LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Madonna of Bolton

by Matt Cain

The Madonna of Bolton Synopsis

Charlie Matthews's love story begins in a pebble-dashed house in suburban Bolton, at a time when most little boys want to grow up to be Michael Jackson, and girls want to be Princess Diana. Remembering the Green Cross Code and getting out of football are the most important things in his life, until... On his ninth birthday, Auntie Jan gives him a gift that will last a lifetime: a seven-inch single called 'Lucky Star'. He discovers Madonna - and falls in love. Casting the pop icon in the role of his spirit guide, Charlie draws on Madonna's audacity and ambition to help him find the courage to overcome his own obstacles and become a success in life. His obsession sees him through some tough times, but in order to be truly happy, he'll need to find his own inner strength...

The Madonna of Bolton Press Reviews

The hardback received glowing reviews across the board from the Sunday Times, Mail On Sunday, Attitude, Heat and many more. Madonna will be in the UK throughout spring and summer playing live to promote her upcoming album The author is in talks with Madonna's own production company regarding a film option. Widespread support from celebrities and authors (including David Walliams, Mark Gatiss and S. J. Watson). Matt Cain is the former culture editor of Channel 4. He's well connected, particularly with gay celebrities and allies and will be appearing across print and TV around publication. Matt will be available for events and signings around publication and will appear at all the major summer music and literature festivals. For fans of Billy Elliot, Beautiful Thing and Maggie and Me.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783528004
Publication date: 16th May 2019
Author: Matt Cain
Publisher: Unbound
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 416 pages
Categories: Romance,

About Matt Cain

Matt Cain was born in Bury and brought up in Bolton. He spent ten years making arts and entertainment programmes for ITV before stepping in front of the camera in 2010 to become Channel 4 News's first ever Culture Editor. His first novel, Shot Through the Heart, was published in 2014 and his second, Nothing but Trouble, followed in 2015. As a journalist he's contributed articles to all the major UK newspapers and in 2017 was voted Diversity in Media's Journalist of the Year. In spring 2018 he stepped down as Editor-in-Chief of Attitude, the UK's biggest-selling magazine for gay men. He lives in London. @mattcainwriter / ...

More About Matt Cain

More Books By Matt Cain

Cover for Shot Through The Heart by Matt Cain
Cover for The Madonna of Bolton by Matt Cain
View All Books By Matt Cain

Share this book