newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

The Glamour Chase by Tom Doyle


The Glamour Chase by Tom Doyle

A first-rate charmer with a devilish twinkle in his eye, Billy MacKenzie was a maverick figure within the music industry whose wild and mischievous spirit possibly did him more harm than good. As frontman of the Associates, gifted with an otherwordly, octave-scaling operatic voice, MacKenzie, together with partner Alan Rankine, enjoyed Top Twenty chart success in 1982. At the height of their success, however, they split. Over the ensuing years, MacKenzie gained a reputation for his unhinged career tactics, generous spirit and knack for squandering large amounts of record-company money. Born in Dundee in 1957 he was the eldest son in a large Catholic family. He was bullied at school and sought refuge in music. He was a schemer and dreamer, a breeder of whippets and a bisexual who kept quiet about his private life. During his lifetime, his unique vocal gift attracted the attention of Shirley Bassey, Annie Lennox and Bjork. However, in the tradition of Scott Walker, Syd Barrett and Nick Drake, MacKenzie's tale is one of thwarted talent and, ultimately, tragedy. He was found dead, aged 39, at his father's home in Scotland, on 22 January 1997, having taken an overdose.

About the Author

Tom Doyle

Tom Doyle is an acclaimed music journalist, author and long-standing contributing editor to Q, whose work has also appeared in Mojo, the Guardian, Marie Claire, Elle, The Times and Sound on Sound. Over the years he has been responsible for key magazine-cover profiles of Paul McCartney, Keith Richards, Kate Bush, Elton John, R.E.M. and U2, amongst many others. He is the author of 'The Glamour Chase: The Maverick Life of Billy MacKenzie' (Bloomsbury 1998, Polygon 2011) which has attained the status of a classic rock biography since its original publication.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th August 2011


Tom Doyle

More books by Tom Doyle
Author 'Like for Like'


Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General


288 pages


Biography: arts & entertainment
Individual composers & musicians, specific bands & groups
Rock & Pop music



Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson