LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Maestra The shocking international number one bestseller

by L. S. Hilton

Maestra The shocking international number one bestseller Synopsis

READ THE CONTROVERSIAL THRILLER THAT SHOCKED THE WORLD THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER GLAMOUR'S WRITER OF THE YEAR By day Judith Rashleigh is a put-upon assistant at a London auction house. By night she's a hostess in one of the capital's unsavoury bars. Desperate to make something of herself, Judith knows she has to play the game. She's learned to dress, speak and act in the interests of men. She's learned to be a good girl. But after uncovering a dark secret at the heart of the art world, Judith is fired and her dreams of a better life are torn apart. So she turns to a long-neglected friend. A friend that kept her chin up and back straight through every past slight. A friend that a good girl like her shouldn't have: Rage. Fatal attraction meets The Talented Mr Ripley in this darkly decadent thriller, soon to be a major Hollywood film, that asks: Where do you go when you've gone too far?

Maestra The shocking international number one bestseller Press Reviews

Brimming with scandal, intrigue and mystery, this is a book that everyone is talking about * Heat * [U]tterly un-put-down-able, a shocking and sexy psychological thriller * PopSugar * Set in a world of oligarchs, Mafiosi and dodgy art dealers, it also has in Judith Rashleigh a heroine you'll either love or loathe, at least two jaw-on-the-floor moments and sex scenes that would make Christian Grey blush * Red magazine * The next Gone Girl thriller everyone will be talking about * GoodReads Review * Smart, pacy and very rude * Glamour * Riveting... one of the most memorable females in recent fiction * Amy Pascal, Columbia Pictures Producer * Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl * New York Times * A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works * Harpers Bazaar, '10 Best Books for 2016' * This is already being compared to The Girl On The Train and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo in terms of addictability * Glamour, `11 Female Authored Reads for 2016' * One for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey * Grazia, 'Best of New Books' * This new thriller features a sexually voracious heroine eager to make her mark on the world * Irish Daily Mail * Fantastically good fun... LS Hilton can write. She can even make you think that popping along to a sex party..is quite a good idea. She writes convincingly about female desire. This book will make money and give pleasure -- Christina Patterson * The Sunday Times * A gloriously dark thriller... * Grazia Magazine * A maest (sic) read * Grazia Magazine * We'll be talking about the protagonist of this steamy thriller for years to come... * Grazia Magazine * Fifty Shades it is not- it's much better...There's a real plot. And real sexy talk....it's the very definition of a page turner. * Hear Magazine * The sexiest book of the year * Nottingham Post * It's a hot read! * Strathallen Times, Stirling News * In this marvellous debut, Hilton shows us how deadly such work can sometimes be. * Max Dunbar Blog * Well written and fast paced, and with a scandalous peep into the world of art dealing and a liberal amount of sex, MAESTRA is a fun and enjoyable read. * crimethrillergirl.com * This years must read * Huddersfield Daily Examiner, Evening Chronicle (Newcastle), South Wales Echo, Liverpool Echo, Daily Post (Wales) * She (Hilton) is smart and scathing on the art world; she clearly knows her stuff, and the novel is most interesting when she digresses into art history. -- Stephanie Merritt * The Observer, The New Review * You'll have to move to a wi-fi free island in the middle of the Pacific for Maestra to pass you by this summer....Set to be the 'it' book of 2016...A murderous heroine you'll love to hate. -- Hannah Britt * Daily Express, Scottish Daily Express * This years The Girl on the Train * Sheer Luxe * * I went from not thinking I'd enjoy it to not wanting to put it down. Gripped from the very first 'c' bomb dropped on page two. Judith is a sassy, smart and very dangerous heroine and I couldn't help but really like her. So read it before everyone else does because I do think it will be the most talked abut book this year - and with reason. -- Amy Space * Bella Magazine's Editor * 'This is the must-read raunchy book of the year' * Xpose Magazine * A bonkbuster with brains... LS Hilton sets pulses racing with her novel Maestra, about orgies, escorts and the art world -- Fiona Wilson * The Times Ireland * This year's Fifty Shades brings sexual intrigue to the world of art fraud. At last someone has. * Cosmopolitan Magazine * Darkly compelling...a female reincarnation of Patricia Highsmith's Tom Ripley... * Winq * Judith Rashleigh, also known as Lauren, is a woman on a mission, fuelled by a simmering hatred that drives her calculating behaviour ... * tripfiction.com * Completely Unputdownable -- Sue Turnbull * The Age, Australia * A spectacular act of revenge- on the English middle class- and men...aloof and independent minded... * Standpoint Magazine * A glamorous, witty and adrenaline fuelled romp- if you like your heroines sexy, vengeful, amoral and lethal thenMaestra delivers in spades. * Irish Times, Weekend Review * Maestra has an incredibly gorgeous vibe in both character study and scene setting, the writing is visceral, beautiful and indelible. This one will stay with you... Highly HIGHLY Recommended. * lizlovesbooks.com * It's a hot read! * Hillfoot Advertiser * The Talented Mr Ripley meets Gone Girl in this darkly decadent and compelling new thriller * mojomums.co.uk * Deliciously decadent...a glamorous and racy adventure * Sunday Mirror * Maestra is a fun, sexy novel...more self-determined than the ones her recent predecessors have offered -- Fiona Wilson * The Times * A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works * Harpers Bazaar Magazine * Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl * New York Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781785760839
Publication date: 10th March 2016
Author: L. S. Hilton
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 352 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About L. S. Hilton

L.S. Hilton is a writer and journalist who presently lives in London.

More About L. S. Hilton

More Books By L. S. Hilton

Cover for Domina by L. S. Hilton
Cover for Maestra The Most Shocking Thriller You'll Read This Year by L. S. Hilton
Cover for Maestra The Most Shocking Thriller You'll Read This Year by L. S. Hilton
View All Books By L. S. Hilton

Share this book