LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Hands of Strangers

by Michael Farris Smith

Hands of Strangers Synopsis

In the tradition of The Stranger and The Old Man and the Sea, this taut novella by critically acclaimed novelist Michael Farris Smith (Rivers, 2013) explores the human spirit and its capacity for faith and forgiveness in an imperfect world.What happens to a marriage when a child vanishes? Jon and Estelle walk the picturesque Paris streets, but are living through the cruelest of realtiesthe disappearance of their nine-year-old daughter Jennifer, abducted from the Muse DOrsay during a class field trip. Jon spends his day slugging through bus terminals and metro halls, posting flyers of his daughter, while Estelle has become a recluse, unwilling to leave the apartment in case the telephone rings. Their relationship suffers as the passing time chips away at the hope of Jennifers return. Then, a free-spirited artist enters their life as unexpectedly as Jennifer has left it, luring Jon down a reckless path as he searches desperately for courage in the smallest signs. If their daughter is ever returned to them, will Jon and Estelle both be there to welcome her home?

Book Information

ISBN: 9781476788470
Publication date: 8th July 2014
Author: Michael Farris Smith
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Simon & Schuster
Format: eBook
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Michael Farris Smith

More About Michael Farris Smith

More Books By Michael Farris Smith

Cover for NICK by Michael Farris Smith
Cover for Desperation Road by Michael Farris Smith
Cover for Desperation Road by Michael Farris Smith
View All Books By Michael Farris Smith

Share this book