Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Glamour Chase

by Tom Doyle

The Glamour Chase Synopsis

A first-rate charmer with a devilish twinkle in his eye, Billy MacKenzie was a maverick figure within the music industry whose wild and mischievous spirit possibly did him more harm than good. As frontman of the Associates, gifted with an otherwordly, octave-scaling operatic voice, MacKenzie, together with partner Alan Rankine, enjoyed Top Twenty chart success in 1982. At the height of their success, however, they split. Over the ensuing years, MacKenzie gained a reputation for his unhinged career tactics, generous spirit and knack for squandering large amounts of record-company money. Born in Dundee in 1957 he was the eldest son in a large Catholic family. He was bullied at school and sought refuge in music. He was a schemer and dreamer, a breeder of whippets and a bisexual who kept quiet about his private life. During his lifetime, his unique vocal gift attracted the attention of Shirley Bassey, Annie Lennox and Bjork. However, in the tradition of Scott Walker, Syd Barrett and Nick Drake, MacKenzie's tale is one of thwarted talent and, ultimately, tragedy. He was found dead, aged 39, at his father's home in Scotland, on 22 January 1997, having taken an overdose.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781846972096
Publication date: 15th August 2011
Author: Tom Doyle
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 288 pages
Categories: Biography: arts & entertainment, Individual composers & musicians, specific bands & groups, Rock & Pop music,

About Tom Doyle

Tom Doyle has written for Q, Mojo, Elle and Melody Maker. He was born in Dundee and lives in London.

More About Tom Doyle

More Books By Tom Doyle

Cover for Man on the Run Paul McCartney in the 1970s by Tom Doyle
Cover for Man on the Run Paul McCartney in the 1970s by Tom Doyle
View All Books By Tom Doyle

Share this book