Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more


by William Sutcliffe

Otherhood Synopsis

First published as Whatever Makes You Happy, the hilarious and moving novel about mothers and their adult sons, now a Netflix original movie starring Felicity Huffman, Angela Bassett and Patricia Arquette which has now been viewed on over 27 million accounts worldwide Three sons. Three mums. One week. Matt, Daniel and Paul were childhood friends. Now in their thirties, they've lost touch and have only one thing in common: their mothers. Little do they know that, having spent a cardless Mother's Day discussing how their emotionally dysfunctional offspring should be settling down, Carol, Gillian and Helen have decided to pay their wayward sons a visit. On the same day, they turn up on their sons' doorsteps, uninvited and unannounced. Their plan is to reestablish the mother-son bond by moving in for one week. Just a week. Surely that's not a lot to ask...

Otherhood Press Reviews

Sharp and witty ... Very well done -- Lionel Shriver * Telegraph * Very funny ... A convincing, moving portrait of an evolving relationship between mother and adult son * Guardian * A charming portrait of fractured families and contemporary mores. ... Sutcliffe writes with such sharpness and wit . . . Whatever Makes You Happy is a delight * Mail on Sunday * Everyone in my family, from my teenaged daughter to my husband and mother-in-law, has got something out of it besides laughter -- Amanda Craig * Independent * A moving meditation on miscommunications between sexes, across generations and over dinner tables * Financial Times * Brilliantly observed, howlingly funny and, if you have a son, all too recognisable * Woman & Home *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526608352
Publication date: 8th August 2019
Author: William Sutcliffe
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 304 pages
Categories: TV tie-in humour, Humour, Family & relationships, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About William Sutcliffe

William Sutcliffe is the author of the international bestseller Are You Experienced?, The Love Hexagon, New Boy, Bad Influence and Whatever Makes You Happy, which has been filmed by Netflix under the title Otherhood and which has been viewed on over 27 million accounts. He has also written the Circus of Thieves series of books for children and four YA/adult crossover novels: The Wall, shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal in 2014; Concentr8, shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2016; We See Everything and The Gifted, The Talented and Me, published in 2019. His work has been translated into twenty-seven languages. He lives ...

More About William Sutcliffe

More Books By William Sutcliffe

Cover for The Gifted, the Talented & Me  by William Sutcliffe
Cover for Concentr8 by William Sutcliffe
Cover for The Wall by William Sutcliffe
View All Books By William Sutcliffe

Share this book