LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crystal Run: Shield of Lies

by Sheila O'Flanagan

Part of the Crystal Run Series

Crystal Run: Shield of Lies Synopsis

The gripping follow-up to The Crystal Run from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author, for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman. 'I know how much you love Carcassia. You were prepared to die for it. It must be terrible to realise that you have been betrayed.' Kaia is from a world in which blind sacrifice is a virtue, and a Runner's life expendable. It took Joe, an outsider, to show her that she must question the truth. Now, Kaia and Joe have been taken prisoner. Trusting her sworn enemies is the only way out. Kaia and Joe must risk their lives and return to Carcassia to prevent more Runners from racing to their death. Praise for The Crystal Run: 'Brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest - a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action' - LoveReading4Kids 'Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests' - Sunday Independent 'Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us an exciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue' - Inis 'O'Flanagan's writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft' - Belfast Telegraph

Crystal Run: Shield of Lies Press Reviews

Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us an exciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue * Inis * Intriguing hints that all it not what it seems within Kanabia * SFX Magazine * O'Flanagan's writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft * Belfast Telegraph * Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests * Sunday Independent * This atmospheric YA debut from a bestselling novelist brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest - a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action - and the friendship that blossoms between Kaia and Joe makes their mission all the more powerful. -- Joanne Owen * Love Reading 4 Kids *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444927122
Publication date: 8th March 2018
Author: Sheila O'Flanagan
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage), Fantasy romance (Teenage), Science fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila is an ex-bond dealer and financial journalist whose novels have all been immediate No 1 Irish bestsellers and Sheila also writes a weekly column for the Irish Times. Her books have been described 'as necessary to women as chocolate, and just as addictive!' Her last three novels have sold in excess of 1,000,000 copies in their British editions. With each publication she breaks her record of weeks at No 1. She was the recipient of the prestigious Irish Tatler Literary Woman of the Year award in 2003.

More About Sheila O'Flanagan

More Books By Sheila O'Flanagan

Cover for The Missing Wife by Sheila O'Flanagan
Cover for If You Were Me by Sheila O'Flanagan
Cover for If You Were Me by Sheila O'Flanagan
View All Books By Sheila O'Flanagan

Share this book