LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Photographer of the Lost

by Caroline Scott

The Photographer of the Lost Synopsis

**A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK** Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and 1917 If someone you loved went missing, would you ever stop searching for them? 'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' The Times '[An] impressive debut... a touching novel of love and loss' Sunday Times 1921. The Great War is over and while many survivors have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie's husband Francis has not come home. He has been declared 'missing, believed killed', but when Edie receives a mysterious photograph in the post, taken by Francis, hope flares. And so she begins to search. Francis's brother, Harry, is also searching. Hired by grieving families to photograph gravesites, he has returned to the Western Front. He too longs for Francis to be alive, so they can forgive each other for the last conversation they ever had. And as Harry and Edie's paths converge, they begin to get closer to a startling truth. An incredibly moving account of an often-forgotten moment in history, The Photographer of the Lost is an epic novel of forbidden love, loss and the shattered hearts left behind in the wake of the First World War. Caroline Scott is a freelance writer and historian specializing in WWI and women's history. The Photographer of the Lost is partially inspired by her family history. Praise for The Photographer of the Lost: 'There's only one word for this novel... and that's epic... A beautifully written must-read' heat 'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED 'The pain of not knowing where a son, brother or husband lies, and the guilt and psychological dissonance that torment survivors, are movingly conveyed in this terrific first novel' Daily Mail 'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' Good Housekeeping 'A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . . told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters' stories' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child 'What a wonderful debut novel. So accomplished. It grabs you from page one with such immediacy, such urgency. With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn't stop reading' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village 'A profoundly moving story of love and loss. The Photographer of the Lost is a sublimely rendered portrait of the search for answers amidst the chaos and devastation left behind in the aftermath of World War 1' Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift 'A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind' Fanny Blake, author of A Summer Reunion 'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' Isabelle Broom, author of One Winter Morning 'Beautiful, unflinching: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included... unforgettable' Iona Grey, author of The Glittering Hour 'Momentous, revelatory and astonishing historical fiction!' Historical Novel Society 'Had me spellbound from the first page to the last' Hazel Gaynor, author of The Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter 'An amazing debut. It captivated me from start to finish and I can't recommend it highly enough' NB Magazine

The Photographer of the Lost Press Reviews

'A profoundly moving story of love and loss. The Photographer of the Lost is a sublimely rendered portrait of the search for answers amidst the chaos and devastation left behind in the aftermath of World War 1' -- Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift 'Momentous, revelatory and astonishing historical fiction!' * Historical Novel Society * What a wonderful debut novel. So accomplished. It grabs you from page one with such immediacy, such urgency. With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn't stop reading. -- Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village 'A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . . told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters' stories.' -- Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child 'An amazing debut. It captivated me from start to finish and I can't recommend it highly enough' * NB Magazine * 'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' * Good Housekeeping * 'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' -- Sarra Manning * RED * 'What a stunningly beautiful book this is. Caroline Scott evokes the trenches of WWI and the heartache of the postwar period as vividly as if she had lived it herself . . . this is a powerful, redemptive novel, one that teaches us not only about history, but about our capacity for love. I could not put it down' -- Abigail DeWitt, author of News of Our Loved Ones 'A beautiful, tender novel which explores the aftermath of the Great War, and the shattered lives left behind. Written with gorgeous prose and a cast of memorable characters, this is a stunning debut which had me spellbound from the first page to the last' -- Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of The Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter 'Beautiful, unflinching, elegiac: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included . . . it's unforgettable' -- Iona Grey, bestselling author of The Glittering Hour 'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' -- Isabelle Broom, author of One Winter Morning 'The pain of not knowing where a son, brother or husband lies, and the guilt and psychological dissonance that torment survivors, are movingly conveyed in this terrific first novel' * Daily Mail * 'A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind' -- Fanny Blake, bestselling author of A Summer Reunion 'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' * The Times * 'There's only one word for this novel . . . and that's epic . . . A beautifully written must-read' * heat * '[An] impressive debut . . . a touching novel of love and loss' * The Sunday Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471186899
Publication date: 31st October 2019
Author: Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 512 pages
Categories: Historical fiction, War & combat fiction, Historical romance, Romance,

About Caroline Scott

Caroline completed a PhD in History at the University of Durham. She has a particular interest in the experience of women during the First World War, in the challenges faced by the returning soldier, and in the development of tourism and pilgrimage in the former conflict zones. Caroline is originally from Lancashire, but now lives in south-west France.

More About Caroline Scott

More Books By Caroline Scott

Cover for The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott
Cover for The Photographer of the Lost by Caroline Scott
Cover for Holding the Home Front  by Caroline Scott
View All Books By Caroline Scott

Share this book