LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Blackwater the pulse-racing introduction to the DI Nicholas Lowry thrillers

by James Henry

Part of the DI Nick Lowry Thrillers Series

Blackwater the pulse-racing introduction to the DI Nicholas Lowry thrillers Synopsis

'A fast-moving thriller. I was totally absorbed by it' ELLY GRIFFITHS 'Vivid and compelling, with great evocation of the 1980s period' PETER JAMES 'A masterclass in place and landscape' CHRISTIE WATSON PERFECT FOR FANS OF PETER JAMES AND STUART MACBRIDE. January 1983, Blackwater Estuary A new year brings a new danger to the Essex shoreline. An illicit shipment, bound for Colchester - 100 kilograms of powder that will frantically accelerate tensions in the historic town, and leave its own murderous trace. Detective Inspector Nick Lowry, and his fellow officers Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel must now develop a tolerance to one another, and show their own substance, to save Britain's oldest settlement from a new, unsettling enemy.

Blackwater the pulse-racing introduction to the DI Nicholas Lowry thrillers Press Reviews

A masterclass in place and landscape. -- Christie Watson A fast-moving thriller with strong characters, dark humour and a terrific sense of place. I was totally absorbed by it. * Elly Griffiths * Brilliantly engineered police procedural. * Daily Mirror * A palpable hit . . . [a] dark, but glittering pearl. -- Barry Forshaw on First Frost A brilliant read, I can't recommend it highly enough. -- Martina Cole on First Frost This is great stuff. -- Peter Robinson on First Frost The smell of the marshes permeates every page . . . This is old-style policing set in an interesting period, and it's an encouraging start to what is likely to be an engaging series. -- Geoffrey Wansell * Daily Mail * Perfectly structured, authentically bred from its bleak and watery setting, Blackwater gives us a new Essex reimagined as a noir landscape. -- Lawrence Osborne, author of The Forgiven James Henry has done it again with another taut, highly atmospheric police procedural! -- Simon Kernick Vivid and compelling, with great evocation of the 1980s period. -- Peter James

Book Information

ISBN: 9781780879802
Publication date: 16th May 2017
Author: James Henry
Publisher: riverrun an imprint of Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 496 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About James Henry

James Henry is the pen name for James Gurbutt, who has written four prequels to R D Wingfield's popular Frost series. He works in publishing, and lives in Essex.

More About James Henry

More Books By James Henry

Cover for Morning Frost DI Jack Frost Series 3 by James Henry
Cover for Morning Frost (DI Jack Frost 3) by James Henry
View All Books By James Henry

Share this book