Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

debuts of the month eleanor oliphant
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Bones in the Belfry by Suzette A. Hill
  

Synopsis

Bones in the Belfry by Suzette A. Hill

Having extricated himself from the embarrassment of murdering his lady parishioner, the Rev. Oughterard is now plunged into the traumas of art theft.Forced by the shady Nicholas Ingaza into being a fence for stolen paintings, he endures the investigative probings of terrifying female novelist and amateur sleuth, Maud Tubbly Pole, hell-bent on portraying him in her next novel.Haunted by the recent murder and fearful of exposure in his new role of 'receiver', the Reverend blunders haplessly in a mesh of intrigue and risible deceit. As before, his antics are commented upon by his cat, the acidic Maurice, and redoubtable bone-grinding ally, the dog Bouncer.Praise for Suzette A. Hill:'Perfect one-sitting summer read.' Laura Wilson, Guardian'I think this is tremendous - amusing and professional' Dame Beryl Bainbridge'E F Benson crossed with Jerome K Jerome' The Times audiobooks review'This dry, funny British gem, with its eccentric cast of characters, will have readers laughing and eagerly awaiting the next episode' Publishers Weekly'An intriguingly quirky read! And Maurice the cat is a very clever puss indeed!' Leslie Phillips OBE

Reviews

This is English country life done up Seinfeld style, complete with a gin drinking bull-dog. It should appeal to fans of Martha Grimes, Saki and Wodehouse. * Historical Novel Society. * There is a feel of Wodehouse about this book...the prose is delicious and I enjoyed every word of it. Highly recommended * Mystery Woman. * Quite why this series should be charming, astringent and witty, instead of emetically twee, I am not sure, but it is entirely delightful. -- Laura Wilson * Guardian *


About the Author

Suzette Hill was born in East Sussex, and spent much of her childhood playing spies and smugglers on Beachy Head and picnicking at the foot of the Long Man of Wilmington. Hill worked as a teacher in both public school and adult education before retiring in 1999. She now lives in Ledbury, Herefordshire. At the age of sixty-four and on a whim, she took up a pen and began writing. Hill has since published six novels, including the Reverend Oughterard series.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th December 2001

Author

Suzette A. Hill

More books by Suzette A. Hill
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Robinson Publishing an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781780332482

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools