Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Real Oliver Twist Robert Blincoe - A Life That Illuminates an Age

by John Waller

The Real Oliver Twist Robert Blincoe - A Life That Illuminates an Age Synopsis

From a parish workhouse to the heart of the industrial revolution, from debtors' jail to Cambridge University and a prestigious London church, Robert Blincoe's political, personal and turbulent story illuminates the Dickensian age like never before. In 1792 as revolution, riot and sedition spread across Europe, Robert Blincoe was born in the calm of rural St Pancras parish. At four he was abandoned to a workhouse, never to see his family again. At seven, he was sent 200 miles north to work in one of the cotton mills of the dawning industrial age. He suffered years of unrelenting abuse, a life dictated by the inhuman rhythm of machines. Like Dickens' most famous character, Blincoe rebelled after years of servitude. He fought back against the mill owners, earning beatings but gaining self-respect. He joined the campaign to protect children, gave evidence to a Royal Commission into factory conditions and worked with extraordinary tenacity to keep his own children from the factories. His life was immortalised in one of the most remarkable biographies ever written, A Memoir of Robert Blincoe. Renowned popular historian John Waller tells the true story of a parish boy's progress with passion and in enthralling detail.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781840465426
Publication date: 22nd September 2005
Author: John Waller
Publisher: Icon Books Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 480 pages
Categories: Biography: historical, political & military, Social & cultural history,

About John Waller

John Waller is a brilliant young historian whose previous books include The Discovery of the Germ (Icon, 2002), Fabulous Science (OUP, 2001) and Leaps in the Dark (OUP, 2004).

More About John Waller

Share this book