Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Scold's Bridle

by Minette Walters

The Scold's Bridle Synopsis

I wonder if I should keep these diaries under lock and key. Jenny Spede has disturbed them again . . . What does she make, I wonder, of an old woman, deformed by arthritis, stripping naked for a young man? The pills worry me more. Ten is such a round number to be missing . . . Mathilda Gillespie's body was found nearly two days after she had taken an overdose and slashed her wrists with a Stanley knife. But what shocked Dr Sarah Blakeney the most was the scold's bridle obscuring the dead woman's face, a metal contraption grotesquely adorned with a garland of nettles and Michaelmas daisies. What happened at Cedar House in the tortured hours before Mathilda's death? The police assume that the coroner will return a verdict of suicide. Only Dr Blakeney, it seems, doubts the verdict. Until it is discovered that Mathilda's diaries have disappeared . . . `An atmosphere of tantalizing, overpowering menace . . . The tradition of the English whodunnit has passed into the safe hands and dangerous imagination of Minette Walters' The Times

The Scold's Bridle Press Reviews

Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades. -- Los Angeles Times Thoroughly chilling . . . gripping . . . disturbing. -- Orlando Sentinel Walters fearlessly flirts with gothic menace and intricacy as she draws all the loose threads together in this full-bodied plot. -- The Washington Post A wonderful, thought-provoking mystery by a brilliant new British writer. -- The San Diego Union-Tribune Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will respond to Minette Walters's deft touch and psychological suspense and appreciate her ability to depict complex and sympathetic women characters. -- Minneapolis Star-Tribune A splendid mystery...compulsively readable. -- Denver Post Ambitious...Eerie...Fascinating. -- Los Angeles Times Thoroughly chilling...Gripping...Disturbing. -- Orlando Sentinel Walters scores again...builds quickly to high speed and stays there. -- Rocky Mountain News

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447208099
Publication date: 1st March 2012
Author: Minette Walters
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 464 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Minette Walters

Minette Walters is England's bestselling female crime writer. She has written 11 novels and has won the CWA John Creasey Award, the Edgar Allan Poe Award and two CWA Gold Daggers for Fiction. Minette Walters lives in Dorset with her husband and two children.

More About Minette Walters

More Books By Minette Walters

Cover for The Turn of Midnight by Minette Walters
Cover for The Last Hours by Minette Walters
Cover for The Last Hours by Minette Walters
View All Books By Minette Walters

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×