Legends of the North Cascades

Hardback edition released 08/06/2021

by Jonathan Evison

Legends of the North Cascades Synopsis

Beautifully rendered and cinematic . . . A story of survival and the love and devotion between parent and child. -Jill McCorkle, author of Hieroglyphics Dave Cartwright has had enough. After three tours in Iraq he has come home to Vigilante Falls in Washington State only to find that he feels incapable of connecting to the people and the place that once defined him. Most days, his love for his seven-year-old daughter, Bella, is the only thing keeping him going. When tragedy strikes, Dave makes a dramatic decision: he will take Bella to live in a cave in the wilderness of the North Cascades. So begins a compelling adventure, a story of a father and daughter attempting to cope with a breathtaking but harsh environment. Once they are settled in the cave, Bella retreats into a different world, that of a mother and son who had lived in that same space, but thousands of years before, at the end of last Ice Age. As the two dramas begin to merge, a timeless odyssey unfolds, both as a meditation on the perils of isolation and an exploration of humans' indelible struggle to survive. Perfect for readers of Peter Heller's novels or Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone, Legends of the North Cascades is Jonathan Evison's return to sweeping, multicharacter narratives like his New York Times bestseller West of Here and is an immensely satisfying read.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781643750101
Publication date: 8th June 2021
Author: Jonathan Evison
Publisher: Algonquin Books (division of Workman)
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 352 pages
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781643752488
Publication date: 01/03/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781643750101
Publication date: 08/06/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Jonathan Evison

Jonathan Evison lives with his wife and family on Bainbridge Island, near Seattle, WA. Legends of the North Cascades is his sixth novel.

More About Jonathan Evison

More Books By Jonathan Evison

Legends of the North Cascades
Legends of the North Cascades
Legends of the North Cascades
View All Books By Jonathan Evison

Share this book