LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr

by Frances Maynard

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr Synopsis

'Big-hearted and charming.' - James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me Funny, heartwarming and ultimately triumphant, The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard is the perfect story for anyone who doesn't quite fit in - and for everyone who chooses not to. Elvira Carr is twenty-seven and neuro-atypical. Her father - who she suspects was in the secret service - has passed away and, after several Unfortunate Incidents growing up, she now spends most of her time at home with her overbearing mother. But when her mother has a stroke and is taken into care, Elvira is suddenly forced to look after herself or risk ending up in Sheltered Accommodation. Armed with her Seven Rules, which she puts together after online research, Elvira hopes to learn how to navigate a world that's full of people she doesn't understand. Not even the Seven Rules can help her, however, when she discovers that everything she thought she knew about her father was a lie, and is faced with solving a mystery she didn't even know existed . . .

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr Press Reviews

Fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Rosie Project will love this endearing book . . . Heartwarming with a mystery at its centre . . . Elvira's character is written with such genuine affection that you can't help but root for her * bookriot.com * Funny and heart-warming, Elvira is our new hero * Fabulous Magazine * Sometimes characters come along in books that are so utterly exquisite you feel blessed to have experienced them and indebted to their author for having gifted to them. Such is the case with Elvira Carr . . . A tale that is full of joy, empathy, honesty and warmth -- Jade Craddock, nudge-book.com Memorable and touching . . . The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr is an important novel and a great read, with elements of mystery, discovering friendship, and working out how to be independent in the world * Siobhan Dunlop, blogger at FiendfullyReading * Funny and heartwarming * My Weekly * A novel which will stick in your mind long after reading, stalking your thoughts as you go about everyday life . . . When I finished the book, I couldn't help but wish there was a sequel . . . Marvellous -- Ronnie Turner, blogger 'A heartwarming coming-of-age story. Perfect for book clubs and for readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project' * Library Journal * Charming . . . Ellie will make readers smile and occasionally want to take her under a protective arm -- Booklist Big-hearted and charming . . . Elvira manages to conjure up the one thing we could all do with: a cheat sheet for the painful puzzle of everyday life -- James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509842117
Publication date: 25th July 2017
Author: Frances Maynard
Publisher: Mantle an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Frances Maynard

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr is Frances Maynard's first novel. It was runner-up in the Good Housekeeping 2014 First Novel Award and shortlisted for both the 2016 Mslexia First Novel Competition and the Lucy Cavendish Prize. Frances teaches English, part-time, to adults with learning difficulties, including Asperger's. She is married with one grown-up daughter and lives in Dorset.

More About Frances Maynard

More Books By Frances Maynard

Cover for Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance by Frances Maynard
Cover for Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance by Frances Maynard
Cover for Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance by Frances Maynard
View All Books By Frances Maynard

Share this book