LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Something to Live For

by Richard Roper

Something to Live For Synopsis

'If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read. We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut' Fabulous Magazine 'A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling' Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party Sometimes you have to risk everything to find your something... All Andrew wants is to be normal. He has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that's what he's told people. The truth is, his life isn't exactly as people think and his little white lie is about to catch up with him. Because in all Andrew's efforts to fit in, he's forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it's about time for him to start. Your favourite authors have all got Something to Live For... 'Funny, moving and uplifting...I loved it' Libby Page, bestselling author of The Lido 'Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming' Holly Bourne, bestselling author of How Do You Like Me Now? 'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me Lie 'I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. What an extraordinary debut' Gill Hornby, bestselling author of The Hive 'Endearing and delightful' Prima Book of the Month 'Funny, tender and all-the-feels' Red 'A perfect, quirky summer page-turner. A life-affirming debut' The Times ** This book is published in the US under the title How Not to Die Alone **

Something to Live For Press Reviews

As hilarious as it is heart-breaking... a truly memorable and quirky read: unusual and sometimes side-splittingly funny. -- Helena Gumley-Mason * THE LADY * This magnificent debut is a must for your summer reading list - heartbreaking, funny and tender, it has it all! * MY WEEKLY * A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story. * Dinah Jefferies via Twitter * Richard Roper has crafted a compelling mystery in this clever and uplifting debut... Something to Live For is a story about the problems we encounter as human beings and the connections that save us. -- Sarah Gilmartin * IRISH TIMES * Life-affirming...moments of hilarity while conveying a message about stepping out of comfort zones * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING * Quirky and heartfelt... Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections. * KIRKUS REVIEWS * Tragic, sweet, and hopeful... This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. * BOOKLIST * Roper's delightful debut is as funny as it is touching... This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible. * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY * Darkly humorous. * ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY * Gentle comedy and these characters' innately kind natures enriches what might have been starkly sad moments... [Roper] admirably tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it's easy to root for. * USA TODAY * [An] off-beat and winning debut..., [Something To Live For] earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name. * WALL STREET JOURNAL * A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant! -- Matt Dunn A definite contender for my book of the year . . . funny, heartbreaking and cleverly observed -- Claire Frost Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine * Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters * Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it. * Libby Page, author of THE LIDO * Nick Hornby and David Nicholls' quirky love child would write like Richard Roper. Something to Live For is endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness -- Caroline Smailes Warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together -- Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of the THE FLATSHARE Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE. * Holly Bourne * Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut. * Gill Hornby * Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge! -- Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this. * Clare Mackintosh * A poignant, superbly funny debut novel about love, loneliness and the many ways life doesn't always go to plan. * WATERSTONES * Endearing. -- Patricia Nicol * SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE * A poignant but uplifting novel that's related with great compassion and humour. -- Fanny Blake * DAILY MAIL * A sweetly poignant debut. -- Eithne Farry * SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE * A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny all at once. * WOMAN'S OWN * It's no surprise that TV rights to this funny, tender and all-the-feels book have already been snapped up. -- Sarra Manning * RED * Richard Roper's debut is heart-breaking, uplifting, funny and brimming with human kindness. * SUNDAY HERALD * This could almost be the tie-in novel for a Richard Curtis romcom... Something To Live For benefits from the same earnest charm. -- Thomas Barrie * GQ * Eleanor Oliphant for men -- David Sexton * EVENING STANDARD * Something To Live For is a heart-warming, funny yet poignant debut novel. Exploring loneliness and family breakdown, Richard Roper has created a cast of colourful and weirdly wonderful characters. An uplifting and life-affirming read. -- Anne Cater * DAILY EXPRESS * A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny... an inspiring, life-affirming read. -- Zoe West * WOMAN'S WEEKLY * This is a story that gets under your skin - and a must read. -- Natasha Harding * THE SUN * This perfect, quirky summer page-turner... a life-affirming debut. -- Sharmaine Lovegrove * SUNDAY TIMES STYLE * Endearing and delightful. -- Nina Pottell * PRIMA * I loved this novel with my whole heart. * THE NEW YORK TIMES * If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read... We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut. -- Claire Frost * FABULOUS * The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem. -- Rebecca Thomas * BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019 *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409185598
Publication date: 27th June 2019
Author: Richard Roper
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 352 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Fiction & related items,

About Richard Roper

Richard Roper was inspired by an article he read about the council workers who deal with situations when someone dies alone. Their days are spent sifting through the ephemera of those who've slipped through the cracks, searching for clues to a next of kin. Council workers are under no obligation to attend the funerals. Yet they do, sometimes dozens of them a year, just to make sure at least someone is there. Richard Roper lives in London. SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is his first novel.

More About Richard Roper

More Books By Richard Roper

Cover for Something to Live For by Richard Roper
Cover for Something to Live For  by Richard Roper
View All Books By Richard Roper

Share this book