Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Indian Trilogy

by V. S. Naipaul

Indian Trilogy Synopsis

AN AREA OF DARKNESS'Brilliant ... tender, lyrical, explosive' ObserverV.S. Naipaul was twenty-nine when he first visited India. This is his semi-autobiographical account-at once painful and hilarious, but always thoughtful and considered-a revelation both of the country and of himself.INDIA: A WOUNDED CIVILIZATION'A devastating work, but proof that a novelist of Naipaul's stature can often define problems quicker and more effectively than a team of economists and other experts' The TimesPrompted by the Emergency of 1975, Naipaul casts a more analytical eye, convinced that India, wounded by a thousand years of foreign rule, has not yet found an ideology of regeneration.INDIA: A MILLION MUTINIES NOW'Indispensable for anyone who wants seriously to come to grips with the experience of India' New York Times Book ReviewIt is twenty-six years since Naipaul's first trip to India. Taking an anti-clockwise journey around the metropolises-including Bombay, Madras, Calcutta and Delhi-he focuses on the country's development since Independence. The author recedes, allowing Indians to tell the stories, and a dynamic oral history of the country emerges.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509852383
Publication date: 17th November 2016
Author: V. S. Naipaul
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pan Macmillan India
Format: eBook

About V. S. Naipaul

More About V. S. Naipaul

More Books By V. S. Naipaul

Cover for The Masque of Africa Glimpses of African Belief by V. S. Naipaul
View All Books By V. S. Naipaul

Share this book