Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Our Tiny, Useless Hearts

by Toni Jordan

Our Tiny, Useless Hearts Synopsis

'Witty, observant, laugh-out-loud funny. It's rare to find a novel that keeps you laughing as this one does; the characters are sharply drawn and frighteningly familiar and the story never stops throwing up surprises. I loved it.' - Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project Henry has ended his marriage to Caroline and run off with his daughter's teacher, Martha. Caroline, having shredded a wardrobe-full of Henry's suits, has gone after them. Craig and Lesley have dropped over from next door to catch up on the fallout from Henry and Caroline's all-night row. And Janice, Caroline's sister, is staying for the weekend to look after the children because Janice is the sensible one. Then Craig enters through the bedroom window expecting a tryst with Caroline and finds Janice instead, Lesley storms in full of threats, Henry, Caroline and Martha arrive back from the airport in separate taxis - and let's not even get started on Brendan the pizza guy. Janice can cope with all that. But when her ex-husband Alec knocks on the door things suddenly get complicated... 'A new Toni Jordan is always a special pleasure and her latest is a wonderful, witty treat of a novel: cutting and clever, and yet so very romantic, as though P.G. Wodehouse had satirised life in the suburbs.' - Liane Moriarty, author of The Husband's Secret

Our Tiny, Useless Hearts Press Reviews

Toni Jordan's debut is mature, witty and entertaining. * Irish Times on ADDITION * An unusual and intriguing novel, written with a very light touch. * Daily Mail on ADDITION * Really, really funny. -- Alexandra Heminsley * Radio 2 on ADDITION * Brimming with sarcastic humour. * Guardian on ADDITION * This is a funny, cleverly written story about the ups and downs of relationships and the fallout from indiscretion. The haphazard geometry of these suburban love triangles channels slapstick lunacy and farce so effectively, you can almost hear The Benny Hill Show theme playing in the background. * Qantas Magazine * A highly entertaining romp through the complexities of modern relationships... Our Tiny Useless Hearts is loads of fun and clever too... A relationship drama with a deftly light touch, and will appeal to fans of romance and screwball comedy. * Bookseller and Publisher * Jordan exploits her gift for dialogue to very funny effect... When Jordan is not being funny, her writing is crisp and clever... It's an unusual novel that is both ludicrous and bittersweet, but Our Tiny, Useless Hearts is exactly that. * Saturday Paper * Three couples go under the lens in this clever and moving comedy about love and marriage. A hilarious and romantic treat * Who Weekly * That Toni Jordan's new novel manages to be a full-length fiction that simultaneously operates as a hugely enjoyable farce and an emotionally rich domestic drama is a testament to her skills as a writer and the charm of her voice. * The Australian * Toni Jordan, an elegant and informed writer who might also have shone as a stand-up comedian, is just the writer to catch the merriment of farce as it flies and flick it back between the book covers. * Sydney Morning Herald * Laugh-out-loud funny, yet with real emotion at its core, this is a sexy-smart rom-com about love and marriage for fans of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project or David Nicholls' Us. I loved it. -- Hannah Richell, bestselling author of SECRETS OF THE TIDES * Australian Women's Weekly *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781760293819
Publication date: 2nd February 2017
Author: Toni Jordan
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 288 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Toni Jordan

Toni Jordan has a BSc. in physiology and qualifications in marketing and professional writing. Her debut novel, Addition, was a Richard and Judy Bookclub pick, was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and has been published in sixteen countries. Fall Girl was published internationally and has been optioned for film, and Nine Days was awarded Best Fiction at the Indie Awards, was shortlisted for the ABIA Best General Fiction award and was named in Kirkus' top 10 Historical Novels. Toni lives in Melbourne, where she is a co-director of the Faber Academy's Writing a Novel course.

More About Toni Jordan

More Books By Toni Jordan

Cover for Fall Girl by Toni Jordan
Cover for Addition by Toni Jordan
View All Books By Toni Jordan

Share this book