LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Whitethroat

Hardback edition released 08/07/2021

by James Henry

Part of the DI Nick Lowry Thrillers Series

Whitethroat Synopsis

The third book in the DI Nicholas Lowry series, for fans of Peter James and Stuart Macbride. It's November 1983 in Essex and there are reasons to be cheerful. Uptown Girl is sitting pretty at the top of the charts, Risky Business is raking it in at the box office, and there are now four channels on the telly. However, social tensions are beginning to bubble beneath the surface: Mrs Thatcher has embarked on her second controversial term, and the situation in Northern Ireland is ever-escalating. Yet in the garrison town of Colchester, it's another deadly standoff that is hogging the headlines. The body of a nineteen-year-old Lance Corporal has been discovered on the local High Street, the result of what appears to be a bizarre, chivalrous duel. It seems he was the victim of a doomed army love triangle. As such, the military police are wishing to keep the matter confined within military ranks. This is all just fine, as far as Colchester CID is concerned. They have enough on their plate as is: with DI Nick Lowry in a tailspin following the breakdown of his marriage, WPC Jane Gabriel exasperated by the male-favoured system, Detective Daniel Kenton relying on substance abuse to quieten his demons from his last case; and their boss, DCS Sparks, shortly to become a first-time father at 55. However, it is not long before the blood from the duel runs into civilian police affairs, and the trail presents CID with a local rogues' gallery. A savvy entrepreneur. A wayward skinhead. A member of the landed gentry. And a shadowy Mauritian travel agent with a chilling reputation. Soon, they will discover, a real estate deal, a racist, and the town's Robin Hood pub hold the key to the killing...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529401127
Publication date: 8th July 2021
Author: James Henry
Publisher: riverrun an imprint of Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 448 pages
Primary Genre Crime and mystery: hard-boiled crime, noir fiction

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529401127
Publication date: 08/07/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About James Henry

James Henry is the pen name for James Gurbutt, who has written four prequels to R D Wingfield's popular Frost series. He works in publishing, and lives in Essex.

More About James Henry

More Books By James Henry

Whitethroat
Whitethroat
Whitethroat
View All Books By James Henry

Share this book