Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

No One But a Woman Knows Stories of Motherhood Before the War

by Margaret Llewelyn Davies

Part of the Virago Modern Classics Series

No One But a Woman Knows Stories of Motherhood Before the War Synopsis

'I was married at twenty and a mother of three by twenty-three . . . When I look back at the first three years of my marriage, I wonder how I lived through it.' When it was published in 1915 No One But a Mother Knows provoked a sensation - for the first time, working women were able to put across their view of maternity. These humbling autobiographical portraits are as valuable today as they were almost 100 years ago: in their own words these women tell of the horrors of bringing ten children into the world in as many years; of not being able to afford a doctor or nurse; of the physical and emotional strain of bringing up large families with very little help. These extraordinary and inspiring stories of poverty and hardship remind us of the astounding endurance of woman and of the strength of a mother's love.

No One But a Woman Knows Stories of Motherhood Before the War Press Reviews

'Written in blood and tears . . . I found the total effect overwhelming' -- Elizabeth Longford

Book Information

ISBN: 9781844088027
Publication date: 5th July 2012
Author: Margaret Llewelyn Davies
Publisher: Virago Press Ltd an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 288 pages
Categories: Autobiography: historical, political & military,

About Margaret Llewelyn Davies

No One But a Woman Knows includes voices from many working class women. It was edited by Margaret Llewelyn Davies, General Secretary of the Women's Co-operative Guild from 1889-1921.

More About Margaret Llewelyn Davies

Share this book