Barcelona Dreaming

Hardback edition released 08/06/2021

by Rupert Thomson

Barcelona Dreaming Synopsis

Set on the eve of the financial crash of 2008, Barcelona Dreaming is made up of three stories that are linked by time and place, and also by the moving, unexpected interactions of a rich cast of characters. The stories are narrated, in turn, by an English woman who runs a gift shop, an alcoholic jazz pianist, and a translator tormented by unrequited love, all of whose lives will be changed forever. Underpinning the novel, and casting a long shadow, is a crime committed against a young Moroccan immigrant. Exploring themes of addiction, racism, celebrity, immigration, and self-delusion, and fuelled by a longing for the unattainable and a nostalgia for what is about to be lost, Barcelona Dreaming is a love letter to one of the world's most beautiful cities and a powerful and poignant fable for our uncertain times.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781472153548
Publication date: 8th June 2021
Author: Rupert Thomson
Publisher: Corsair an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 224 pages
Primary Genre Politics and government

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781472153548
Publication date: 08/06/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Rupert Thomson

Rupert Thomson is the author of twelve highly acclaimed novels, including Katherine Carlyle; Secrecy; The Insult, which was shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize and selected by David Bowie as one of his 100 Must-Read Books of All Time; The Book of Revelation, which was made into a feature film by Ana Kokkinos; and Death of a Murderer, which was shortlisted for the Costa Novel of the Year Award. His memoir, This Party's Got to Stop, was named Writers' Guild Non-Fiction Book of the Year. He lives in London.

More About Rupert Thomson

More Books By Rupert Thomson

Barcelona Dreaming
Barcelona Dreaming
Barcelona Dreaming
View All Books By Rupert Thomson

Share this book