eleanor oliphant make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Great Poets: John Masefield by John Masefield

The Great Poets: John Masefield

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.


The Great Poets: John Masefield by John Masefield

John Masefield (1878? ?1967) was one of the most prolific, popular and successful poets of the twentieth century. Masefield broke upon Edwardian literature with the startling work entitled The Everlasting Mercy which described the spiritual enlightenment of a drunken poacher. Over the span of his lifetime, he was appointed Poet Laureate and amassed a large number of admirers, which included such high-profile names as John Betjeman, Robert Graves, and W.B. Yeats. This collection contains thirty-six poems spanning Masefield's entire career. There are early poems including Salt-Water Ballads (1902) and Ballads (1903), followed by extracts the narrative poems The Everlasting Mercy, Dauber, and Reynard the Fox. The selection also includes a number of sonnets - including On Growing Old, as well as his poetry on the Romans alongside a number of rarities.

About the Author

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st July 2013


John Masefield

More books by John Masefield
Author 'Like for Like'


Naxos AudioBooks


Running Time: 67 minutes


Poetry by individual poets



Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel