Bones in the Belfry

by Suzette A. Hill

Bones in the Belfry Synopsis

Having extricated himself from the embarrassment of murdering his lady parishioner, the Rev. Oughterard is now plunged into the traumas of art theft. Forced by the shady Nicholas Ingaza into being a fence for stolen paintings, he endures the investigative probings of terrifying female novelist and amateur sleuth, Maud Tubbly Pole, hell-bent on portraying him in her next novel. Haunted by the recent murder and fearful of exposure in his new role of 'receiver', the Reverend blunders haplessly in a mesh of intrigue and risible deceit. As before, his antics are commented upon by his cat, the acidic Maurice, and redoubtable bone-grinding ally, the dog Bouncer. Praise for Suzette A. Hill: 'Perfect one-sitting summer read.' Laura Wilson, Guardian 'I think this is tremendous - amusing and professional' Dame Beryl Bainbridge 'E F Benson crossed with Jerome K Jerome' The Times audiobooks review 'This dry, funny British gem, with its eccentric cast of characters, will have readers laughing and eagerly awaiting the next episode' Publishers Weekly 'An intriguingly quirky read! And Maurice the cat is a very clever puss indeed!' Leslie Phillips OBE

Bones in the Belfry Press Reviews

This is English country life done up Seinfeld style, complete with a gin drinking bull-dog. It should appeal to fans of Martha Grimes, Saki and Wodehouse. * Historical Novel Society. * There is a feel of Wodehouse about this book...the prose is delicious and I enjoyed every word of it. Highly recommended * Mystery Woman. * Quite why this series should be charming, astringent and witty, instead of emetically twee, I am not sure, but it is entirely delightful. -- Laura Wilson * Guardian *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781780332482
Publication date: 19th January 2012
Author: Suzette A. Hill
Publisher: Robinson Publishing an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Suzette A. Hill

A graduate of the universities of Nottingham and Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Suzette A. Hill taught English literature for many years at Reading College before retiring to Herefordshire, where - despite the novel's narrative - she lives convivially with neither cat, dog nor clergyman.

More About Suzette A. Hill

More Books By Suzette A. Hill

Cover for A Little Murder by Suzette A. Hill
View All Books By Suzette A. Hill

Share this book