Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Tomorrow the World A compulsive and intense saga of love and secrets by Josephine Cox

Tomorrow the World A compulsive and intense saga of love and secrets


Tomorrow the World A compulsive and intense saga of love and secrets by Josephine Cox

No.1 bestselling writer, Josephine Cox's Tomorrow the World is a compulsive tale of love and secrets, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Catherine Cookson and Kathyrn Hughes. 'Driven and passionate' The Sunday TimesBridget Mulligan loves her husband. He is caring, loyal and dependable - everything a woman could ask for. But she can't quite forget Harry - the one that got away - and when a snow storm drives her into his arms, the inevitable happens. Nine months later a child is born. Overcome with remorse, Bridget is determined that her husband should know the truth, but her confession can lead only to heartbreak. Although he allows his wife and her child to continue living in his home, Tom Mulligan makes it clear that their marriage is over. Lonely and afraid, Bridget finds comfort in the friendship of Fanny, a feisty young mother who knows what it is to be alone. But Bridget's life can never be complete until she has the love of the only man she ever really wanted...


'The author most likely to acquire Catherine Cookson's coveted crown'
Bracknell Midweek News

'The author in the forefront of acquiring Catherine Cookson's crown'
The News (Portsmouth)

About the Author

Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. She won the 'Superwoman of Great Britain' Award, for which her family had secretly entered her, at the same time as her novel was accepted for publication.

Josephine has now given up teaching in order to write full time. She says 'I love writing, both recreating scenes and characters from my past, together with new storylines which mingle naturally with the old. I could never imagine a single day without writing, and it's been that way since as far back as I can remember.'

Josephine Cox was given a Lifetime Acheivement Award by the Romantic Novelists Association in March 2011. At the awards ceremony Cox said: "I am thrilled and delighted to be receiving such a prestigious award. It's something I never expected and I would like to thank all those concerned for thinking I am deserving of it."

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th April 2017


Josephine Cox

More books by Josephine Cox
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website


Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group


320 pages


Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Historical fiction



If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill