Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Hope Family Calendar

by Mike Gayle

The Hope Family Calendar Synopsis

A compelling and emotional novel, for fans of Jojo Moyes and Jenny Colgan. 'With a style similar to David Nicholls, Gayle's writing is incisive, lyrical and very beautiful...It's impossible not to fall in love with the Hope family' Irish Independent Tom Hope is broken. Ever since his wife Laura died he hasn't been the same man, and definitely not the same father. Luckily for Tom his mother-in-law Linda is around to pick up the pieces and look after his two struggling daughters, Evie and Lola. But Tom getting arrested on the first anniversary of his wife's death is the last straw for Linda. In a last bid attempt to make Tom reconnect with his daughters she takes drastic action and leaves for Australia. With two fast-maturing daughters Tom has to learn how to accept his responsibilities and navigate the newly discovered world of single fatherhood - starting immediately. With only himself to rely on, will Tom fall back into grief or finally step up and be the father his girls need? Mike's new novel, The Man I Think I Know, is out now!

The Hope Family Calendar Press Reviews

Wise, witty and with endearing characters, this is a feel-good-read with lots of laughs. * Woman on WISH YOU WERE HERE * Unique, funny and full of drama . . . Genius! -- Closer on THE STAG AND HEN WEEKEND Mike Gayle has carved a whole new niche out of the male confessional novel. * Evening Standard on WISH YOU WERE HERE * A funny and frank account of a hopeless romantic. * The Times on MY LEGENDARY GIRLFRIEND * Not just readable, fresh and witty, but sophisticated in execution . . . funny but also poignant. * Independent on Sunday on TURNING THIRTY * Wise, witty and wonderful . . . a triumph! -- Jenny Colgan on TURNING FORTY Praise for Mike Gayle * : * A delightfully easy and poignant read. * Closer * An emotional and surprisingly funny story you'll want to read in one sitting. * Fabulous * The Hope Family Calendar is the most heart-wrenching novel I've read this year...With a style similar to David Nicholls, Gayle's writing is incisive, lyrical and very beautiful...It's impossible not to fall in love with the Hope family. * Irish Independent * I didn't move a muscle for a whole afternoon in my eagerness to finish this book. Gayle writes with such warmth and wisdom about the human condition, at the same time creating a page-turner in this charming family tale which centres so movingly around unbearable loss. His easy, confident writing style draws you in to become another member of the Hope family and share with them the - often humorous - ups and downs of learning to live again after bereavement. Neither Tom nor Linda - the main characters - are perfect, but both are endearingly real. I highly recommend this novel - I know it will stay with me for a long time. -- Hilary Boyd, author of Thursdays in the Park

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473608955
Publication date: 20th November 2018
Author: Mike Gayle
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 320 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Mike Gayle

Previously an Agony Uncle, Mike Gayle is a freelance journalist who has contributed to a variety of magazines including FHM, Sunday Times Style and Cosmopolitan. His bestselling novels include MY LEGENDARY GIRLFRIEND, MR COMMITMENT, TURNING THIRTY, HIS 'N' HERS and BRAND NEW FRIEND. He keeps a website at www.mikegayle.co.uk and can be found on Facebook and on twitter.com/mikegayle

More About Mike Gayle

More Books By Mike Gayle

Cover for The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle
Cover for Seeing Other People by Mike Gayle
Cover for Seeing Other People by Mike Gayle
View All Books By Mike Gayle

Share this book