10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books.

Caryl Phillips: Plays One

View All Editions

The selected edition of this book is not available to buy right now.
Add To Wishlist
Write A Review


Caryl Phillips: Plays One Synopsis

Three plays by playwright and novelist Caryl Phillips, written in the 1980s and collected here for the first time. Strange Fruit is a powerful study of a black family caught between two cultures; Where There is Darkness examines the plight of a West Indian man, Albert Williams, on the eve of his return to the Caribbean after an absence of twenty-five years; The Shelter alternates between the late eighteenth-century and 1950s London, exploring the relationship between a black man and a white woman.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781786827906
Publication date: 17th October 2019
Author: Caryl Phillips
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Series: Oberon Modern Playwrights
Genres: Plays, playscripts
Ethnic studies
Social and cultural history
Theatre studies
Literary studies: plays and playwrights
Modern and contemporary plays (c 1900 onwards)