A Child of the East End

Paperback edition released 04/08/2022

by Jean Fullerton

A Child of the East End Synopsis

A brand new uplifting, emotional and sometimes shocking memoir about life in London's oldest suburb, from the Queen of saga fiction Jean Fullerton . . . * One of my first East London memories is lying in bed, listening to the low boom of the barges as they nudged each other on the Thames, just half a mile away from our estate . . . Life in Cockney London was tough in the post-war years. The government's broken promises had led to a chronic housing shortage, rampant crime and families living in squalor. But one thing prevailed: the unbeatable spirit of the East End, a tight-knit community who pulled through the dark times with humour and heart. Drawing on both family history and her own memories of growing up in the 1950s and '60s, as well as her working life as a district nurse and local police officer, Jean Fullerton vividly depicts this fascinating part of London - from tin baths, to jellied eels, to tigers in a Wapping warehouse. ***Includes a bonus 8-page photo plate section!*** A Child of the East End is an eye-opening, heartfelt and atmospheric portrait of life in the East End after the war from 'the queen of saga fiction', perfect for fans of My East End by Gilda O'Neill and Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth. - FIND OUT WHY READERS ARE FALLING IN LOVE WITH JEAN FULLERTON: 'Food for the soul, it's simply deliciously readable and enjoyable' LoveReading 'Charming and full of detail... You will ride emotional highs and lows... Beautifully written' The Lady on A Ration Book Daughter 'A delightful, well researched story' bestselling author Lesley Pearse 'A real page-turner with larger-than-life characters and convincing period detail' Daily Express

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781838952860
Publication date: 4th August 2022
Author: Jean Fullerton
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Primary Genre Sagas

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781838952860
Publication date: 04/08/2022
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Jean Fullerton

Jean Fullerton is a native East Londoner and authentic cockney. Born within the sound of Bow Bells, as a child she lived in a derelict one-up one-down cottage by London Docks before being rehoused as part of the post-war slum clearances. Because of her love of history, Jean hoped to become a theatrical costumier, starting out as a general dog's body in a local clothing factory before working her way up to being a pattern cutter at Jaegers. 'Clearly not the next Mary Quant', Jean decided to take a completely different career pathway and, at twenty-three joined the Metropolitan Police ...

More About Jean Fullerton

More Books By Jean Fullerton

A Child of the East End
A Child of the East End
A Child of the East End
View All Books By Jean Fullerton

Share this book