book price comparison Harry Potter House Eds debuts of the month
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Bones in the Belfry by Suzette A. Hill
  

Bones in the Belfry

RRP £6.99

Synopsis

Bones in the Belfry by Suzette A. Hill

Having extricated himself from the embarrassment of murdering his lady parishioner, the Rev. Oughterard is now plunged into the traumas of art theft.Forced by the shady Nicholas Ingaza into being a fence for stolen paintings, he endures the investigative probings of terrifying female novelist and amateur sleuth, Maud Tubbly Pole, hell-bent on portraying him in her next novel.Haunted by the recent murder and fearful of exposure in his new role of 'receiver', the Reverend blunders haplessly in a mesh of intrigue and risible deceit. As before, his antics are commented upon by his cat, the acidic Maurice, and redoubtable bone-grinding ally, the dog Bouncer.Praise for Suzette A. Hill:'Perfect one-sitting summer read.' Laura Wilson, Guardian'I think this is tremendous - amusing and professional' Dame Beryl Bainbridge'E F Benson crossed with Jerome K Jerome' The Times audiobooks review'This dry, funny British gem, with its eccentric cast of characters, will have readers laughing and eagerly awaiting the next episode' Publishers Weekly'An intriguingly quirky read! And Maurice the cat is a very clever puss indeed!' Leslie Phillips OBE

Reviews

This is English country life done up Seinfeld style, complete with a gin drinking bull-dog. It should appeal to fans of Martha Grimes, Saki and Wodehouse. * Historical Novel Society. * There is a feel of Wodehouse about this book...the prose is delicious and I enjoyed every word of it. Highly recommended * Mystery Woman. * Quite why this series should be charming, astringent and witty, instead of emetically twee, I am not sure, but it is entirely delightful. -- Laura Wilson * Guardian *


About the Author

Suzette Hill was born in East Sussex, and spent much of her childhood playing spies and smugglers on Beachy Head and picnicking at the foot of the Long Man of Wilmington. Hill worked as a teacher in both public school and adult education before retiring in 1999. She now lives in Ledbury, Herefordshire. At the age of sixty-four and on a whim, she took up a pen and began writing. Hill has since published six novels, including the Reverend Oughterard series.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st January 2012

Author

Suzette A. Hill

More books by Suzette A. Hill
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Robinson Publishing an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781780332482

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools