LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Wolf Den

Paperback edition released 13/05/2021 (ISBN: 9781838933548)

by Elodie Harper

Historical fiction Books of the Month Sagas Audiobooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Wolf Den

An entertaining firecracker blazing with wolfish verve and a woman’s desire to escape the Pompeii brothel she’s enslaved to.

Set in AD 74, Elodie Harper’s The Wolf Den tells the enthralling tale of Amara, a prostitute enslaved to Pompeii’s lupanar brothel. Serving a rich feast of historic atmosphere with all the pace of popular drama, fans of spicy historic fiction will be left longing to devour the second course of this trilogy - think TV show Harlots set in ancient Pompeii.

Educated doctor’s daughter Amara once lived free, but the poverty that came in the wake of her father’s death led to enslavement to the Wolf Den brothel, where her cell is adorned with a picture of “a woman being taken from behind” and a terracotta lamp “modelled in the shape of a penis” (the real-life lupanar brothel is famed for its erotic frescos). By day, the she-wolves visit the women’s baths and stalk the streets to draw business to the Den. By night, “the brothel passes like a scene from Hades: the endless procession of drunken men, the smoke, the soot, angry shouting,” until Amara lies in her cell, “unable to sleep, suffocated by rage”.

When fellow she-wolf Victoria says how lucky they are, Amara’s retort is characteristically sharp: “Here we all are…Four penniless slaves sucking off idiots for bread and olives. What a life.” And a life she refuses to settle for when “the desire to escape takes hold, its roots digging deep under her skin, breaking her apart.

Harper’s style is exhilaratingly direct, with images lingering long in the mind’s eye. You smell the oil lamps and temple incense, taste sticky figs, feel physical blows, and the dialogue packs powerful punch too. It’s a vivacious piece of work, and all underpinned by a woman’s longing for freedom.

Joanne Owen

The Wolf Den Synopsis

'Utterly spellbinding' Woman & Home 'I couldn't put it down' Claire Douglas 'Deeply moving' William RyanSold by her mother. Enslaved in Pompeii's brothel. Determined to survive. Her name is Amara. Welcome to the Wolf Den... Amara was once a beloved daughter, until her father's death plunged her family into penury. Now she is a slave in Pompeii's infamous brothel, owned by a man she despises. Sharp, clever and resourceful, Amara is forced to hide her talents. For now her only value lies in the desire she can stir in others. But Amara's spirit is far from broken. By day, she walks the streets with the Wolf Den's other women, finding comfort in the laughter and dreams they share. For the streets of Pompeii are alive with opportunity. Out here, even the lowest slave can secure a reversal in fortune. Amara has learnt that everything in this city has its price. But how much is her freedom going to cost her? Set in Pompeii's lupanar, The Wolf Den is the first in a trilogy of novels reimagining the lives of women who have long been overlooked. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls and Madeline Miller's Circe. Reviews for The Wolf Den: 'A compelling story of survival, friendship and courage. Amara and her fellow she-wolves are vividly drawn in a fascinating depiction of women at the time. Utterly spellbinding' Woman & Home 'Rich in historical detail, beauty and brutality, The Wolf Den brings to vivid life the doomed city of Pompeii and the powerlessness of its women. I loved it' Caroline Lea, author of The Glass Woman 'A vivacious piece of work underpinned by a woman's longing for freedom' LoveReading 'Utterly gripping' Daisy Dunn, author of In the Shadow of Vesuvius 'Unflinching ... The best book I've read in ages' Sophie van Llewyn, author of Bottled Goods 'The best historical fiction holds a mirror up to the present and The Wolf Den is a triumph. Harper transports us thousands of years and thousands of miles and yet we see ourselves reflected there' Claire McGlasson, author of The Rapture 'A riveting tale of power, love, hate, privilege, female empowerment and female friendships found in the most unlikely situations' Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781838933548
Publication date: 13th May 2021
Author: Elodie Harper
Publisher: Apollo an imprint of Head of Zeus
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Collections: 2021 Preview - Exciting New Books on the Horizon, Around the World in 80+ Historical Novels.,
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Copy of The Royal Secret and The Last Protector by Andrew Taylor!

Win a Copy of The Royal Secret and The Last Protector by Andrew Taylor!

Closing date: 30/05/2021

"A fabulously pacy, clever, and entertaining historical crime novel packed full of plots and skulduggery." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer The Royal Secret by Andrew Taylor is the latest in the James Marwood and Cat Lovett series. To celebrate it's release we are working with HarperCollins to give away a copy of The Royal Secret and a copy of the previous book in the series, The Last Protector. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th May 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

A Silver Lining
Hearts of Gold
Sisters of Gold
Spitfire Girl

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781838933555
Publication date: 07/10/2021
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781838933531
Publication date: 13/05/2021
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781800248564
Publication date: 13/05/2021
Format: Audiobook

View All Editions

About Elodie Harper

Elodie Harper is a journalist and prize-winning writer. Her story 'Wild Swimming' won the 2016 Bazaar of Bad Dreams short story competition, which was judged by Stephen King. She is currently a reporter and presenter at ITV News, and before that worked as a producer for Channel 4 News. Her job as a journalist has seen her join one of the most secretive wings of the Church of Scientology and cover the far right hip hop scene in Berlin, as well as crime reporting in Norfolk where her first two novels were set - The Binding Song and The Death Knock. Elodie ...

More About Elodie Harper

More Books By Elodie Harper

The Wolf Den
The Wolf Den
The Wolf Den
View All Books By Elodie Harper

Share this book