession follows the experiences of a naive young man exposed to the inner workings of a secret society of assassins. In Fading Joy a young woman finds herself caught up in the intoxicating world of a smooth-talking salesman. When he flees to escape a mysterious group known only as The Tall Men, she finds it impossible to go back to her old way of life. Finally, The Father Clock tells the apocalyptic tale of two actors and a stage manager abandoned by their aging director. As the auditorium begins to fill and the lights dim, they desperately attempt to pull the show together even as a strange illness drifts through the theatre.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847284051
Publication date: 15th September 2006
Author: Walter Wykes
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Walter Wykes

More About Walter Wykes

Share this book