books of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

At the Point of a Cutlass The Pirate Capture, Bold Escape, and Lonely Exile of Philip Ashton by Gregory N. Flemming
  

At the Point of a Cutlass The Pirate Capture, Bold Escape, and Lonely Exile of Philip Ashton

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

At the Point of a Cutlass The Pirate Capture, Bold Escape, and Lonely Exile of Philip Ashton by Gregory N. Flemming

A handful of sea stories define the American maritime narrative. Stories of whaling, fishing, exploration, naval adventure, and piracy have always captured our imaginations, and the most colorful of these are the tales of piracy. Called America's real-life Robinson Crusoe, the true story of Philip Ashton-a nineteen-year-old fisherman captured by pirates, impressed as a crewman, subjected to torture and hardship, who eventually escaped and lived as a castaway and scavenger on a deserted island in the Caribbean-was at one time as well known as the tales of Cooper, Hawthorne, and Defoe. Based on a rare copy of Ashton's 1725 account, Gregory N. Flemming's vivid portrait recounts this maritime world during the golden age of piracy. Fishing vessels and merchantmen plied the coastal waters and crisscrossed the Atlantic and Caribbean. It was a hard, dangerous life, made more so by both the depredations and temptations of piracy. Chased by the British Royal Navy, blown out of the water or summarily hung when caught, pirate captains such as Edward Low kidnapped, cajoled, beat, and bribed men like Ashton into the rich-but also vile, brutal, and often short-life of the pirate. In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick, At the Point of a Cutlass expands on a lost classic narrative of America and the sea, and brings to life a forgotten world of ships and men on both sides of maritime law.

Reviews

[A] real-life historical thriller. --The Week, The Best of U.S. and International Media Publishers Weekly (starred review) Boston Globe Dallas Morning News The Week, The Best of U.S. and International Media [A] real-life historical thriller. The Week, The Best of U.S. and International Media

Flemming relates the story of the capture by pirates of Philip Ashton in 1722, and in the process he reveals a fascinating history of pirates during the first decades of the 18th century, the golden age of piracy. . . . From battles with warships to the way the pirates split their plunder, Flemming's focus on individual actors adds a welcome depth to the history of piracy with this engaging and harrowing account of 'America's real-life Robinson Crusoe.
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Ashton


's account of his travails, published in 1725, became a hit in Colonial New England. Now forgotten, his story is brought back to life by Gregory N. Flemming in his fine new book, At the Point of a Cutlass. Beautifully printed and bound--though it could use more maps--the book delivers blood-thirsty pirates and plenty of action and excitement on the high seas. Forgoing an 'avast ye swabbies!'
approach, Flemming

's sober style and scholarly approach ballast his account and keep his story on a steady course. -- Boston Globe

Paints an indelible picture of pirate life, day by day... compelling, dramatic reading. -- Dallas Morning News

[A] real-life historical thriller. -- The Week, The Best of U.S. and International Media

A lively read made all the more compelling from its real-world roots. --The Midwest Book Review For an academic reader, Flemming's synthesis of information is well done. Gleaning the necessary details from records three centuries old is never an easy task and those who study the period will appreciate Flemming's attention to detail and thorough endnotes. For any reader, At the Point of a Cutlass is an amazing tale of adventure, danger, and survival. --The Northern Mariner [Flemming] expertly weaves together the various story threads to create an absorbing account of the harrowing life of a seaman living amid brutal pirates in the waning years of the period that has become known as the Golden Age of Piracy. --Pirates and Privateers At the Point of a Cutlass is trim and shipshape, and it left me talking like Long John Silver for a day or two. --Wilmington, NC Star [A] real-life historical thriller. --The Week, The Best of U.S. and International Media -A lively read made all the more compelling from its real-world roots.---The Midwest Book Review -For an academic reader, Flemming's synthesis of information is well done. Gleaning the necessary details from records three centuries old is never an easy task and those who study the period will appreciate Flemming's attention to detail and thorough endnotes. For any reader, At the Point of a Cutlass is an amazing tale of adventure, danger, and survival.---The Northern Mariner -[Flemming] expertly weaves together the various story threads to create an absorbing account of the harrowing life of a seaman living amid brutal pirates in the waning years of the period that has become known as the Golden Age of Piracy.---Pirates and Privateers -At the Point of a Cutlass is trim and shipshape, and it left me talking like Long John Silver for a day or two.---Wilmington, NC Star -[A] real-life historical thriller.- --The Week, The Best of U.S. and International Media -Paints an indelible picture of pirate life, day by day... compelling, dramatic reading.---Dallas Morning News -Ashton's account of his travails, published in 1725, became a hit in Colonial New England. Now forgotten, his story is brought back to life by Gregory N. Flemming in his fine new book, At the Point of a Cutlass. Beautifully printed and bound--though it could use more maps--the book delivers blood-thirsty pirates and plenty of action and excitement on the high seas. Forgoing an 'avast ye swabbies!'
approach, Flemming

's sober style and scholarly approach ballast his account and keep his story on a steady course.---Boston Globe -Flemming relates the story of the capture by pirates of Philip Ashton in 1722, and in the process he reveals a fascinating history of pirates during the first decades of the 18th century, -the golden age of piracy.- . . . From battles with warships to the way the pirates split their plunder, Flemming's focus on individual actors adds a welcome depth to the history of piracy with this engaging and harrowing account of 'America's real-life Robinson Crusoe.'---Publishers Weekly (starred review) A lively read made all the more compelling from its real-world roots. The Midwest Book Review For an academic reader, Flemming s synthesis of information is well done. Gleaning the necessary details from records three centuries old is never an easy task and those who study the period will appreciate Flemming s attention to detail and thorough endnotes. For any reader, At the Point of a Cutlass is an amazing tale of adventure, danger, and survival. The Northern Mariner [Flemming] expertly weaves together the various story threads to create an absorbing account of the harrowing life of a seaman living amid brutal pirates in the waning years of the period that has become known as the Golden Age of Piracy. Pirates and Privateers At the Point of a Cutlass is trim and shipshape, and it left me talking like Long John Silver for a day or two. Wilmington, NC Star [A] real-life historical thriller. The Week, The Best of U.S. and International Media Paints an indelible picture of pirate life, day by day... compelling, dramatic reading. Dallas Morning News Ashton s account of his travails, published in 1725, became a hit in Colonial New England. Now forgotten, his story is brought back to life by Gregory N. Flemming in his fine new book, At the Point of a Cutlass. Beautifully printed and bound though it could use more maps the book delivers blood-thirsty pirates and plenty of action and excitement on the high seas. Forgoing an avast ye swabbies! approach, Flemming s sober style and scholarly approach ballast his account and keep his story on a steady course. Boston Globe Flemming relates the story of the capture by pirates of Philip Ashton in 1722, and in the process he reveals a fascinating history of pirates during the first decades of the 18th century, the golden age of piracy. . . . From battles with warships to the way the pirates split their plunder, Flemming s focus on individual actors adds a welcome depth to the history of piracy with this engaging and harrowing account of America s real-life Robinson Crusoe. Publishers Weekly (starred review)'


About the Author

GREGORY N. FLEMMING is a former journalist who holds a PhD from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He lives with his family in New England. His website is www.gregflemming.com.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd June 2014

Author

Gregory N. Flemming

More books by Gregory N. Flemming
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Dartmouth College Press an imprint of University Press of New England

Format

Hardback
256 pages

Categories

Biography: general

ISBN

9781611685152

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools