LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

A Suspicion of Silver

by P. F. Chisholm

Part of the Sir Robert Carey Mysteries Series

A Suspicion of Silver Synopsis

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey mystery, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and S.J. Parris. Sir Robert Carey, Deputy Warden of the West March, has just foiled a double plot to assassinate King James. Now he rides for Leith hunting the would-be killer Joachim Hochstetter. Has he taken ship for the Continent, or ridden south for England and, quite literally, gone to ground? Originally from Augsburg, Hochstetter's family runs a smelting business in Keswick amid a colony of German miners. Just how far would they go to protect one of their own? Sir Robert's other problem? His dour, difficult Sergeant, Henry Dodd, has disappeared somewhere on the snowy moors. They found his horse... but there's no sign of the rider. Sir Robert's searches will see him sorely tested, both above and below ground, at sword's point and at fuse's end... 'Chisholm displays a masterful hand ... A resoundingly satisfying conclusion and a terrific hook. I have never loved Sir Robert more' DANA STABENOW.

A Suspicion of Silver Press Reviews

'Fast moving and packed with little-known, but fascinating, historical detail ... Chisholm displays a masterful hand in drawing several plotlines from her previous novels to a resoundingly satisfying conclusion in a final chilling chase. This new addition to a top-notch series is one of her best - culminating with the setting of a terrific hook on the last page!' Crime Review. 'Chisholm smoothly inserts realistic details of daily life in 16th-century Britain into this fast-moving historical. Those interested in the mining techniques of the period will be gratified' Publishers Weekly. 'Character-driven, swiftly moving, and filled with fascinating historical details about mining and the Scottish border country. Chisholm continues to impress with each new addition to a top-notch series' Kirkus. 'Chisholm displays a masterful hand in drawing several plot lines from the previous novels to a resoundingly satisfying conclusion, and in setting a terrific hook on the last page. Mickey Spillane, who famously said The last line sells the next book, would have given her a standing ovation for this one. I have never loved Sir Robert more' Dana Stabenow. 'A fast-moving tale of the 1500's which I thoroughly enjoyed. The description of Carey's fight against his claustrophobia is great and his fear is quite palpable ... A great read' Promoting Crime Fiction by Lizzie Hayes.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788549790
Publication date: 14th November 2019
Author: P. F. Chisholm
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 320 pages
Categories: Historical adventure, Historical mysteries,

About P. F. Chisholm

P.F. Chisholm is an author and journalist. She is a graduate of Oxford University with a degree in History. Her first novel, A Shadow of Gulls, published when she was eighteen, won the David Higham Award for Best First Novel. patriciafinney.com

More About P. F. Chisholm

Share this book